Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

DarkBASIC Discussion / I'm a beginner

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
I only know how to make 3D things, but not 2D! Is there any 2D tutorials?

Why change the the world when it changes itself?
Dark Dragon
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 29th Jul 2009 00:56
Look in TDK's Tutorials(THeres a sticky at the top that's entitled "TDK's Programming tuts for newcomers" or somthing.)

Your signature has been erased by a mod because it was too big.CHANGE IT OR DIE!!!!!
Outerblob
Years of Service
User Offline
Alright, Thanks!

That1Smart Guy
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 29th Jul 2009 05:40
Quote: "I only know how to make 3D things"

knock that off!!!!

the order in which you learn to program in DBC is as follows:

TEXT games - teach you the basics of programming without any complex commands
........wait until you truly feel you understand text and the basics
2D games (with maybe a little fooling around with 3d, no real projects but just experiments) - 2d allows MUCH more control than maybe beginners (known as noobs around here) need and more than enough to get you to impressive ames
........wait a few months... years..... until you master 2d
RECONSIDER YOUR CHOICE TO MOVE ON - do 3 times
move on to 3d

BN2 Productions
Years of Service
User Offline
@smartguy:
Just because that is the most common path, doesn't mean it is always the right one.

3D has a lot to teach a beginner.

1) The dream shatterer role. 3D is easy to start but difficult to actually get a GAME going, rather than just a tech demo type thing. In this regard it teaches beginners how hard it is to program, so that they don't say "Hm, I can put a sprite on the screen...MMO TIME!!!"