Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Geek Culture / A question about 3D World Studio

Author
Message
Yodaman Jer
User Banned
Posted: 29th Sep 2009 01:33
Hey all,

I've got a question or two on 3D World Studio. I read somewhere that you can set an individual object's properties in 3DWS, so in a sense you can setup enemy spawn points, coins and whatever else your level needs. Is this true, and if so has anybody ever used it like that?

I'm considering either buying it or creating my own game-specific level editor. I'm opting for buying 3DWS though, since I can't find any tutorials on writing your own level editor or any resources. If somebody could help me out with that I'd greatly appreciate it, because I would love to know how to code my own editor. I know how to do file writing/reading, so that aspect is covered.

Thanks to all who respond!

-Yodaman Jer.

Gil Galvanti
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Dec 2004
Location: Texas, United States
Posted: 29th Sep 2009 11:41 Edited at: 29th Sep 2009 11:41
3DWS is just a world-building program. It is only capable of the actual physical construction of the levels/worlds of your game, not the logic/gameplay elements of it. What you heard was probably the Leadwerks Engine, which is made by the same people as (and is usable with) 3D World Studio. So they are two separate programs that you would need to buy. I have 3DWS and recommend it, it's a great (and relatively inexpensive), easy to use world building tool. I haven't played with the Leadwerks Engine though, so I can't give you any advice there.


Agent Dink
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Mar 2004
Location:
Posted: 29th Sep 2009 13:28
Nope, actually you can add properties to your objects in 3d World Studio. You have to build the logic in DBP to read from the files, but yeah, you can add data for spawn points or doors or whatever else you want.

MISoft Studios - Silver-Dawn Gorilda is lost!

Yodaman Jer
User Banned
Posted: 29th Sep 2009 16:40
Quote: "You have to build the logic in DBP to read from the files..."


That's exactly what I heard, I think I read it in someone's WIP thread or something.

Just a few minutes after I wrote this thread, somebody led me to a thread in which they had released the source code of their three three level editors. I took a look at the code and it doesn't look like a completely impossible task for me. I know how to do file reading/writing, it was just the actual 3D elements confusing me, like how to position the objects freely. That's not a problem anymore though!

I'll probably still purchase 3DWS in the future, simply because it has the ability to lightmap levels and a couple of games I'd like to make would require that. Thanks for the responses guys!

-Yodaman Jer.

Gil Galvanti
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Dec 2004
Location: Texas, United States
Posted: 29th Sep 2009 20:10
Quote: "Nope, actually you can add properties to your objects in 3d World Studio. You have to build the logic in DBP to read from the files, but yeah, you can add data for spawn points or doors or whatever else you want."

Oh, really? I never knew that. Sorry for the bad information, I didn't realize you could do this and I've been using it for over 2 years!


Yodaman Jer
User Banned
Posted: 29th Sep 2009 20:22
Not a problem Gil. Glad you learned something new! Maybe you can start implementing that into your games.

-Yodaman Jer.

Freddy 007
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Nov 2004
Location: Denmark
Posted: 30th Sep 2009 01:42
Quote: "Nope, actually you can add properties to your objects in 3d World Studio. You have to build the logic in DBP to read from the files, but yeah, you can add data for spawn points or doors or whatever else you want."


And how would go on about doing that? More specifically, how do you read that sort of information in DBPro? I think a plugin was made for CShop (by Lost in Though IIRC) that was necessary to achieve this kind of thing, but are you saying it's possible without a plugin?

"If making games is a hobby for you then it's not about the tools you use to make the game, but the games you produce with the tools you have." - Jeku
Agent Dink
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Mar 2004
Location:
Posted: 30th Sep 2009 07:18
I don't remember. It was a long time ago when I experimented with it. I just know it is possible, but I don't know / remember how for the life of me.

MISoft Studios - Silver-Dawn Gorilda is lost!

Freddy 007
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Nov 2004
Location: Denmark
Posted: 30th Sep 2009 11:57
And you wouldn't happen to have any source code lying around? I could really see this feature becoming useful in some projects

"If making games is a hobby for you then it's not about the tools you use to make the game, but the games you produce with the tools you have." - Jeku
Yodaman Jer
User Banned
Posted: 30th Sep 2009 19:00
Well the fact that 3DWS has a 'property' window that appears every time you select an object and somewhat states that you can assign variables to it seems like a rather good place to start. I remember it from trying out the demo a year or so a go. I thought 'well, how would I use the property window? What's it for?' Heh, in hindsight I knew exactly what it was all along...now I feel silly for posting this question.

My guess is that the information is saved alongside the level, or that the level is saved into a file that's easily read back with strings and that you have to setup a loading procedure to read everything back. Since that's how most level editors work (including home made ones), it seems likely. However, I could be wrong...that's entirely possible.

-Yodaman Jer.

Agent Dink
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Mar 2004
Location:
Posted: 30th Sep 2009 20:16
Oi... I do have source code, but its mixed in with a whole engine I was working on. I can't find the 3DWS map I was using as a test. As far as I can tell from the entities list, I only got as far as adding one new class to have the engine recognize where doors were. I believe that 3DWS just exports a .txt file with object properties (i.e.: their class names, positions, rotations, and whatever other properties you can assign them.)

You simply read the data you need into DBPro and position objects and such as necessary. My source is largely uncommented, sloppy as it was totally work in progress, using variables and such that now somewhat elude me.... I'm a terrible programmer. Very quick and dirty.

MISoft Studios - Silver-Dawn Gorilda is lost!

Freddy 007
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Nov 2004
Location: Denmark
Posted: 1st Oct 2009 01:19
Quote: " I believe that 3DWS just exports a .txt file with object properties"


I just tried making a quick test where I made some random objects in 3DWS and gave them properties, but when I export I only get the .dbo (or .x or whatever format I export in), and no .txt-file with the properties :/

"If making games is a hobby for you then it's not about the tools you use to make the game, but the games you produce with the tools you have." - Jeku
Agent Dink
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Mar 2004
Location:
Posted: 1st Oct 2009 01:26
I believe you have to go to File > Export > then select point entity list (.txt) from the file type dropdown box on the save dialog.

MISoft Studios - Silver-Dawn Gorilda is lost!

Agent Dink
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Mar 2004
Location:
Posted: 1st Oct 2009 01:30
I just don't remember how to make new classes...

MISoft Studios - Silver-Dawn Gorilda is lost!

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2025-05-25 20:07:07
Your offset time is: 2025-05-25 20:07:07