Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

DarkBASIC Professional Discussion / DarkBasic Pro and XML

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
I'm completely new to DarkBasic and DB Pro, so this might sound like a silly question. Now... I know that DB and DB pro are geared toward graphics programming, but I heard that Dark Basic is robust enough to program anything, even if it's not really practical... sort of like programing a game in Visual Basic. Visual Basic isn't really a good program to use if you want to make a game, but you can still do it.

So... can anyone tell me if XML possible with DB or DB pro?
The One Ring
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 7th Nov 2002 21:46
Creating and parsing data in XML files is entirely possible. XML is text based, and DBP provides methods of reading and writing text files.

DBP doesn't have built-in support for just simply parsing XML. You'll have to write your own routines to do that, but it can be done.

AMD Athlon 900 768MB DDR
ATI Radeon 64MB DDR All-In-Wonder 7500, ATI XPert 128 16MB
Sound Blaster Audigy Gamer w/FireWire Support
rapscaLLion
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 8th Nov 2002 00:29
ya.. but y would you do that?

Alex Wanuch
aka rapscaLLion
Get the DB Weekly Newsletter at www.dbwn.cjb.net
Danimal Crackers
Years of Service
User Offline
Good question...

I want to use XML in my DarkBasic programs because there are some wonderful XML-based chat bots out there that are so life-like, it's down right spooky: characters that appear to be so intelligent, they might as well be another player in an multiplayer invironment. That opens a lot of possibilities for an RPG type of game.

rapscaLLion
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 8th Nov 2002 15:02