Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / Thinking of Buying

Author
Message
Strut
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Sep 2002
Location:
Posted: 1st Sep 2002 23:13
Hello Everyone,

As the subject states, I am thinking of buying DBPro. I currentley use 3D GameStudio for my game development, and found out about DBPro from its user forums(Apparantley some of their users are switching to DBPro, and might also possibley include me).

Although DBPro is $99, which is a remarkable price(especially compared to GameStudio's $1,250.00 for thier pro), I do have a few questions.

I asked some friends who may know about DBPro, and they said you have to use Half-Life and Quake3 created levels. Which obviously would create licensing issues. I was also told that 3D Studio Max can be effectivley used to create levels. I'm fairly confused on this. Does compiling a level to the BSP format create any licensing issues? Or is there nothing to worry about?

My other question was that I was curious as to if there were any other demo's that could be downloaded to demonstrate DBPRo? Not to be rude, but some of the Demo's on the downloads page were not that impressive. Especially the bike one, which I thought was horrible.

Thanks, and please no flaming.
denki
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Aug 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 2nd Sep 2002 13:36
Go over to http://realgametools.com and look on the forum, look at the unofficial demo, it show 4 cameras, a particle effect, and runs very nicely, although uncomplete

Don't forget -
A. Those demos were made in less than a night
B. A better is to come
C. DBP is only just finished, it's in a very early stage, updates and patches are sure to improve speed, also you have the great DB community, prolly the most friendly in the world Buy DBP you wont regret it...

I am in no way related to DBS in anyway (I am no salesmen lol) hehe

denki
Kousen DPB RPG latest - Working on a demo to release to get some interest and team members
Wanna join? See the Team section.
Strut
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Sep 2002
Location:
Posted: 2nd Sep 2002 20:56
What about licensing issues?

MrTAToad
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Aug 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 3rd Sep 2002 16:18
Unless you use ID's software, I dont think there is any...

Yes, I really am THAT good...
WarWolf
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Aug 2002
Location: Sweden
Posted: 3rd Sep 2002 19:48
You don't have to use Quake 3 and Half-Life levels. You can use just about everything, and if nothing feels right, just make your own!

I didn't steal it!
xtom
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Aug 2002
Location: Ireland
Posted: 4th Sep 2002 21:35
If it's bsp levels your after you can make your own levels as a .x models and compile them to a specific DBPro bsp file format using DBPro or a compiler that comes with it (i'm not sure which). Although I don't think it's as fully featured as quake or halflife bsp files it's one way to avoid licensing issues. Also you can use some other license free tools and compilers to make your levels. I think it's called zoners tools or something, anyway it's all on the rgt forum do a search or check out the faq board there. Here's a direct link to the bsp faq below.

http://www.realgametools.com/yabbse/index.php?board=16;action=display;threadid=4156
AlecM
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Aug 2002
Location: Concord, MA
Posted: 12th Sep 2002 23:11
zoners halflife tools.


]go to the FAQ board at RealGameTools

Goto http://www.shellshockede.com
rapscaLLion
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 29th Aug 2002
Location: Canada
Posted: 14th Sep 2002 03:25
Weren't Zoners tools based on iD code though?

Alex Wanuch
aka rapscaLLion
Get the DB Weekly Newsletter at www.dbwn.cjb.net
lerpiedood
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Sep 2002
Location: United States
Posted: 15th Sep 2002 11:42
I am too a 3dgs user who is thinking of getting DBPro. Can't you also program your own level editor in dbpro and us it to create levels?

Sir Lerpie, the proud leader of Wurxware http://mysite.iptic.com/wurxware
jburrows
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Sep 2002
Location:
Posted: 15th Sep 2002 14:33
Although I never used it you could use Cartography Shop for designing levels.It is only $40 and there is demo version of it also.
http://www.darkbasic.com/c.php?f=cartographyshop1
lerpiedood
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Sep 2002
Location: United States
Posted: 15th Sep 2002 21:28
Cartography shop didn't look to good, I'd like to program my own level editor, that would be fun.

Sir Lerpie, the proud leader of Wurxware http://mysite.iptic.com/wurxware
Pickles
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Aug 2002
Location:
Posted: 17th Sep 2002 06:27
I use the free level editor that comes with Genesis3D or RealityFactory. Both need no license and are capable of compiling .MAP and .BSP files that can be used with DBPro.

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2020-01-19 16:30:20
Your offset time is: 2020-01-19 16:30:20