Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Work in Progress / AES (Advanced Effect System)

Author
Message
Graphiboc
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Jun 2006
Location:
Posted: 21st Jun 2007 18:02 Edited at: 12th Jan 2008 21:57
hello everybody, I'm here to introduce my new project : AES
I insist on the fact that AES is made to be sold!

what is AES?

AES is a pack that will allow you to create awesome specials effects in your video games made with DARKBASIC Professional
AES will contain a dll, an editor and a whole of effects
Right now the pack already have 160 animated effects, all in 128x128 and 64x64, which makes 250 Mo of effects. the pack will also contain a lot of effects not animated.
The system is totally finished (except if new ideas come out) and will soon be converted in dll.
the editor is still in construction, but it's going quite fast. it will allow you to design your effects and to export them in source code .dba or to save them in natal format to modify them later.

FEATURE LIST (work in progress of the system, not the editor):

=Done.
=Work In Progress.
=Not started yet.
=Killed.

Create effects
Use personal objects for effect
Use animated effects or single image
Set animation speed
Set life to animation time
Alpha without any dark area
Zdepth control
Use a fade value or a fade gradient to control the alpha of each effect.
Use a colour value or a color gradient to control the color of each effect.
Position parametters
Scale parameters (Start size, Scale factor and size add)
Rotation (global or local, oriented to camera)
Velocity (with acceleration and velocity add)
Move (with move acceleration and move add)
Life and prelife
UV animations
export for billboarding in many formats (jpg,bmp,...)
export to sprite sheet
export one frame all the x frames
export to movie (avi uncompressed at this time)
export to .dba code (you choose the name of the effect and the programm will create a function with this named that you just have to call to create the effect).
export to AES Script
load/save project
new (delete all media/data)
special loop
Bloom
HDR

EDITOR:
progress:

SCREENSHOTS:
there are some screens of the editor:


MOVIES:
there are some very simple effects made in less than 1min with the editor:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nfL5hEo9OQ0 : video of the demo of AES!!!
http://youtube.com/watch?v=EaiNtqsbsiQ
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NCWOyLdRsR0
http://youtube.com/watch?v=lqiyaCBbvSw
there are some sample of animated effect included in the pack:
http://graphiboc3.ifrance.com/effect_sample.abc
http://graphiboc3.ifrance.com/effect_sample2.abc
http://graphiboc3.ifrance.com/effect_sample3.abc
YOU MUST RENAME THOSE FILES IN .WMV (sry but this server doesn't support .wmv files :/)

COMMAND LIST :

59 NEW COMMANDS:


Hope you will like it

Sry for mybad english
Duffer
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Feb 2003
Location: chair
Posted: 21st Jun 2007 18:11
@ Graphiboc,

Looks v impressive - what sort of commands will the .dll provide? How much will this assist in 3d compared to 2d games?

a long time dabbler with DBC and DBPro with no actual talent but lots of enthusiasm...
Graphiboc
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Jun 2006
Location:
Posted: 21st Jun 2007 18:16
hmm the current list of commands is (without any classement):

Quote: "
54 commands

aes_initialize_effect(maxeffect,maxanimation,maxcolorgradient,maxgreygradient,maxpersonalobjects)
aes_load_personal_object(number,file$,quantity)
aes_unload_personal_object(number)
aes_get_free_personal_object(object_type)
aes_personal_object_exist(object_type)
aes_add_effect(object_type,x#,y#,z#,sizex#,sizey#,sizez#,texture,life,prelife,anglex#,angley#,anglez#,rot_type)
aes_update(speed#)
aes_update_orient()
aes_update_position()
aes_hide_all_effects()
aes_show_all_effects()
aes_set_effect_resize(id,resizex#,resizey#,resizez#,addsizex#,addsizey#,addsizez#)
aes_set_fade(id,fade)
aes_set_position(id,x#,y#,z#)
aes_set_texture_animation(id,start_texture,end_texture)
aes_set_effect_effect(id,effect)
aes_set_effect_animation_speed(id,speed#)
aes_set_effect_lenght_to_texture_animation(id)
aes_get_effect_object(id)
aes_set_effect_rotation(id,rx#,ry#,rz#,rot_type)
aes_set_effect_velocity(id,vx#,vy#,vz#,accx#,accy#,accz#,addx#,addy#,addz#)
aes_set_effect_move(id,m#,mr#,mu#,accm#,accmr#,accmu#,addm#,addmr#,addmu#)
aes_effect_move_on(id)
aes_effect_move_off(id)
aes_set_orientation(id,orientation)
aes_set_effect_ambience(id,color)
aes_set_effect_emissive(id,color)
aes_set_effect_diffuse(id,color)
aes_set_effect_zdepth(id,zdepth)
aes_set_effect_colorgradient(id,gradient,emissive,diffuse,ambient)
aes_set_effect_alphagradient(id,gradient)
aes_is_used(id)
aes_get_life(id)
aes_get_currentlife(id)
aes_get_position_x(id)
aes_get_position_y(id)
aes_get_position_z(id)
aes_get_size_x(id)
aes_get_size_y(id)
aes_get_size_z(id)
aes_get_angle_x(id)
aes_get_angle_y(id)
aes_get_angle_z(id)
get_free_effect()
aes_delete_all_effects()
aes_get_free_object()
aes_get_free_image()
aes_load_animated_effect(sufix_nbr,effect,prefix$,extension$,modulo,flag)
aes_get_loaded_effect_first_image(effect)
aes_get_loaded_effect_last_image(effect)
aes_get_loaded_effect_image(effect,number)
aes_create_string_from_integer(string_len,number)
aes_load_color_gradient(gradient,file$)
aes_load_grey_gradient(gradient,file$)
"


Quote: "Looks v impressive"

thanks u vry much

Quote: "How much will this assist in 3d compared to 2d games?"

My english is too bad>.> can you explain more please?

Sry for mybad english
Roxas
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Nov 2005
Location: http://forum.thegamecreators.com
Posted: 21st Jun 2007 18:29
This is so wonderfull! This is going to sell good.. I cant make that professional looking effects myself!

Well done!


[B] - LINKIN PARK - [/B]
Duffer
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Feb 2003
Location: chair
Posted: 21st Jun 2007 18:32
@ Graphiboc,

A good list of commands there -

What I meant to ask is - could you give a set of examples of how you would use this application and the dll as well in a 2 dimensional game - and then in a 3d dimensional game - ?

a long time dabbler with DBC and DBPro with no actual talent but lots of enthusiasm...
Graphiboc
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Jun 2006
Location:
Posted: 21st Jun 2007 18:51
i added two video samples.

@duffer: originally, this pack is only for 3d games, but i can think about an export with alpha mask to use prérendered effects in 2d games. In 3d games, you can use these effect to do magic effects, explosions, and more...

The system can even works as a particle system but i don't advise you to use this system like a particle system.

Sry for mybad english
Balid
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Nov 2003
Location: MI, USA
Posted: 21st Jun 2007 19:02
@Graphiboc - Looks pretty good.

I however can not play your videos. Can anyone else, or is it just me???

Graphiboc
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Jun 2006
Location:
Posted: 21st Jun 2007 19:11
did you have rename the videos file in .wmv? try to play them with VLC player...

Sry for mybad english
Diggsey
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Apr 2006
Location: On this web page.
Posted: 21st Jun 2007 19:44 Edited at: 21st Jun 2007 19:46
I worked fine in windows media player for me (after renaming to .wmv as Graphiboc said)

It looks really great!

PS
The past tense of 'sell' is 'sold', so it should be:
'This is made to be sold'
Apart from that your English is pretty good

Graphiboc
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Jun 2006
Location:
Posted: 21st Jun 2007 19:51
thx
but i think you are not forced to rename the files, i think that WMP recognize the format. VLC recognise the format without renaming the file

Sry for mybad english
Balid
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Nov 2003
Location: MI, USA
Posted: 21st Jun 2007 23:46 Edited at: 22nd Jun 2007 00:16
VLC??? [edit]downloading VLC player[/edit]

And yes I changed the extension. WMP nor WinAmp would play the files. WMP says the longest one is 4 sec's (which I think is wrong). It may be my computer. I will try on my home computer when I get there.

[edit2]VLC player did the trick[/edit2]

Thanks,

Shadow heart
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Dec 2006
Location: US
Posted: 22nd Jun 2007 00:47
looks very good.

to the ones thats trapped inside of you, this is it!!
The admiral
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 29th Aug 2002
Location:
Posted: 22nd Jun 2007 00:57
Wow looks very good

The admiral
Graphiboc
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Jun 2006
Location:
Posted: 22nd Jun 2007 09:00 Edited at: 22nd Jun 2007 09:01
Quote: "PS
The past tense of 'sell' is 'sold', so it should be:
'This is made to be sold'
Apart from that your English is pretty good"

I didn't see this comment >.> I edited my post thx a lot

Quote: "looks very good"

thx

some news soon

Sry for mybad english
Cash Curtis II
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Apr 2005
Location: Corpus Christi Texas
Posted: 22nd Jun 2007 09:10
It looks great. I think that I might purchase this. I have a couple questions, very important for my purposes.

When using an animation on a plain, how exactly is it animated? Is it a single image with the UVs shifted? Or, are you retexturing the plain each time?

Can we export the animations to a sprite sheet? By this, I mean a 1024x1024 image with 16 individual frames, each 256x256. This is how TGC's animated sprite pack works, and it is currently what I use in Geisha House. I'd love your media, but stick to this method.

Thanks!


Come see the WIP!
Graphiboc
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Jun 2006
Location:
Posted: 22nd Jun 2007 09:57 Edited at: 22nd Jun 2007 10:00
Quote: "Can we export the animations to a sprite sheet? By this, I mean a 1024x1024 image with 16 individual frames, each 256x256"

I think i can implemant this without any problem. But i think it could be better if i found a dll that resize images with some filters like cubic or linear... At this time, export is not implemanted. soon
I have to tell you that some effect have many frame. You will be able to render only the first 16 frames or the total effect in 16frame (ex:if your effect has 160 frame, the program will export only frame 0,10,20,etc... if you want to obtain 16 frames). Si i will implemant sprite sheet, but for the best quality, i will need a plugin or a function to resize image with linear or cubic filter...

Quote: "When using an animation on a plain, how exactly is it animated? Is it a single image with the UVs shifted? Or, are you retexturing the plain each time?"

Actually, the plain is retexturing each frame. You can also animate effect just by scaling, rotating or moving them with many parameters. But it's a great idea to scroll uvs! i will implemant this too to let the choice to the user.

Quote: "It looks great. I think that I might purchase this."

thx

i hope i had explain to you all you had want to know

ps:owever, if you purchase the pack, you can use medias as you want, and only use animated effects without using editor or dll Actually the effects are in .jpg format but i think i will convert them into .dds

Sry for mybad english
Cash Curtis II
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Apr 2005
Location: Corpus Christi Texas
Posted: 22nd Jun 2007 10:45
You've answered my questions perfectly, I really appreciate it.

The problem with retexturing each update is that it is comparatively slow. Scrolling the UVs to the next frame is very fast.

Of course, you're limited by the size of your image, which as you've mentioned your animation system can use hundreds of frames. Your system looks gorgeous - I'd definitely use it in a smaller game than I'm working on right now. After Geisha House I'm going to make a 3rd person space shooter, and your media would be perfect for that. Speed and efficiency is just a huge concern for my project.

If I were you, I'd use PNG and maybe DDS. PNG is a very fast loading format, much faster than .jpg. If someone is loading hundreds of images speed will become a huge concern.


Come see the WIP!
Graphiboc
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Jun 2006
Location:
Posted: 22nd Jun 2007 10:52
Quote: "The problem with retexturing each update is that it is comparatively slow"

not longer. i you set nosort to 1, it's very fast

thx for your comments
some people told me dds was the faster and can store alpha data. So i think i will convert them into dds. What about the size of the files?

Sry for mybad english
Roxas
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Nov 2005
Location: http://forum.thegamecreators.com
Posted: 22nd Jun 2007 15:13
Theres another proplem with retexturing. Tough..

It takes more memory but this project is still good


[B] - LINKIN PARK - [/B]
Graphiboc
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Jun 2006
Location:
Posted: 22nd Jun 2007 15:18
i don't think it really take more memory roxas... It's just depend of the size of your images isn't it?

Sry for mybad english
Roxas
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Nov 2005
Location: http://forum.thegamecreators.com
Posted: 22nd Jun 2007 15:42 Edited at: 22nd Jun 2007 15:45
I really dont know.. When i used this methode back then i got blue screen and now i use newsletter november 06 method and i havent got any of them.. (This isnt really uv sifting tough)


[B] - LINKIN PARK - [/B]
Cash Curtis II
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Apr 2005
Location: Corpus Christi Texas
Posted: 22nd Jun 2007 15:54
Quote: "some people told me dds was the faster and can store alpha data"

It is faster. Just slightly faster, I think that the data is loaded at the same speed but mipmaps aren't created for .dds images. Both support alpha maps. I like .png format better though for a couple reasons. Support for them is universal, support for .dds is much more limited. I can edit and save .png without any problems whatsoever, my .dds plugin for PSP doesn't work right, I have to use Photoshop. Also, I trust mipmaps created by DX more than a graphic editor, I believe that the mipmaps created by DX will be better than those from the editor.

I also believe that retexturing does take a bit more memory, and despite how fast it is, has to be slower than shifting the UV data. Not a big concern. The biggest concern is the number of individual images that has to be reserved for the effects. For lots of effects, it is possible to take a LOT of images. But, for how nice they look it is certainly worth it.

I'm being nit picky, but this looks fantastic and I look forward to it being released.


Come see the WIP!
Graphiboc
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Jun 2006
Location:
Posted: 22nd Jun 2007 16:04 Edited at: 22nd Jun 2007 16:10
mystic

@Duffer

Quote: "What I meant to ask is - could you give a set of examples of how you would use this application and the dll as well in a 2 dimensional game - and then in a 3d dimensional game - ?"

i implemanted export with alpha support now you can use aes for your 2d games

Quote: "The biggest concern is the number of individual images that has to be reserved for the effects."

when you load an effect in the editor (ans in your game too), you are asked to specifie a modulo number. For exemple, if you put modulo to 3, only images 0,3,6,9,12,... will be loaded. It's very usefull

Sry for mybad english
Graphiboc
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Jun 2006
Location:
Posted: 22nd Jun 2007 22:50
a new screen of the work in progress of the editor :



Sry for mybad english
Blobby 101
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Jun 2006
Location: England, UK
Posted: 22nd Jun 2007 23:32
i'm really liking this.
on that last screen there is a wire box around the effects, does this mean you could animate it so that one effect/box gets bigger? like in that screenshot, the ring on the ground, could you make that resize during your game? so that you could make a fire ring or something that changes size and the player has to doge it.


thanks to deathead for the sig!
Projects: alien abductor-5%
Graphiboc
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Jun 2006
Location:
Posted: 22nd Jun 2007 23:41
Quote: "on that last screen there is a wire box around the effects, does this mean you could animate it so that one effect/box gets bigger? like in that screenshot, the ring on the ground, could you make that resize during your game? so that you could make a fire ring or something that changes size and the player has to doge it."


yes, of course! you can control size(startsize, size factor en size add), rotation (start angle, rotation, global or local, set to camera), position, velocity (with accéleration and add to simulate gravity, wind or another force), move (with acceleration an dadd), color(with a specified color or custom graidnet), alpha(with a specified value or custom graidnet). And soon you will control also uvw scroll animation.

Sry for mybad english
NeX the Fairly Fast Ferret
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Apr 2005
Location: The Fifth Plane of Oblivion
Posted: 23rd Jun 2007 00:08
DDS is lossy. It makes comparitively huge files. It is full of useless features. It is not supported without plugins by tons of programs. In short, it sucks.


Since the other one was scaring you guys so much...
Graphiboc
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Jun 2006
Location:
Posted: 23rd Jun 2007 00:10
so you think i have to use .png files?

Sry for mybad english
NeX the Fairly Fast Ferret
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Apr 2005
Location: The Fifth Plane of Oblivion
Posted: 23rd Jun 2007 00:14
Yes. DDS is, in my opinion, really rubbish. I would favour BMP over it because my images won't fill with squares and will load without 40mb of plugins that only work with the latest versions of image editors.


Since the other one was scaring you guys so much...
Mistrel
Retired Moderator
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Nov 2005
Location:
Posted: 23rd Jun 2007 00:21 Edited at: 23rd Jun 2007 00:22
Quote: "Yes. DDS is, in my opinion, really rubbish. I would favour BMP over it because my images won't fill with squares and will load without 40mb of plugins that only work with the latest versions of image editors."


If you don't understand what mip-maps are then DDS is not for you.

Graphiboc, PNG would probably be the best format for this. It's lossless, like BMP, but is compressed and can also store an 8-bit alpha channel.

Unless you plan to utilize the added benefits of the DDS format like mip-mapping then don't use it. It's basically a "featured" format. If you're not going to use any of its features then there's no reason to use it.

http://3dfolio.com
Roxas
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Nov 2005
Location: http://forum.thegamecreators.com
Posted: 23rd Jun 2007 00:41
That effect reminds me of Baten Kaitos or Final Fantaysy NICE! Cant wait using this on my rpg..


[B] - LINKIN PARK - [/B]
NeX the Fairly Fast Ferret
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Apr 2005
Location: The Fifth Plane of Oblivion
Posted: 23rd Jun 2007 00:43 Edited at: 23rd Jun 2007 00:43
I do understand that mip-mapping is a set of lower-res copies of a texture that are used at extreme angles to the camera and at large distances in order to prevent distortion and increase performance a little. I just see extremely little reason to store them in the texture. It would be cool to have different colours, I suppose, for walking on a forcefield in a FPS, but that's about it.


Since the other one was scaring you guys so much...
Mistrel
Retired Moderator
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Nov 2005
Location:
Posted: 23rd Jun 2007 05:26
Quote: "Many texture formats include an alpha channel, which provides opacity information at each pixel. DXTex fully supports alpha in textures. When you import a BMP file, if there is a file of the same size with a name that ends in "_a"—for example, Sample.bmp and Sample_a.bmp—the second file is loaded as an alpha channel. The blue channel of the second BMP is stored in the alpha channel. When a document is open, you can explicitly load a BMP file as the alpha channel by clicking Open As Alpha Channel on the File menu.

To view the alpha channel directly, without the RGB channels, on the View menu, click Alpha Channel Only. The alpha channel appears as a grayscale image. If no alpha channel has been loaded, every pixel has a full alpha channel and the image appears solid white when viewing "Alpha Channel Only." To turn off alpha channel viewing, click the Alpha Channel Only command a second time.

In the usual view, the effect of the alpha channel is visible because the window has a solid background color that shows through the texture where the alpha channel is less than 100 percent. You can change this background color by clicking Change Background Color on the View menu. This choice does not affect the texture itself or the data that is written when the file is saved.

The DXT2 and DXT4 formats use premultiplied alpha. This means that the red, green, and blue values stored in the surface are already multiplied by the corresponding alpha value. Direct3D cannot copy from a surface that contains premultiplied alpha to one that contains non-premultiplied alpha, so some DXTex operations (Open as Alpha Channel, conversion to DXT3, and conversion to DXT5) are not possible on DXT2 and DXT4 formats. Supporting textures using these formats is difficult on Direct3D devices that do not support DXTn textures. This is because Direct3D cannot copy them to a traditional ARGB surface either, unless that ARGB surface uses premultiplied alpha as well, which is rare. For this reason, you might find it easier to use DXT3 rather than DXT2, and DXT5 rather than DXT4 when possible."


http://msdn.microsoft.com/archive/default.asp?url=/archive/en-us/directx9_c_Summer_03/directx/graphics/tools/dxtextool.asp

http://3dfolio.com
Graphiboc
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Jun 2006
Location:
Posted: 23rd Jun 2007 11:18 Edited at: 23rd Jun 2007 11:59
so, what i have to do? dds or png?
edit:i added a list of the functions currently available.

Sry for mybad english
Math89
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Jan 2004
Location: UK
Posted: 23rd Jun 2007 13:00
I've got a 1024² texture and png is 1.37MB whereas dds is 682KB. The image quality is almost the same (nobody can see the difference ingame) and the loading time is better with the dds file (beacause of the mipmaps included in the file). That's why I think dds is far better than png.

Well... Good luck for your project .
NeX the Fairly Fast Ferret
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Apr 2005
Location: The Fifth Plane of Oblivion
Posted: 23rd Jun 2007 13:12
PNG will create large files if there's random noise in the image, because it does not lose ANYTHING. Play Halo for PC and witness the blockiness caused by the use of DDS. The loading screens look dire, filled with unsmooted compression artifacts, and even the triangles above friendly players' heads are filled with visible squares. I'll get an image if you don't believe me.


Since the other one was scaring you guys so much...
Graphiboc
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Jun 2006
Location:
Posted: 23rd Jun 2007 14:06 Edited at: 23rd Jun 2007 14:43
hmm so i will see that later....

just a little video to show you very simple ffects made by the editorin less than 1 minute So those effects are very simple and fast to create :
I'm sry but fraps don't record the gui of the program so it could be a little mystic

here is the link :
http://youtube.com/watch?v=lqiyaCBbvSw
THESE EFFECTS USE ONLY NON ANIMATED EFFECTS

Sry for mybad english
Cash Curtis II
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Apr 2005
Location: Corpus Christi Texas
Posted: 23rd Jun 2007 15:40 Edited at: 23rd Jun 2007 15:43
Quote: ", what i have to do? dds or png?"

DDS is a lossless format, I don't know where this information is coming from. It has an alpha channel, just like PNG. I don't see any compression artifacts created by the DDS exporter itself, perhaps they are there because it was a jpg first. An image format that supports an alpha channel can't be lossy, it just wouldn't work correctly with the alpha channel.

Mipmaps are necessary in a 3D game. Mipmaps are created when you load PNGs, just the same as DDS. DDS mipmaps are just pre-generated.

Personally I'd provide DDS and PNG files. Both great formats. In some situations DDS is more useful, but PNG is widely supported.

BMP is a terrible format. Huge files, no alpha channel.


Come see the WIP!
Graphiboc
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Jun 2006
Location:
Posted: 23rd Jun 2007 16:19 Edited at: 23rd Jun 2007 17:45
Quote: "BMP is a terrible format. Huge files, no alpha channel."

edit:i didn't undertsand but now it's ok. (in french "terrible" means "terrible" but it could mean too "very very great" )

Sry for mybad english
Cash Curtis II
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Apr 2005
Location: Corpus Christi Texas
Posted: 23rd Jun 2007 20:41
Sorry for being unclear BMP=bad


Come see the WIP!
Graphiboc
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Jun 2006
Location:
Posted: 23rd Jun 2007 21:08
it's nothing. i had finally understand

Sry for mybad english
NeX the Fairly Fast Ferret
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Apr 2005
Location: The Fifth Plane of Oblivion
Posted: 23rd Jun 2007 23:43
BMP = tres mal.


Since the other one was scaring you guys so much...
Mistrel
Retired Moderator
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Nov 2005
Location:
Posted: 24th Jun 2007 01:19 Edited at: 24th Jun 2007 01:31
Cash Curtis II:

Quote: "Personally I'd provide DDS and PNG files. Both great formats. In some situations DDS is more useful, but PNG is widely supported."


I would have to agree with Cash. If you can provide support for both DDS and PNG you would have a lot of happy people. Otherwise PNG would probably be the best singular format of the two.

NeX the Fairly Fast Ferret:

Quote: "BMP = tres mal."


BMP is a lossless format, yes, but it's also uncompressed. That's a terrible way to store game data.

http://3dfolio.com
Diggsey
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Apr 2006
Location: On this web page.
Posted: 24th Jun 2007 12:14
@Graphiboc
This effect system is amazing!

@Mistrel
Tres mal = Very bad
Lol, even I knew that, and I suck at french

Graphiboc
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Jun 2006
Location:
Posted: 24th Jun 2007 13:00 Edited at: 24th Jun 2007 13:01
@diggsey: thx u very much
In good french, very bad = très mauvais (très mal is generaly for a bad action, not for a bad thing ) But don't care about that, it has no importance there


I'm thinking about also include an advanced sound dll in the pack, so you could also add sounds to your effects in the editor and the export function will do the rest for you

Sry for mybad english
Diggsey
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Apr 2006
Location: On this web page.
Posted: 24th Jun 2007 16:46
What would be very useful would be a command to alter sound length without altering the pitch, and altering the pitch without altering the length

Graphiboc
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Jun 2006
Location:
Posted: 24th Jun 2007 20:21
@Diggsey: i could try to do that but later^^

The editor progresses very well
I think that some people wondered if it was possible to do some lightning effects . So, here is an effect made in 3-4min and i hadn't any idea of what i would do


hope you will like it

Sry for mybad english
Coder#05
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Oct 2005
Location: Denmark
Posted: 24th Jun 2007 23:07
Looks great.

mail back on

easy comes easy goes
tiresius
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Nov 2002
Location: MA USA
Posted: 24th Jun 2007 23:52
This is exactly what I need because doing 3D effects even explosions is a bit beyond me at the moment. I look forward to this getting finished!

What price range are you thinking of?

I'm not a real programmer but I play one with DBPro!
Graphiboc
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Jun 2006
Location:
Posted: 26th Jun 2007 17:07
thanks for all your comments

@tiresius:i don't have a certain price now. See that with freddix because he will sell my product

i progressed a lot (i did exportation, uv animation, and more...)
and i want to show you a little movie that show some effects made in few minutes with AES

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NCWOyLdRsR0

Sry for mybad english

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-11-17 19:36:37
Your offset time is: 2024-11-17 19:36:37