Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Dark GDK .NET / Coming to DarkGDK and DarkGDK.NET fresh...

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
This is my first attempt at posting a new thread, so forgive me if I mess up the forum organization.

Having been doing games (and non-game apps using a 'game' approach) since the 6502 on the old commodores, I love the new tools available. I took a hiatus from game programming and came back to find some wonderful tools available. I started to dip my toes into XNA when it was first announced and have had some fun!

When I saw the DarkGDK offer for C++ I downloaded that free trial and messed with it a bit. I was using it outside of the XNA framework for some simple demos. It was tough, so I forked over the cash for the DarkGDK.NET version, making the mistake in thinking that paying for something would get me a more complete package. I was kind of disappointed.

I see the wonderful potential here, but level with me; Is this product designed as a 'move on' product for those that have been using DB and DBPro? The help references are great, but it seems as if the GDK products for the MS compilers make a heavy assumption that the developer is coming off a fair amount of DBPro knowledge.

What is the best product pathway to really get into the Game Creator's overall approach? My instinct says to go with DB or DBPro as a "learning tool" first. I appreciate any feedback; I can't really afford to be throwing around USD$50 to USD$100 around until I hit gold.

Dk
APEXnow
Retired Moderator
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 8th Aug 2009 03:22 Edited at: 8th Aug 2009 03:22