Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Dark Physics & Dark A.I. & Dark Dynamix / DarkAI - Pathfinding for players.

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 7th Feb 2009 02:20
Hey,
I bought DarkAI like 5 days ago, so I am relatively new to it.
I have already looked in help and such for an answer but have not found it.
OK, so about a week ago I started writing an RPG in DarkBASIC Professional. It is going all well, ran into bugs of course, but nothing I couldn't handle.
Anyway, I thought I would purchase DarkAI, as this would make the whole process of point and click RPG development much easier.
So I purchase DarkAI (along with DarkPHYSICS) and start rewriting elements of my game with DarkAI, using the path finding techniques found in the DarkAI Project folder.
Ok heres the question I need, It appears that I cannot have pathfinding for the "player" for the following reason, "AI Add Player 2" which makes the AI for the object with the ID of 2.
And... "AI Set Entity Speed 2,10.0" don't work with each other. The game crashes, but it does work with AI add neutral, friendly, enemy works fine.
And I know you guys must be thinking, "Why don't you just add make the character a friendly, that way the enemies will still attack you and whatnot." the reason being as the game will heavily depend on the AI follow player command. And stuff like that as my game story that I am re-writing from scatch (made it around 2004, now remaking) really depends on teams, and help etc.

Question 2: How can I make the player play the running animation until he reaches where I have clicked, then stop?

Thank you for the time,
Rampage.
P.S. If you wanna ask me further questions, feel free to ask.

DarkBASIC Professional....Mmmmm the possibilities.
HowDo