Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

2D All the way! / How do you make animated sprites?

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 10th Mar 2008 21:10
I'm don't know much about sprites i know you can just use ms paint to make still sprites but how do you make animated ones?

I'm a noob help will be accepted
LBFN
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 11th Mar 2008 00:08
If you have DBP, the following command will work:

This command is not available in DBC. Still, you could fairly easily grab the images off of a bitmap in your code and create your own function/subroutine to play them.

Hope this helps,

LB
White Fang 12
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 11th Mar 2008 03:00
I'm not talking about coding it i mean making file with the sprite animations but it not your fault i should have explained better

LBFN
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 11th Mar 2008 03:32
Perhaps you are talking about .gif files, where 2D animation is done. Though I have not used it for this, my understanding is that the Gimp can produce decent .gif animations. However, I don't think you can load gif files into DB.

To me, you will severely limit yourself in 2D if you do not learn how to code sprite animation.

Best of luck,

LB
White Fang 12
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 11th Mar 2008 14:54
Thanks i'll probably keep to my 3d project i was thinking about maybe making it 2d

LBFN
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 13th Mar 2008 04:09
White Fang 12