Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

FPS Creator X10 / Gun movement drag

Author
Message
Black Terror
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Mar 2006
Location: Pulse Game Development
Posted: 18th Nov 2007 21:35
I'm not really sure what this feature would be called but I think it would help make X10 look smoother. I was thinking that TGC should add a feature so when you move the gun left to right, it has a delay drag sort of.

It is hard to explain, but I know CS:S has it and I like it.

Any YouTube video of CS:S will show it, just look at the gun and how it doesn't stay in one place on the screen when you turn.

I hope this made sense.


Custom graphics, textures, and segments
Fruitless CRUNK
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Mar 2007
Location: DRINKING MY HOT COFFEE =:-)
Posted: 19th Nov 2007 02:57
Yes I agree, FPSC X10 should have this feature.

If you can't win, cheat. If you can't cheat, quite.
Storm 6000
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Oct 2004
Location:
Posted: 19th Nov 2007 15:02
its just an animation

Doggy
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Dec 2005
Location:
Posted: 19th Nov 2007 18:37
Quote: "its just an animation"

Actually it's not, it's called a "lazy weapon".

Counter-Strike actually does not have this feature, but games like Far Cry did have. Some may find it more realistic that way, but it really doesn't have much impact on the game itself, and is kinda useless.
Black Terror
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Mar 2006
Location: Pulse Game Development
Posted: 19th Nov 2007 21:22
Storm, No it isn't animation.

Doggy, Counter-Strike might not but Counter-Strike: Source does. I think it just helps the looks and doesn't seem that it would take that much effort to code.


Custom graphics, textures, and segments
Storm 6000
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Oct 2004
Location:
Posted: 20th Nov 2007 10:42
Quote: "Storm, No it isn't animation."


Well I can't imagine an engine such as FPSC wasting all the cpu power that would be needed to manually manipulate a weapon model based on what the player is doing.

Quote: "it would take that much effort to code."


Then why don't you put it into the v1 source code and then you can copy it into the new source code when its released, we will all be very grateful

nackidno
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Feb 2007
Location: Där solen aldrig skiner
Posted: 20th Nov 2007 17:06
FPSC X10 uses DB Pro/proX10. Changes of commands have most truly been made.

Footsteps W.I.P
Trala'em Goes Oblivion (TES IV Mod)
Deathead
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Oct 2006
Location:
Posted: 20th Nov 2007 20:33
Quote: " DB Pro/proX10"

Does not. If you mean the coding language then I don't know. If you mean't its being made in DBPro X10 then no.

[href=http://www.freewebs.com/deatheadstudios/]
[/href]
Black Terror
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Mar 2006
Location: Pulse Game Development
Posted: 20th Nov 2007 21:26
Storm:

Except I can't code DB Pro, and this is written in DB Pro X10.

I just think it would be a nice feature to help the game play.


Custom graphics, textures, and segments
PresFox
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Aug 2005
Location:
Posted: 20th Nov 2007 22:47
Deathhead, FPSCX10 is made in Dbpro x10

Microsoft isnt evil, they just make really crappy operating systems -- Linus torvalds
Inspire
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Dec 2006
Location: Rochester, NY
Posted: 20th Nov 2007 23:58
Quote: "Well I can't imagine an engine such as FPSC wasting all the cpu power that would be needed to manually manipulate a weapon model based on what the player is doing."


Do you even know what you're talking about? That would be easy for TGC to implement, a bit time consuming for a decent programmer like me. "Manually manipulate", sheesh. It would only be a little delay in rotating the gun to the camera.

Airslide
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Oct 2004
Location: California
Posted: 21st Nov 2007 05:25
The amount of memory and CPU needed for the variables and actual weapon movement/rotation for the weapon effect, including gun bobbing, would be so ridiculously little that its hardly worth mentioning. Just making the weapon fire would probably take more from the system.


Vote today and play the games!
Inspire
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Dec 2006
Location: Rochester, NY
Posted: 21st Nov 2007 07:03
Word.

That would be a cool little mod, if anyone has time. Urlforce / Plystire.

Endless Fps Team
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Jul 2007
Location: At home...
Posted: 25th Nov 2007 03:58
they should put the counter strike and css gun effort into it..so like u can hold only a gun (any type besides handguns) handguns as the 2nd weapon and the 3rd one as a knife and a weapon drop like when u press h in cs u can drop a weapon and pick up another one...it'll be tight that way, and more realistic like...


http://endlessfpsteam.tripod.com/
Black Terror
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Mar 2006
Location: Pulse Game Development
Posted: 25th Nov 2007 18:01
It's actually <g> by default, but that would be cool anyways.


Custom graphics, textures, and segments
Doggy
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Dec 2005
Location:
Posted: 25th Nov 2007 21:03
...But as always, some people may not want that kind of feature and level of realism into their games, and would find it troublesome if the feature was forced. I would like to have this feature as well, but it's not so important that it would need to be integrated and forced.

I remember seeing some threads about limited gun-inventory things for the original FPSC long time ago. I believe that with little source-tweaking and/or custom files the feature could be added into the FPSCx10 as well.

Most likely it would be like specific ammount of any kinds of weapons at the same time (something like 3-4 weapons, like in FEAR,Far Cry and Crysis).
Inspire
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Dec 2006
Location: Rochester, NY
Posted: 25th Nov 2007 23:36
Well, that's exactly why it should be an option. FPSC has too many constants. They should turn these into user - editable variables.

Endless Fps Team
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Jul 2007
Location: At home...
Posted: 26th Nov 2007 04:38
yeah i know, 3-4 guns are okay, more than that is not realistic and just puts it out of place but im with anything on this...


http://endlessfpsteam.tripod.com/
DJ Professor K
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Dec 2005
Location: Somwhr in front of a brokn kyboard.....
Posted: 26th Nov 2007 17:24
Please, add a "Gun Blob/Gun Inertia" option to the placed weapons (in the same place we choose the quantity of ammo, etc.), in the first patch.

This way, people who don't want to have the blobing function, they don't toggle this option, for those who want it, they cna toggle it form the weapon properties.

Everyone is happy.

FPSC gains a

Everones games look better and more professional (giving it more chances for people to buy the games, and eventually the game makers buy the extended licence )
Inspire
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Dec 2006
Location: Rochester, NY
Posted: 26th Nov 2007 22:45
Quote: "blobing function"


You are a bit confused.

Nickydude
Retired Moderator
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Nov 2006
Location: Look outside...
Posted: 27th Nov 2007 00:23
Is that a technical term? lol.

"he is coming!..." - WIP in 'Showcase'
Inspire
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Dec 2006
Location: Rochester, NY
Posted: 27th Nov 2007 02:45
Haha!

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2020-09-18 09:55:37
Your offset time is: 2020-09-18 09:55:37