Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Music & Sound FX / Music portal idea, could use some input

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 7th Oct 2009 01:27
Greetings, fellow musicians.
As you might know, I'm a hobbyist composer. I am however not a lyricist, neither a singer. At times, those aspects of music doesn't matter, at others they do.
Therefore, I figured there might be some webpage allowing interaction between textwriters and composers, and any other kind of musicians, but my searches yielded no relevant results.
I then came to think that perhaps you could make such a site yourself. I've thought the idea through a few times and have come up with a general concept. I've also discussed it with some friends who thought the idea was pretty good, but seing as they themselves aren't that much of musicians, I figured I'd take the idea for display here as well.

So, the general idea is quite simple: to set up a (free) webservice which allows for various subgenres of musicians to interact with each other and request collaboration on work among each other (for example, user A composes a song and records the instrumental parts of it. He then proposes user B, who agrees to write lyrics for the song (take note that user B may in fact be more of a poet than a musician, who enjoys writing lyrics but don't write music himself. I've seen quite a few of these people). User C is then approached to record him-/herself singing user B's lyrics; this recording is then mixed together with the original composition (probably by user A). Possibly, a cello solo might be writ into the song. As it happens, user D is able to do a live recording of him playing the cello, and there we could have some really nice piece of music now.)