Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Author
Message
Fallout
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Sep 2002
Location: Basingstoke, England
Posted: 5th Sep 2002 01:09
I'm curious as to what dbpro does with textures when they are loaded. I think db automatically resized all textures to 256x256, irrespective of their size. Is dbpro the same?

I only ask because I'm making all the media for my RTS game so I have it all ready for when dbpro is released. Each of my .X model solider have 4 or 5 64x64 bitmap files working out at about 12kb each. This way I keep memory usage nice and small. If these textures are resized to 256x256 pixels then I'm looking at 320kb of texture memory per model instead of 20kb.
Machine: P4 2200, 512MB, GeForce4 64MB, Audigy Platinum

There's a junglist inside every coder. http://www.kontact-kru.com for my own personal breakbeat terrorism.
MrTAToad
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Aug 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 5th Sep 2002 12:33
Wouldn't textures be scaled to the size of the object it was being applied to ?

It would make more sense that a texture being scaled up/down to 256x256 and then to whatever the object is.

Yes, I really am THAT good...
las6
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Sep 2002
Location: Finland
Posted: 5th Sep 2002 13:09
why on earth DB would scale All textures to 256x256?
that's for matrix texturing only.

Funny thing then, why most commercial games then use only one texture per object? (usually) instead of many smaller textures...?

and 4 or 5 times 12 is more than 20kb. you know that.

Specs :: [1333Mhz : 256DDR : Geforce 2 Mx 64MB]
Fallout
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Sep 2002
Location: Basingstoke, England
Posted: 5th Sep 2002 15:40
Ahh, so long as texture resizing is only for matrix models, then that's cool. I thought it was for models as well. I would use one texture for the whole 3D model as well, but making do with the software you have and not having one of those texture unwrapper proggies means I've gotta do it bit by bit.

As for the file sizes, yes, I was being incredibly stupid. I opened up windows calculator and did 64x64x5 which would only be 20kb if the textures were 8bit. I'd imagine they're 32bit bitmaps, so that's actually about 80kb per model instead. Meaning a model with 5 256x256 textures would be 1.3MB per model.

Now I'm damn glad DB doesnt resize model textures.

Machine: P4 2200, 512MB, GeForce4 64MB, Audigy Platinum

There's a junglist inside every coder. http://www.kontact-kru.com for my own personal breakbeat terrorism.

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2019-06-16 13:31:58
Your offset time is: 2019-06-16 13:31:58