Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

DarkBASIC Professional Discussion / Creating level for DBpro

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 3rd Nov 2002 16:57
Hi,

I am a newbie in DarkBasicPro. I have some background in using Director 3D by Macromedia. I bought DBpro because I thought it is somewhat simillar to Director 3D.

1. I was wondering does a level in DBpro need to be in BSP format? Can I use .X, .3DS, .MD1, .MD2 format for creating a level?

2. How do I perform collision detection in DBpro. I need to detect collision of player against wall, floors, objects, enemies, etc. in a 3rd person shooter. There are some collision detection routines under the Basic 3D section, e.g. OBJECT COLLISION, etc. Can I use that for this purpose?

3. I had seen some samples came with DBpro demostrating world collision detection, e.g. using BSP COLLISION HIT, etc. Are those collision detection routine only workable for those level import as .BSP format?

4. Does anyone know how can I export .BSP file from MAX?

I know this is a lot of questions. Thanks in advance!
Thomas.
Mike Johnson
TGC Developer
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 3rd Nov 2002 18:24
1. BSP, X and 3DS models are best suited for levels.

2. You can use the collision commands in Basic3D for handling object collisions.

3. The BSP collision commands are meant for Quake 2, Half Life, Quake 3 or DB Pros BSP maps.

4. If you export your level to the X format in Max you can then use the BSP compiler to compile to DB Pros custom BSP format and then load that map into DB Pro. Alternatively you can use editors like Worldcraft to create maps.

Mike
Bulleyes
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 4th Nov 2002 07:30
Thanks for your reply.