Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

2D All the way! / help me start please

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 2nd Dec 2007 09:29
I am completely new with any of this game programming and want to start learning the basics of 2d game programming. i need any help with finding free recources and free programs that will do anything to make simple arcade games such as pong or something simpler.
I have no programming backround, all i know is how to use maya 6.5 at a grade 11-12 level. I'm only 13 and any hints about anything on 2d game creation will be welcome.
Scraggle
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 2nd Dec 2007 11:49 Edited at: 2nd Dec 2007 11:50
The best place to start would be by looking at the top of this board. There are two 2D tutorial threads and a 2D principles thread. Then you could look over at the Newcomers DBpro Corner where you will find the Tutorial list thread.

As for free resources, you could click on my sig image for some free stuff or take a look at the Free Media thread.

BiggAdd
Retired Moderator
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 2nd Dec 2007 20:19 Edited at: 2nd Dec 2007 20:22
If you haven't done so already, you need to get your hands on a programming language.

If you want to create 2D games, but you would want to make 3D games in the future, I suggest you go for Dark Basic Pro:
Link Here

If you want make 2D games, but not 3D games, then I suggest you get PlayBasic:
Link Here

Either would make ideal things to add onto your Christmas Wish list!

When you have a program, you can use these forums, as Scraggle said, to browse through vast amounts of tutorials, help and free media.