Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

FPS Creator X10 / A problem with 8500 GT

Author
Message
Game Beetle
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 12th May 2007
Location:
Posted: 22nd Sep 2007 02:43
Well i just purchased a new computer i made sure i got the best heres the specs:

Intel Quad 6600
400 gig hard drive
2Gs of RAM
Geforce 8500 GT graphics card.

Now i will be purchasing a better graphics card most likely the 8800 GTX, but my problem is that when "i downloaded the FPSCX10 demo and i tried installing it, but it gave me an error stating i need direct December addition or later to run the software?".

I was rather perplexed and was wondering if anyone else had this problem and if theres a way around it.

Cheers
Nick
glyvin101
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Jan 2005
Location:
Posted: 22nd Sep 2007 03:37
got the latest DX10? and why buy the 8500gt waste of money, then go buy a 8800gtx?
phil17
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Apr 2006
Location:
Posted: 22nd Sep 2007 10:15
He most likely bought the PC pre-built.

Mercury
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Jan 2007
Location:
Posted: 22nd Sep 2007 10:42
Uhhh.. Do you have Vista?
Razorback
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th May 2006
Location: Canada
Posted: 22nd Sep 2007 15:07
Worked fine for me. It's not the videocard.

System Specs:

Asus P5N32-E SLI Plus Motherboard
XFX 8600 GTS core 725 memory 2228
Intel Core 2 Duo 4300 1.8 GHz @ 3.2 GHz
Mushkin XP2-8500 DDR2-1066 2x1GB Extreme Performance Series CAS 5-5-4-12 1/1
Western Digital 500G x 2 s-ata one hd running Vista Ultimate Ed and the other WINXP Pro.
Cooling: Thermaltake Beetle

Presuming that you are using Windows Vista. You need to install the latest dx9c as well or it won't work.


Good Luck,

Razorback
Silvester
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Dec 2005
Location: Netherlands
Posted: 22nd Sep 2007 23:30
Also, the FPSC X10 Demo on the webpage is old, and doesnt show even 40% of the current progress.


FredP
Retired Moderator
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Feb 2006
Location: Indiana
Posted: 23rd Sep 2007 18:01
Quote: "and why buy the 8500gt waste of money, then go buy a 8800gtx?"


Some of us aren't rich...

Please have mercy and use the search function.
SamHH
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Dec 2006
Location: Vermont
Posted: 24th Sep 2007 03:18
get a second one and sli them.


Game Beetle
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 12th May 2007
Location:
Posted: 24th Sep 2007 08:19
Well I'm sure not rich but i know were to get deals "costco", and yes the computer was pre-built, i do not want to go through hell installing vista on my old pc. I do have vista of cource, and i also know that the 8500 is a wast but it came with a pretty good package.

It does list, now looking at the FPSCx10 site closer, that it required vista and an "8800" but I'm not in a rush for FPSCx10 anyways, but its nice to solve the problem for future use and users.

Well anyways Cheers.
Nick
Satchmo
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 29th May 2005
Location:
Posted: 26th Sep 2007 04:09
Don't worry, the final FPSCx10 will run on all x10 compatible cards, and it will still run good enough on an 8500, tgc said they were optimizing the engine a lot.

Your about to get pwned.
Slayer222
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Mar 2007
Location: Wherever I feel like
Posted: 26th Sep 2007 23:02
It's supposed to be unplayable on the 8400 so on the 8500...

EOT
[img][/img]
Check it out here: http://eliteops.piczo.com/?cr=6&rfm=y
Satchmo
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 29th May 2005
Location:
Posted: 27th Sep 2007 01:03
Even if they only get it to be able to handle a few different enemies and entities, gpu instancing will allow for a lot more enemies.

Your about to get pwned.
Otto42
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Sep 2007
Location: Indianapolis, IN, USA
Posted: 29th Sep 2007 16:41
Go and buy a GeForce 8800 with DirectX 10. This will help out A LOT.
Slayer222
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Mar 2007
Location: Wherever I feel like
Posted: 2nd Oct 2007 00:35
yeah an 8800 is really needed to run X10...

EOT
[img][/img]
Check it out here: http://eliteops.piczo.com/?cr=6&rfm=y
Conjured Entertainment
AGK Developer
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 12th Sep 2005
Location: Nirvana
Posted: 3rd Oct 2007 22:33 Edited at: 3rd Oct 2007 23:05
Quote: "Presuming that you are using Windows Vista. You need to install the latest dx9c as well or it won't work."

Yep, I had the same problem.
Your new computer probably has DirectX10 already on it right?
You can hit START then type DXDIAG in the Search box to find DXDIAG, then click the link to run it.
(The DXDIAG is the DirectX Diagnostic tool included with Windows)

The problem is, you need the DirectX9 drivers as well.
Go download the latest X9, and it will work.
DX10 is not fully backwards compatible with DX9 (ask MS why).
It seems they [X9 & X10] can both reside on the same machine though.
My DXDIAG still says that I have X10 even tho I installed the X9 after X10.

Anyway, I installed the latest DirectX9 and it worked with the 8500GT.


Quote: "get a second one and sli them."

Not recommended. Get the 8800 instead.
Wait for the pre-Cristmas sales to get one cheaper.

Quote: "got the latest DX10? and why buy the 8500gt waste of money, then go buy a 8800gtx? "

In my case, I got a pretty sweet deal on a system that had the 8500 already on it.
It was not a custom build, and the 8800 would cost more to buy then than later when FPSC X10 is released.
SO...
System + 8800_on_sale_later < System + 8800_regular_price_now

This way I get the System (Q6600 + Vista) to use while I wait for the other goodies.
For me, buying the 8800 now would be the waste of money.

Don't forget to visit Conjured Entertainment

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2020-04-10 01:04:06
Your offset time is: 2020-04-10 01:04:06