Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

FPSC Classic Scripts / [STICKY] FPI EditPad V3.3.95

Author
Message
Flatlander
FPSC Tool Maker
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Jan 2007
Location: The Flatlands
Posted: 22nd Aug 2008 00:31
Be sure and create a subfolder of the FPI EdiPad root folder called: Database

Then move the data base Scripts Archive.mdb into the Database folder.

The past has a lot of memories to hold onto; but, today is chock full of new adventures, and, the future shouts out, "The best is yet to come!" -- TerryC

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Plystire
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Feb 2003
Location: Staring into the digital ether
Posted: 22nd Aug 2008 06:00
Awesome, FL!

Keep at it, we need this kinda thing to attract more people to become scripters.


... I gave up on adding/editting commands, so I'm pretty much here to just root for your software.


The one and only,


Whosoever says, "Don't sweat the small stuff," is obviously not a programmer.
Flatlander
FPSC Tool Maker
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Jan 2007
Location: The Flatlands
Posted: 22nd Aug 2008 13:06
Ply, Thanks! and I'm sorry you can't use the add, edit, delete feature for the FPI commands.

However, you can do it manually. There are instructions on how to do that in one of the posts within this thread.

The past has a lot of memories to hold onto; but, today is chock full of new adventures, and, the future shouts out, "The best is yet to come!" -- TerryC
Plystire
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Feb 2003
Location: Staring into the digital ether
Posted: 22nd Aug 2008 19:52
Gotcha.

I'll see about supporting FPI EditPad next time I get a release out. I'll provide the necessary library files for it with my Mod, that way people can have the proper command definitions when they get it going.

I want people to script more and more... it really does give that special edge to their games, and FPI EditPad, in my eyes, is the best newbie scripting tool we have out!


The one and only,


Whosoever says, "Don't sweat the small stuff," is obviously not a programmer.
Flatlander
FPSC Tool Maker
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Jan 2007
Location: The Flatlands
Posted: 23rd Aug 2008 15:20 Edited at: 23rd Aug 2008 15:29
The "Move/Restore Scripts" feature within the "Manage Script Files" menu is working fine. My other thread concerning this was a false alarm.

Thanks Ply.

So far there has been a report of 4 out 5 VISTA users who are able to use the "Add, edit, delete" commands list feature. 9 out of 9 users of XP have reported it working.

If anyone downloads the installer file v3.0.3 of this program, please also download the newest EXE file so you can replace the older version EXE.

The past has a lot of memories to hold onto; but, today is chock full of new adventures, and, the future shouts out, "The best is yet to come!" -- TerryC
Flatlander
FPSC Tool Maker
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Jan 2007
Location: The Flatlands
Posted: 24th Aug 2008 16:35
Using the Move All feature will currently move everything over to the Archive Library. Therefore you more than likely will have to restore all of the scripts that originally came with FPSC and any of the updated scripts. Therefore, I will be changing the move all to moving everything except the FPSC scripts. Sorry for any inconveniences with this. I myself have run into this and it is a pain having to restore those scripts back right away.

So, especially for now, you may not want to use the Move All feature and just move the scripts that you know are not being used.

The past has a lot of memories to hold onto; but, today is chock full of new adventures, and, the future shouts out, "The best is yet to come!" -- TerryC
Hybrid
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Nov 2007
Location: In the p-block, group 7.
Posted: 24th Aug 2008 19:05
These updates are moving fast.

Flatlander
FPSC Tool Maker
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Jan 2007
Location: The Flatlands
Posted: 24th Aug 2008 20:07 Edited at: 24th Aug 2008 20:13


Yea, I know, in fact I have version 3.0.6 coming up now. I just am not sure when I will be working on the app and so I just want the minor corrections available to everybody as soon as possible.

As I had mentioned before I am the only "real" tester for the program unless one of you guys/gals happens to run across a problem. And I've been using the program a lot more now since I've started working on my game again.

3.0.6 is kind of important if you want to use the Move All scripts to the Archive. I now exclude all of the original scripts that come with FPSC and as of now all of the updated ones as well (the ones that end with a "10").

If you have already used this feature, I'm afraid you will just have to restore the scripts yourself if you need them. A lot of them are necessary as they are default scripts for the stock entities. So, if you find that you are having a problem with an entity (it's not behaving the way you think it should, then you will need to check the default scripts being used and restore those.)

Again, sorry for any inconveniences. I fixed it as soon as I could.

Addendum:

Theres another way to restore those original FPIs which is a little faster and easier. Just send me an email and I'll give you instructions on how to do it. It will require a "utility" program.

The past has a lot of memories to hold onto; but, today is chock full of new adventures, and, the future shouts out, "The best is yet to come!" -- TerryC
Flatlander
FPSC Tool Maker
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Jan 2007
Location: The Flatlands
Posted: 25th Aug 2008 18:36
After the initial backup of the scripts, I am thinking about tweaking the Backup feature to look at the time\date stamps of the script file. If it has changed then I will copy that file along with any other scripts that have been added to the Archive Library once it had been refreshed. If it hasn't been refreshed then any new files will not be copied but changed files will.

The EXE file is now v3.0.7.

The past has a lot of memories to hold onto; but, today is chock full of new adventures, and, the future shouts out, "The best is yet to come!" -- TerryC
Nickydude
Retired Moderator
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Nov 2006
Location: Look outside...
Posted: 25th Aug 2008 18:45
I've changed the title to "FPI EditPad V3.00" for you.

Plystire
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Feb 2003
Location: Staring into the digital ether
Posted: 26th Aug 2008 02:11
I give this program 5/5 cookies!



The one and only,


Those who live in the past, are destined to insanity. Those who live only for the future, will be slaves to their ambitions.
Those who live in the moment... only they, are truly happy.
Flatlander
FPSC Tool Maker
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Jan 2007
Location: The Flatlands
Posted: 27th Aug 2008 17:59 Edited at: 27th Aug 2008 17:59
Nickydude, thanks for updating the title. Definitely appreciate that.

Plystire, thanks for the 5 cookies/stars! Also, I am ready to continue with the game I'm trying to get done where I am using your Mod 1.06. I have two folders for FPSC and also two folders for FPI EditPad. One for FPSC and one for your Mod. I will be adding your commands to the lists (of course programmatically) and will provide the list here for those who have not done so yet. This will not include v1.07 commands, however.

A new version 3.0.9 is available. I thought it would be important to backup the database along with the scripts. Also it will be restored when the scripts are restored.

The past has a lot of memories to hold onto; but, today is chock full of new adventures, and, the future shouts out, "The best is yet to come!" -- TerryC
Gamer X
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Feb 2008
Location: Planet X
Posted: 29th Aug 2008 22:32
Hey FL

is it alright that I put a link on my website for fpi editpad?


Flatlander
FPSC Tool Maker
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Jan 2007
Location: The Flatlands
Posted: 30th Aug 2008 19:17 Edited at: 30th Aug 2008 19:17
@Gamer X, thanks for asking and yes, see email I had sent you.

Everybody,

I have been working on the help documentation. So far the Table of Contents looks like this:

* Overview of FPI Scripting
* Alpha Compositing
* How To Use FPI EditPad
* The Conditions and Actions Lists
* How To Use In-Document Build Script

I have not started work on help for the commands, however, there are still a few that are done.

We are now at version 3.0.12. Some tweaking and boo-boo fixes.

As soon as I am finished with the above listed help contents, I will post the new installer and will also provide a link for just the new help file for those who have already installed the program. No need to re-install.

The past has a lot of memories to hold onto; but, today is chock full of new adventures, and, the future shouts out, "The best is yet to come!" -- TerryC
Flatlander
FPSC Tool Maker
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Jan 2007
Location: The Flatlands
Posted: 2nd Sep 2008 00:27
I have just finished a new version of the help file. Also we are at 3.016 for EditPad. There is now a new install file for this version and it contains the new help file.

Also, the download button on the first post will download a zip file with the new EXE file v3.0.16 and the new help file. See first post to download this zip file.

This will probably be the last upgrade for sometime now; unless someone finds a problem. It will take a while for me to do any help for the rest of the commands. Will try to start on the easier ones.

Have fun scripting.

The past has a lot of memories to hold onto; but, today is chock full of new adventures, and, the future shouts out, "The best is yet to come!" -- TerryC
Lightning Bolt Studios
FPSC Reloaded Backer
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Jan 2006
Location: Otisville, MI
Posted: 6th Sep 2008 07:35
Flatlander@ I’ve been using FPI EditPad now for a couple months now and I really like it, I’m not much of a scripter so it helps me out allot ,especially the check syntax button lol, your program make scripting allot easier for me. Thanks and keep up the great work!
tschwarz
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Feb 2005
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posted: 7th Sep 2008 07:52
Flatlander, thank you for the new update. I'll download it tonight, just wanted to say FPI Edit really helps me a lot.

Best
Terry
TechNo VaLLey
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Dec 2006
Location: Egypt
Posted: 9th Sep 2008 23:03
This Application seems to be very very useful I've just seen the help it is well organised and user friendly. However I can't install the main version to overwrite with the new update.

May anyone help me plz ?

Techno VaLLeY
Flatlander
FPSC Tool Maker
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Jan 2007
Location: The Flatlands
Posted: 10th Sep 2008 00:08
Hi TechNo Valley,

Thanks TechNo and I'm glad you are finding it useful.

If you have already installed the application, you do not have to re-install it to update the EXE file or help file.

Just click on the download button of the original post. This contains a zip file of the updated EXE file and help file.

Just copy these files into the folder where you had installed the application.

The files are very small. If you have XP then you can easily uninstall the old and replace it with the new by going to the control panel and then to the "Add and Remove Programs" section. If you have VISTA, I'm not sure how to do that. The easiest is just replace the two files.

The past has a lot of memories to hold onto; but, today is chock full of new adventures, and, the future shouts out, "The best is yet to come!" -- TerryC
TechNo VaLLey
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Dec 2006
Location: Egypt
Posted: 10th Sep 2008 03:04
Thanks for your reply F l a t l a n d e r

The point that i don't have the original version I tried to download with no success

Techno VaLLeY
Flatlander
FPSC Tool Maker
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Jan 2007
Location: The Flatlands
Posted: 10th Sep 2008 07:26 Edited at: 10th Sep 2008 07:28
Ooops. Sorry. I misunderstood. Not unusual for me.

I tried the link and yup link is broken. Sorry about that but I'm glad you tried otherwise I wouldn't know it wasn't working. I will fix it now. I did some switching around of my folders and forgot about this.

Addendum:

It works now.

The past has a lot of memories to hold onto; but, today is chock full of new adventures, and, the future shouts out, "The best is yet to come!" -- TerryC
TechNo VaLLey
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Dec 2006
Location: Egypt
Posted: 10th Sep 2008 09:57
Yess, it works now

Thanks, will check it and post my comment later .. It seems that this application is very very professional and helpful too

Techno VaLLeY
Dar13
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 12th May 2008
Location: Microsoft VisualStudio 2010 Professional
Posted: 12th Oct 2008 14:28
flatlander where can I download FPI EditPad? the site doesn't have a link or download for the setup.

I know not what WWIII will be fought but I do know that WWIV will be fought with sticks and stones-Albert Einstein
Flatlander
FPSC Tool Maker
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Jan 2007
Location: The Flatlands
Posted: 12th Oct 2008 20:40 Edited at: 13th Oct 2008 03:52
I no longer have a server and no longer have a website and do not plan on having one anytime soon. I will try to use the attached file feature for TGC Forums. They claim there is a max of 50 MB and the setup file is 17.5 MB. The last time I tried this it would not work.

My health has effected my abilities to continue to support this app or to do any other programming. Although, I have been monitoring this thread, I will probably not be active on these forums anymore.

Addendum #1:

First attempt did not work. I will try the Uploader applet.

Addendum #2:

Tried clicking on Uploader applet link but it doesn't seem to work for me.

The past has a lot of memories to hold onto; but, today is chock full of new adventures, and, the future shouts out, "The best is yet to come!" -- TerryC
Plystire
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Feb 2003
Location: Staring into the digital ether
Posted: 12th Oct 2008 23:29
Sorry to hear about that, FL! I really do hope you feel better soon. Someone like you doesn't deserve to be sick.


The one and only,


Those who live in the past, are destined to insanity. Those who live only for the future, will be slaves to their ambitions.
Those who live in the moment... only they, are truly happy.
Gunn3r
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 12th Jun 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posted: 13th Oct 2008 06:46
You can use my server space, if you would like. I'm able to host the file for you.

Gunn3r Games
xplosys
VIP Member
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Jan 2006
Playing: FPSC Multiplayer Games
Posted: 13th Oct 2008 17:55
Quote: "I will probably not be active on these forums anymore."


Very sorry to hear that, FL. Your experience, demeanor and especially your humor will be missed. I hope you feel better soon.

Best.

Dar13
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 12th May 2008
Location: Microsoft VisualStudio 2010 Professional
Posted: 14th Oct 2008 22:37
Sorry to hear that you're sick FL I'll miss your wisdom and support on the forums.

I know not what WWIII will be fought but I do know that WWIV will be fought with sticks and stones-Albert Einstein
Leon Kennedy
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Sep 2008
Location: Neither here nor there
Posted: 15th Oct 2008 04:13
Is this still available? I downloaded and tried to run and got an "ini file missing" error. Can't seem to find the answer in this thread. Little help anyone?
Flatlander
FPSC Tool Maker
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Jan 2007
Location: The Flatlands
Posted: 15th Oct 2008 15:55 Edited at: 16th Oct 2008 01:41
This is Jon, Terry's son-in-law. He asked me to help him.

Leon, The link to the full setup was broken because Terry had disabled his server. However, he has some free commercial space through the purchase of a domain name. The link is now in the first post and also available in the following link.

Download here.

The past has a lot of memories to hold onto; but, today is chock full of new adventures, and, the future shouts out, "The best is yet to come!" -- TerryC
Punk13
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Oct 2007
Location: In EpikLand!
Posted: 20th Nov 2008 08:58
Hey guys Rampage told me this was a good tool to get me started so wish me luck i'm going to finally give this scripting thing a shot.


Xtinction Coming Soon.
Flatlander
FPSC Tool Maker
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Jan 2007
Location: The Flatlands
Posted: 3rd Dec 2008 04:08
I had mentioned in another thread that I am feeling better now but probably will not be 100%. But, well enough to start game development and hopefully work on this app some more.

Hey, Punk my man, hope my tool has been helpful. Will be looking for the surprise you have within the next few days.

There's some teeny tiny bugs that I have run into recently even though nobody has reported them. Hope I will be up to fixing them.

Also, thanks to everyone who have viewed this thread and who have downloaded the application. If you've noticed any annoying issues, should be very few except a couple of small not so annoying ones I have found recently, please either indicate them here or send me an email.

The past has a lot of memories to hold onto; but, today is chock full of new adventures, and, the future shouts out, "The best is yet to come!" -- TerryC
Gamer X
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Feb 2008
Location: Planet X
Posted: 3rd Dec 2008 04:33
Good to hear that you are feeling better.

one bug I keep experiencing is the program crashing after I either enter or edit a command.


Plystire
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Feb 2003
Location: Staring into the digital ether
Posted: 3rd Dec 2008 09:35
Hurray! Flatlander's back! Good to see you posting again!

I have also experienced the issue that Gamer X pointed out. I think I mentioned it a while ago but wasn't sure if it got sorted out or not.


The one and only,


Those who live in the past, are destined to insanity. Those who live only for the future, will be slaves to their ambitions.
Those who live in the moment... only they, are truly happy.
Leon Kennedy
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Sep 2008
Location: Neither here nor there
Posted: 3rd Dec 2008 15:28
I have been using FPI Editpad since Jon posted the link to download, and I haven't had any problems. And this is so much nicer than having to use notepad.
Flatlander
FPSC Tool Maker
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Jan 2007
Location: The Flatlands
Posted: 4th Dec 2008 03:56
Thanks for using it Leon.

Gamer X and Ply, I have difficulty comprehending things and need them to be spelled out. This is something my wife has a hard time with because something that is simple to her is complicated to me. Anyway, if you guys can explain exactly it is you are doing up to the time of the crash, then I might be able to duplicate it. Otherwise I'm not sure where to start.

Ply thanks for the welcome back. It is good to be back as it means I can still type.

The past has a lot of memories to hold onto; but, today is chock full of new adventures, and, the future shouts out, "The best is yet to come!" -- TerryC
Plystire
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Feb 2003
Location: Staring into the digital ether
Posted: 4th Dec 2008 04:18
Go to Edit a command or create a command. As soon as you click OK, it comes up with something about a key already being in use and crashes.


The one and only,


Those who live in the past, are destined to insanity. Those who live only for the future, will be slaves to their ambitions.
Those who live in the moment... only they, are truly happy.
Gamer X
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Feb 2008
Location: Planet X
Posted: 4th Dec 2008 04:33
Quote: "Go to Edit a command or create a command. As soon as you click OK, it comes up with something about a key already being in use and crashes."


Here is a pic of what it pops-up on me before it crashes.


Attachments

Login to view attachments
Flatlander
FPSC Tool Maker
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Jan 2007
Location: The Flatlands
Posted: 5th Dec 2008 03:31
Ply and Gamer X, thanks for the info.

Quote: "Here is a pic of what it pops-up on me before it crashes."


Gamer X, it would be very useful if you could send me (as an attachment) the following two files:

actions.lst
hlpactions.def

They are located in the parent folder of the program.

Either use the email link or use the following email:

terrycox@neb.rr.com

The past has a lot of memories to hold onto; but, today is chock full of new adventures, and, the future shouts out, "The best is yet to come!" -- TerryC
Flatlander
FPSC Tool Maker
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Jan 2007
Location: The Flatlands
Posted: 5th Dec 2008 17:01
I cannot duplicate this. It works fine for me. What I suggest is that when I upload the original file lists containing the commands and definitions is that you download them and replace them. I will also upload another revised exe file that might take care of the problem but I am not sure as I cannot duplicate it.

I believe, your original lists are corrupted because of an older version of the exe file. I had fixed it so that the lists would not get corrupted. I don't know this for certain as I have not received the lists from Gamer X or Ply.

I will let you know when I get the files uploaded and provide a link in my next post.

The past has a lot of memories to hold onto; but, today is chock full of new adventures, and, the future shouts out, "The best is yet to come!" -- TerryC
Plystire
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Feb 2003
Location: Staring into the digital ether
Posted: 5th Dec 2008 22:09
Sorry, FL. I don't have a list anymore.

After my computer upgrade, I never re-downloaded FPI EditPad again.

I'll give the next version a shot and let you know how it goes for me, though.


The one and only,


Those who live in the past, are destined to insanity. Those who live only for the future, will be slaves to their ambitions.
Those who live in the moment... only they, are truly happy.
Flatlander
FPSC Tool Maker
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Jan 2007
Location: The Flatlands
Posted: 6th Dec 2008 01:35
Here is just the exe file in zip format. Sorry I don't have RAR right now. I used to. Link follows (v3.1.0):

http://www.olivetreegames.com/uploads/FPI_EditPad.zip

This does not work by itself. You need to download the setup file and install it, then unzip this into the parent folder of the app.

Gamer X, this might take care of the error, however, no guarantees as I had to guess where the problem was. I simply ignore the error and continue on with running the program. Shouldn't effect the program at all because it is possible that there is a duplicate command within the list, or there is a blank line that causes a null variable. Anyway give it a shot, otherwise you will probably need to replace your lists.

Ply, no problem. Will appreciate you checking it out. However, be sure and also download this exe and replace it.

The past has a lot of memories to hold onto; but, today is chock full of new adventures, and, the future shouts out, "The best is yet to come!" -- TerryC
Plystire
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Feb 2003
Location: Staring into the digital ether
Posted: 6th Dec 2008 02:50
Hmmmm, do you think you'd be able to add a check for duplicate commands if that may be the cause of the error?


I'll install and set it up with the new exe and let you know the results.


The one and only,


Those who live in the past, are destined to insanity. Those who live only for the future, will be slaves to their ambitions.
Those who live in the moment... only they, are truly happy.
Gamer X
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Feb 2008
Location: Planet X
Posted: 6th Dec 2008 02:51
It is working for me right now.

Thanks FL


Plystire
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Feb 2003
Location: Staring into the digital ether
Posted: 6th Dec 2008 02:59 Edited at: 6th Dec 2008 03:00
Works like a charm now, FL!! Great job!

You should update the installer with that exe and put it in the first post.


[EDIT]

You should have the Save box remember the last placed the user saved to, that'll make things much easier.


The one and only,


Those who live in the past, are destined to insanity. Those who live only for the future, will be slaves to their ambitions.
Those who live in the moment... only they, are truly happy.
Flatlander
FPSC Tool Maker
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Jan 2007
Location: The Flatlands
Posted: 7th Dec 2008 12:30
See first page - original post - for all the newest download versions.

The past has a lot of memories to hold onto; but, today is chock full of new adventures, and, the future shouts out, "The best is yet to come!" -- TerryC
xplosys
VIP Member
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Jan 2006
Playing: FPSC Multiplayer Games
Posted: 7th Dec 2008 17:36
Great to see you back here FL. Looking forward to the newest version.

Best.

Plystire
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Feb 2003
Location: Staring into the digital ether
Posted: 7th Dec 2008 21:59
Nice! I'll be using this sig from now on to help spread the word.


The one and only,


Flatlander
FPSC Tool Maker
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Jan 2007
Location: The Flatlands
Posted: 7th Dec 2008 22:27
Wow, thanks Ply. I am honored.

The past has a lot of memories to hold onto; but, today is chock full of new adventures, and, the future shouts out, "The best is yet to come!" -- TerryC
Red Eye
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Oct 2008
Location:
Posted: 21st Dec 2008 15:40
I downloaded FPI EditPad, and it is really amazing....But one suggestion "maybe in an upgrade"...you could add a line counter....

Your signature has been erased by a mod

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2019-08-25 02:29:07
Your offset time is: 2019-08-25 02:29:07