Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

3 Dimensional Chat / Level editing.

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 3rd Nov 2002 16:59
Hi,

I am a newbie in DarkBasicPro. I have some background in using Director 3D by Macromedia. I bought DBpro because I thought it is somewhat simillar to Director 3D.

1. I was wondering does a level in DBpro need to be in BSP format? Can I use .X, .3DS, .MD1, .MD2 format for creating a level?

2. How do I perform collision detection in DBpro. I need to detect collision of player against wall, floors, objects, enemies, etc. in a 3rd person shooter. There are some collision detection routines under the Basic 3D section, e.g. OBJECT COLLISION, etc. Can I use that for this purpose?

3. I had seen some samples came with DBpro demostrating world collision detection, e.g. using BSP COLLISION HIT, etc. Are those collision detection routine only workable for those level import as .BSP format?

4. Does anyone know how can I export .BSP file from MAX?

I know this is a lot of questions. Thanks in advance!
Thomas.
Shadow Robert
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 3rd Nov 2002 17:21
firstly... noticed this post over several forums, please - one forum ONLY
no doubt others will be deleted -

now as your new... i'd please like you to sit down for a week, and look over the manual (and old DB online tutorials) and try to learn DB before asking questions of this nature.

however i'll answer them anyways
- no don't need to use BSP, however everything for it is already made for you making it childsplay to impliment!