Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

DarkBASIC Discussion / loading images from files

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Another total newb here stuck trying to figure out how to load a image from files. Please no critasism, just kidding thats what makes it fun anyways here my question. How do you load a image say maybe if you had a png.file in windows picture viewer to a project you have been working on in dbc?
BN2 Productions
Years of Service
User Offline
Put the image into the same folder as the project you are working on (usually C:\Program Files\Dark Basic Software\Dark Basic\myproj\..."

Then use the command

LOAD IMAGE filename,image number

where filename is the name of the file (don't forget the " on each side) and the image number is the number you will use to reference the image in the program

BTW welcome to the forums! If you haven't I would strongly suggest reading TDK's tutorials. They can help you get started on the basics quickly.

Great Quote:
"Time...LINE??? Time isn't made out of lines...it is made out of circles. That is why clocks are round!" -Caboose
That1Smart Guy
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 17th Jun 2009 17:49
and dont forget to include the extension on the filename

so if i wanted and image called "my_image" that was a PNG file

id use

load image "my_image.png",imagenumber

There are only 10 kinds of people in the world, those who understand binary and those who dont
Libervurto
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 17th Jun 2009 17:56
Quote: "Please no critasism,"

It's criticism! God! jk

Welcome to the DBC board!
We seem to have a lot of new members appearing this month