Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 24th May 2007 04:31
Hi All,

I've been using DBPro for a few months now, and have just started working with DP. This is the first time I had to post a question, as I can usually find my answers in the forums.

My Question:
What type of rigid body would you use for a ring or hoop? An example would be a dynamic ring used in "ring toss" where a ring would be thrown onto a static peg, or a static ring (or hoop) that you would throw a dynamic ball through.

Thanks - JoeBlaze
BatVink
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 24th May 2007 10:06
Depending on the required accuracy, I would be tempted to create it from 5 or 6 elongated box bodies, with static joints.

JoeBlaze
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 24th May 2007 18:03
Does this mean that my actual ring would need to be 5-6 seperate objects, or is it possible to add multiple rigid bodies to 1 object?
pdq
Years of Service
User Offline
Are you importing your ring as a model?

The documentation for Dark Physics mentioned an example that shows limbs from an X file being converted to physics objects. Look in "documentation\information.chm" under examples. But this feature is not supported in the current version of DP. I have inquired about this a couple of times.
Codger
Years of Service
User Offline
A dynamic mesh should work fine.

System
PIV 2.8 MZ 512 Mem
FX 5600 256 mem
BatVink
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 25th May 2007 16:42
Dynamic Meshes are OK, but can be very processor-intensive. And because it's a ring, you can't use a convex hull which is far more efficient.