Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

DarkBASIC Professional Discussion / Ingame cinematics ?

Author
Message
Omega Online
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Oct 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 7th Nov 2002 09:17
Hello everyone,

I have a few questions to ask.

The first is, would it be possible to add ingame cinematics using perhaps the 3D engine(BSP) ?

Second question is, if ingame cinematics are possible, couldn't I use scripting type language like python ?
something like
load "intro.pyd" etc

Third and last question is, would I have to make models with all the animation sets, like walk,run,type on console. Then link it using python etc.

So any help or ideas are appreciated.
indi
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Aug 2002
Location: Earth, Brisbane, Australia
Posted: 7th Nov 2002 11:09
Yup thats possible.

Once u have the media in place to see visually.


You would want to make a camera system that plots the
waypoint co ordinates of the camera path and smooth transitions between them with sin and cos

u could use invisibile primitive cubes or store the 3d positions in space via an array which can be saved for ease.

You will want to establish a smooth camera speed also using a float in all movement updates

You want to have a camera pointing location so u can adjust this while in transit

You can use a hidden 3d primitive like a cube or store in an array or a variable.

You can read and write to files to save scripts
There are commands for this.

and using a small amount of code u could have a realtime camera plotter with a click on a button you could save your next waypoint location and another click save the path u made.


Afew people have written some open camera systems, not sure where they are tho.

indi is part of Team Lunarpixel
multimedia logisitics and interactive media
indi
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Aug 2002
Location: Earth, Brisbane, Australia
Posted: 7th Nov 2002 11:11
To answer the last bit

You will need to reference your scripting language
to transpose the filename and object position so DB can know whats for use.

You will also need to transpose the animation keyframes and when to play and stop and so forth.

Its best to make one large animation with the sequences in some logical order and pointing DB to play the intended keyframes to save blinking of reloading.

indi is part of Team Lunarpixel
multimedia logisitics and interactive media
Omega Online
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Oct 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 7th Nov 2002 17:54
Thanks for help guys

Omega Online

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-04-20 08:33:42
Your offset time is: 2024-04-20 08:33:42