Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

FPSC Classic Showcase / [X9][BOTB]Eldora (The Golden Land)

Author
Message
The Baloob123
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Jan 2008
Location:
Posted: 16th Feb 2008 18:59
It's not working....

I will click on "New Game" and it gives me an error message (Send Error Report) I have a windows, if that helps.

After I click Don't Send it redirects me to the main menu and it start over again or I have to quit! Any body help me!?
Ocho Geek
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Aug 2007
Location: Manchester, UK
Posted: 21st Feb 2008 14:52
awesome, and it only took 3 minutes to download with my new ISP

anyway, this is some really good work, just one wuestion
did you render the background of your signature in Max?
Slayer222
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Mar 2007
Location: Wherever I feel like
Posted: 29th Feb 2008 07:20
Hey Rolfy, did you get my email to your silver saucer account? Or did I use the wrong email? I have an urgent question.

[img]
[/img] Check out the Elite OPS Terrorstike thread in the showcase.
rolfy
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Jun 2006
Location:
Posted: 29th Feb 2008 22:52
Slayer222,
Reply sent.


Changed account
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 29th Nov 2005
Location: UK
Posted: 2nd Mar 2008 20:36
On my opinoin working as a artist, it isn't CGI quality. Looks like your using max's default scaline render. (if you are using max)

Maybe if you have enough processing power (or a render farm) start using mental ray and get the arch and design shader on the dragon for it's skin. You can then play arround with an option in the render menu called final gather. Placing special mental ray lights, plus a skylight (adapted in max 2008 to mental ray standards). You will start pulling up some photorealistic shots. However render in 300x600 size for testing as mental ray takes alot to render out fully especialy for motion film.

good luck.

- Solar System Studios - Developing games since 2001
Avid
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Jun 2007
Location:
Posted: 3rd Mar 2008 00:48 Edited at: 3rd Mar 2008 00:49
With the right light setup the default scan-line renderer is fine. The problem is, it would literally take days to render a single short ani of about 30 seconds with final gather (even at PAL/NTSC which is about 720x576).

The license for network rendering is also prohibitively expensive for an individual.

I've finished rendering part of a cutscene for my game, and it took 40mins to render 5 seconds of a nebula made with about 200 particles. I have a dual core A64 clocked at 2.4 aswell.

I bet if I'd used volumetrics and final gather, it would look slightly prettier, but Skynet would have taken over my PC by the time it would have finished, erasing my finished render anyway.

So it would be very difficult to get cinematic quality cutscenes. In fact, I'm fairly impressed with the ingame ones. Sure the animation my be slightly clunky, but it's pretty damn good for a single individual doing it in their spare time.
rolfy
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Jun 2006
Location:
Posted: 3rd Mar 2008 02:51
Yeah the in game cutscene is 1024x768,I certainly wouldnt like to attempt final gather with the level of detail used in the terrain of the dragon,the scene also uses volumetrics in the sky and atmosphere.This could be got around a little by creating a fly thru render of the atmospherics and compositing the Dragon into the scene after,to be fair I did say the Dragon render was a WIP.
Detlef
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Mar 2008
Location: Gernamy
Posted: 3rd Mar 2008 16:47
Mien opinion is that te gam is bad

Mien name is Detlef
KeithC
Senior Moderator
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Oct 2005
Location: Michigan
Posted: 3rd Mar 2008 21:14
Care to elaborate on that short review, Detlef?

bobert
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Oct 2007
Location: where ever they sell chocolate
Posted: 3rd Mar 2008 21:21
ya really dude i bet you 70$ you cant make a game better than this

in the immortal words of cheeshead you are a forum ruiner guy!
rolfy
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Jun 2006
Location:
Posted: 4th Mar 2008 00:18
Looks like another of Red Devils 'friends',he posted how much he liked RD's game in his thread even though he cant have downloaded it as its dead, or maybe he just likes folks from 'Gernamy' as his location suggests,its a pity that RD is continuing to take flak from this community because of folks like this,if it continues he wont get any cred over here at all.
xplosys
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Jan 2006
Playing: FPSC Multiplayer Games
Posted: 4th Mar 2008 00:30 Edited at: 4th Mar 2008 00:32
Detlef is probably young and trying to impress someone with a bad-boy image. Every forum has a few of them. He'll get over it, and I think in time we'll see more of a merge between the two forums. RD seems to be giving it a go.

Rolfy, got your (4) entries. LOL

Best.

Wolf
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Nov 2007
Location: Luxemburg
Posted: 5th Mar 2008 20:54 Edited at: 5th Mar 2008 20:58
I cant test it cause of Problems with this Framework thingie (if its callen so)

But I saw in ur FANTASTIC Nightvision vid that you havent changed ur water step sounds.

I suggest you shoul do this. The default step sounds suck

Best luck for your game

- Wolf

P.S: This Detlef guy was also in our board a while ago...he presented a game, well...it was soo bad, you couldnt imagine!

Anyway, I dont know what you mean with "one of Red Devils friends" and i dont even care. Anyway...keep it up!

(Why do I write so often "Anyway"?! )

Its my Freedom, Its my Duty, Its my War!

http://wolf.kilu.de/Index.htm <- My webpage... I have not got many content on it, because its pretty new, and I suck at webdesign
spartan16
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Mar 2008
Location:
Posted: 6th Mar 2008 18:27
Hey Rolfy, your game is lookin very nice, and its a shame i cant play the demo When i load it up it just comes to the screen with a little gnome sat at a table in a room, but thats it, theres no "new game" or anything like that, its so confusing what do i do?
Light Samus
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Mar 2008
Location:
Posted: 7th Mar 2008 19:33
I really enjoy the story, quite original to say the least, in fact, its at least 100x better than what other people have come up with.
fico
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Feb 2008
Location:
Posted: 9th Mar 2008 16:41
I found secreat area, but FPSFree moved clock from their site. Is there any other site where could i download it from?

P.S. sorry if my english isn't very good.
Kilgore
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Feb 2008
Location: Chad Valley
Posted: 18th Mar 2008 19:57
Played this today. Some great visuals! I really liked the timed maze idea, too.

My only problem was that I couldn't understand what the cutscene chap was saying.
mgarand
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Dec 2007
Location: The Netherlands
Posted: 18th Mar 2008 20:43
i like it! it's ust perfect!!!!!!

my only question is,

i make outdoor lvl's too buth it is all low, no hills, buth you got beautiful hills and rocks, how do you make that?

always look on the bright side of live
xplosys
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Jan 2006
Playing: FPSC Multiplayer Games
Posted: 18th Mar 2008 20:58
fico,

Find the clock download in the entites download section of fpsFREE.com.

Best

rolfy
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Jun 2006
Location:
Posted: 19th Mar 2008 19:21 Edited at: 19th Mar 2008 19:21
xplosys: Thanks,I added that info to the first post.

Ocho geek: Yes I do all the work in Max.

Spartan16: There should be a start button on the screen you refer to,I dont think your download is corrupt in any way if you got this far and the game has unpacked properly,did you try again?
This is one of those questions s4 may be able to answer as he created the menu.

Wolf:I dont use any water sounds in the game,the only place you would enter water is at the keep and that should kill you anyway till you solve how to turn it off.As far as Detlef goes I may have jumped to conclusions here and if I did then I apologise for that you guy's are welcome around here.


Many thanks for the nice comments.
Candle_
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 29th May 2006
Location: kindergarten
Posted: 21st Mar 2008 17:28
Looking good rolfy, downloading now to give it some play and see what it's all about.
I upgraded my computer awhile back so should be able to play anything i find here now



rolfy
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Jun 2006
Location:
Posted: 21st Mar 2008 20:55
Candle: thats cool, I haven't seen you around for a while.
Candle_
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 29th May 2006
Location: kindergarten
Posted: 21st Mar 2008 21:32
So far a great great game, ya haven't been around much as i have been doing other things.
And the AM forums keeps me busy too.



FredP
Retired Moderator
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Feb 2006
Location: Indiana
Posted: 21st Mar 2008 22:42
Quote: "Candle: thats cool, I haven't seen you around for a while. "




You're back?Haven't seen you for a while.At least you stopped by.I was beginning to think we had lost you forever...

RIP Floating Skull unknown-2007 we will miss you in FPSC x10
Candle_
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 29th May 2006
Location: kindergarten
Posted: 21st Mar 2008 22:46 Edited at: 21st Mar 2008 23:22
yes I will hang around , i'm sure some would like it if I didn't lol

edit ::
is there a hint/walkthrough for the demo anywhere?



Seppuku Arts
Moderator
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Aug 2004
Location: Cambridgeshire, England
Posted: 23rd Mar 2008 01:32
Looks fantastic mate, I'll probably download when I get back to my main PC and check it out. Makes me glad I check the FPSC boards now and again, good projects appear here.

From the 1st page, now I know it's about 19 pages in length now, but:

Quote: "ELdora-The golden land,this is where Eldorado comes from.(may be Spanish in origin)"


Indeed, there reason there are similar words in celtic and Spanish is because thousands of years a go (I think until 7000bc) a landbridge between Spain and Cornwall existed, the 'fathers' of the celts came from that sort of area, some of the language seems to still exist in both tongues.

Exit Pursued by man-bear-pig
rolfy
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Jun 2006
Location:
Posted: 23rd Mar 2008 22:30
Hey Seppuku, its good to see you DBP guys take the the time to hang out around around here.
I look forward to what you have to say about the game,I hope it plays ok for you.
Seppuku Arts
Moderator
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Aug 2004
Location: Cambridgeshire, England
Posted: 25th Mar 2008 20:18
Yeah, I'll let you know when I get back to my other address (in two weeks) if I remember, but I doubt I won't as it might be a worthwhile play.

Quote: "its good to see you DBP guys take the the time to hang out around around here."


Good projects can come from everywhere, so I keep my eye wherever I can.

"Experience never provides its judgments with true or strict universality; but only (through induction) with assumed and comparative universality." - Immanuel Kant
Rampage
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Feb 2008
Location: New Zealand
Posted: 17th May 2008 13:19
Awesome man, keep up the good work!


DevilMouse Developments Lead Designer/Programmer/Developer
Kerrby
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Mar 2008
Location: Australia mate.
Posted: 19th May 2008 15:26
I downloaded the demo and it closes so can you help me play it?

It says run.exe has to close. How can I fix this?
Kerrby
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Mar 2008
Location: Australia mate.
Posted: 22nd May 2008 08:28
I have an error when I try and play your game. When I click Start Game it closes and says Run.exe needs to close. How can I fix this?

Also where'd you get the boldour or big rocks? Is that model pack 11?

P.s Please take me off post moderation, my posts arn't always coming up.
FredP
Retired Moderator
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Feb 2006
Location: Indiana
Posted: 22nd May 2008 11:26
If you have an issue regarding being on Post Approval please e-mail me.

The floating skull is gone but the flames burn on!!!
s4real
Valued Member
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Jul 2006
Location:
Posted: 22nd May 2008 19:52
@Kerrby : I have Released a new update Eldora update v1.1 official release.

This fixes most of the issues but some still are there but I am working on them.

If your run.exe is closing make sure you have the latest direct x, also another reason could be space on your hard drive could be small as the game needs twice the size to run.

Best S4

wowblobby
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Apr 2007
Location:
Posted: 28th May 2008 03:52
lol kinda sounds like elona land of the golden sun

touch the cat fell my bat
flickenmaste
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd May 2008
Location:
Posted: 30th May 2008 02:31
WOW

this was made in FPSC??

What you know wont hurt you- except me
Aertic
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Jul 2007
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 30th May 2008 02:35
yes, it would be locked if it wasnt, but this is fpsc with lots of hard work, concentration, and harcore trial and error.

zarock
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Jan 2008
Location: lost in space
Posted: 9th Jun 2008 05:21
no more demo? i havent taken the time to read throught 10 pages of post but i saw the demo but its not on fps free anymore
rolfy
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Jun 2006
Location:
Posted: 9th Jun 2008 13:51
The demo is here,

http://files.filefront.com/eldorazip/;9453164;/fileinfo.html

It was the link above the fpsfree one which is link to clock, both in the first post.
Davy B
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Feb 2006
Location: West Berkshire (UK)
Posted: 10th Jun 2008 00:29
Very nice rolfy, just downloaded and test it, plays very well until my computer crashs on me, til i get my new one i'll get back to playing it, also thanks for giving my credit on changing the skybox.
Adriano jones
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Sep 2007
Location: Turn around...
Posted: 10th Jun 2008 00:50
Am I allowed to feature this on my site: www.ilikecomputers.thevillage.com?

Adriano jones
rolfy
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Jun 2006
Location:
Posted: 10th Jun 2008 02:24 Edited at: 10th Jun 2008 02:25
Quote: "Am I allowed to feature this on my site: www.ilikecomputers.thevillage.com?"


Yes anyone wishing to feature Eldora on their own sites may do so freely,just link to this thread for download

If anyone wants to link directly from their own site all I ask is that you let me know you are doing this.
Ertlov
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Jan 2007
Location: Austria
Posted: 16th Jun 2008 21:46
Hehe, nice to see you`re still active. Eldora is still a great game, which I really like to play since the first version you gave to me.

Support the efforts of Homegrown Games! Don`t let us starve!
Buy Anderson:
https://buy.metaboli.com/vnt/panier.html?partenaire=33&id_titre=354&langue_page=en
rolfy
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Jun 2006
Location:
Posted: 17th Jun 2008 00:24
Ertlov! you disappeared, good to see your still around, where you been?
Inspire
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Dec 2006
Location: Rochester, NY
Posted: 17th Jun 2008 04:51
Woah, where have you been off to?

Ertlov
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Jan 2007
Location: Austria
Posted: 17th Jun 2008 11:29
Well, my team is working on 2 Point & Click Adventures at the moment and we had some troubles during the last months, and when I say troubles, I mean really BIG troubles.

I can`t remember with whom I had been discussing here about publishers and their moral, but whoever he was, he was right in almost all points...

Now, as most of MY work (Story & Puzzle Design) for the Adventures is done (screenie attached), I have a little bit spare time I`d like to invest into converting the "Dark Earth" Scenario into 3D Action Game, perhaps even with FPSC (I know I told that I wouldn`t do that anymore, but opinions change). I`m not sure right now, but perhaps I`ll come up with it in the showcase soon

A little Side-note to "Anderson":

Although we had some horrible reviews around, the feedback and reviews from the Cthulhu fanbase, but also from those Games Journalists who know Lovecraft from scratch were positive, all those enlighted ones gave ratings between 60% and (one mad Cthulhu cultist writing for a russian mag) 84%. I`m not allowed to talk about the net profits, but they were several times the production costs.

And sorry for hijacking your wonderful Eldora Thread, rolfy!

Support the efforts of Homegrown Games! Don`t let us starve!
Buy Anderson:
https://buy.metaboli.com/vnt/panier.html?partenaire=33&id_titre=354&langue_page=en

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Inspire
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Dec 2006
Location: Rochester, NY
Posted: 17th Jun 2008 23:37
@ Ertlov:

Are you still selling Anderson? I have yet to play the full version.

Totally diggin the screenshot as well.

Your signature has been erased by a mod
Ertlov
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Jan 2007
Location: Austria
Posted: 18th Jun 2008 11:49
Yeah, Anderson is still sold almost all over the world, a new Italian version has been brought out last month.

To my knowledge it`s available in English, German, French, Spanish, Russian, Italian and whatever Language is spoken in India...

Try it on Ebay:

http://cgi.ebay.com/Anderson-The-Legacy-Of-Cthulhu-PC-New-Sealed_W0QQitemZ180255199249QQihZ008QQcategoryZ139973QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

Support the efforts of Homegrown Games! Don`t let us starve!
Buy Anderson:
https://buy.metaboli.com/vnt/panier.html?partenaire=33&id_titre=354&langue_page=en
creator of zombies
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Feb 2006
Location: UK: West Wales
Posted: 18th Jun 2008 21:38
Hey Rolfy, long time no see. Eldora's looking good
Keep up the good work!

-CoZ-



Punk13
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Oct 2007
Location: In EpikLand!
Posted: 22nd Jun 2008 04:17
400th pst!!!
Looks really amazing bro

GOTH 1 SNIPER
User Banned
Posted: 22nd Jun 2008 10:04
@rolfy
If you dont mind can you tell me how you got the menu an buttons to move and the difrent loading screen's for each map plez or just give me a hint thanx

I loved that game it was kool had 34 fps thru the hole map

Myspace:http://www.myspace.com/DEATH1sniper
Hame Page:http://snipereliteforce.spruz.com/
AMSHNOK!!!

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2020-09-29 18:44:56
Your offset time is: 2020-09-29 18:44:56