Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

DarkBASIC Discussion / Importing limbs and positions from x file

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 27th Jul 2009 19:15 Edited at: 27th Jul 2009 20:36
Hello!

I need some code to import limb numbers and positions in 3D space from an X file. I have no knowledge about X files, and I couldn't find a lot of help on the web.

Chunks Chunks is on board with my waypoint project to program the DLL in C++ to boost the speed a bit (or a lot). But he said it will be very hard for him to load the object, get the limb number and position of each limb and delete the object after storing the data. Does anyone have some code to open the X file, read in the information, get each limb number and position and close the file without having to load anything 3 dimensional?

Help from anyone is greatly appreciated!

TheComet

Make the path of your enemies easier with Waypoint Pro!
Brick Break
User Banned
Posted: 27th Jul 2009 20:22
So you're asking for the DarkBASIC code, while this guy is making the DLL in C++? Oh I get it, you want the data passed onto the DLL! Well, you can export a model from Blender and try to figure out the format. It's all plain text, with brackets and indentation. It should be no problem. However, there are multiple types of X files. Different programs export them in different ways. It would take a bit of skill.

WINNER list:
Latch, Lee Bamber, TDK, TheComet
Thanks for the help!
TheComet
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 27th Jul 2009 20:40 Edited at: 27th Jul 2009 20:40
Quote: "So you're asking for the DarkBASIC code, while this guy is making the DLL in C++?"