Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

DLL Talk / Pulse Width Modulation

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
I am using DBP to control output from a micro-controller and everything works as it should. The only problem is that I’m using software control to generate pulse width modulation (pwm) signals to control motors. During the actual generation of the pulse the graphics in DBP cannot be updated. This causes a very noticeable glitch in the graphics display. I want to use DBP, because of the graphics capabilities. (I have tried this in VB 2005 also and it does the same thing.)

This is a known problem with software generated pwm. To counter this many people use a coprocessor to handle pwm signals.

I am not a programming guru and it took a lot of persistence to get the program working up to this point. So I would like to try a work around. Here are a couple of ideas.

1. Run two executables at the same time. Kind of like a coprocessor. One would handle the main program/graphics and the other would handle the IO for the micro-controller. I was thinking that the motor speed could be generated in the graphics program with a joystick and then write the value to a file. The micro-controller program could then look up the speed value in the file and set the motors to that speed. This would be in a hidden window, so any graphics glitches would not be seen. I’m just not sure how fast this would respond or if it would even work.