Hey there, my little part time project right now is a Chess program, and I have a question about a specific rule...
Consider the following hypothetical board situation, Black to move:
Now, I know that a player cannot make any move that puts a King into Check (that includes moving the King itself into Check), but how does this apply to "pinned" pieces? Even though they technically cannot move, do they still pose a threat to the King?
In this example, I'm wondering, would it be a legal move for Black to move to D6 or F6 (the highlighted squares?). Normally I'd say no, due to the White Knight, but because the Knight is pinned in place to protect the White King from Black's Rook, I'm wondering if the Knight still technically has influence on those squares because it's not really allowed to move there.
tl;dr: Can the Black King move there or not?