Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Program Announcements / Anisotropic Filtering DLL

Author
Message
Grandma
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Dec 2005
Location: Norway, Guiding the New World Order
Posted: 2nd Nov 2009 17:26
Quote: "Grandma, make sure you test without anisotropic filtering with all anisotropic filtering commands commented out. My commands overide DBPro and DBPro cant override it back. So it stays stuck in anisotropic mode until you disable it."

Well the thing is that I see the textures as blurry as they have always been in DBP, even with anisotropic on at 16x. I tested with my game, as well as your demo.

This message was brought to you by Grandma industries.

Making yesterdays games, today!
kaedroho
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Aug 2007
Location: Oxford,UK
Posted: 2nd Nov 2009 17:42
Well you don't have the same problem as Olby then. Olby reported that if you set DBPro to linear rendering, it looked the same as my anisotropic filtering. But that wasn't true because he forgot to switch my DLL off.

I'm not sure why it doesn't work for you. Try it on a lower setting (like 8). The demo is programmed to quit if your GPU doesn't support Anisotropic filtering. If you have changed the code, make sure you put it back into its original state.

You must call KD SetAnisotropy somewhere before your main loop, and KDSetObjectAnisotropicFilteringOn for every object you want to use anisotropic filtering. If it is still going wrong. Send me the compiled executable of the demo. So I can see if its my dll or your PC/DBPro causing the problems.

Grandma
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Dec 2005
Location: Norway, Guiding the New World Order
Posted: 2nd Nov 2009 18:08 Edited at: 2nd Nov 2009 18:15
I have an Nvidia geforce 9800GTX. It should support plenty of anisotropic filtering but I can't notice the difference here.

Here I tested the demo (without alteration to code).
And next, uncommented everything pertaining to the dll. The FPS also confirms no change.

The FPS is even less in the "without" pic.

Edit: I'll go check my nvidia control panel...

This message was brought to you by Grandma industries.

Making yesterdays games, today!

Attachments

Login to view attachments
kaedroho
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Aug 2007
Location: Oxford,UK
Posted: 2nd Nov 2009 18:19
Both of those images have Anisotropic filtering enabled. So it must be set in Nvidia control panel.

Grandma
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Dec 2005
Location: Norway, Guiding the New World Order
Posted: 2nd Nov 2009 18:27
Yup, it was certainly a hickup in the control panel. It seems it was forced on at 8x. Problem fixed then, but I still think it's too blurry at 16x, maybe I'm spoiled.

This message was brought to you by Grandma industries.

Making yesterdays games, today!
tiresius
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Nov 2002
Location: MA USA
Posted: 4th Nov 2009 17:43
My stupid graphics card can't support Anisotrophic even though in the Catalyst settings it has the options for it. DBPro returns false for availability.

Well when I get a new PC next year I'll test this out in my game.

I'm not a real programmer but I play one with DBPro!
Sevenar
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 29th Oct 2009
Location:
Posted: 5th Nov 2009 02:01
Well, I for one think this is a GREAT dll, and there is a very noticeable difference when running the demo on Point, Linear, and Aniso, at least on my ATI Radeon HD4870. Fortunately, my gfx card is beefy enough not to take any sort of real performance hit with aniso x16 on. (4700 fps with it on, 4800 with point or linear--negligible.)
kaedroho
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Aug 2007
Location: Oxford,UK
Posted: 11th Dec 2009 11:55 Edited at: 11th Dec 2009 11:56
YAY!! Just hit the 200 downloads mark!!!

Thanks everyone for downloading!
If you got any good results, then please feel free to post screenshots of your projects here!


Sevenar, Thanks for the good comments

prasoc
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Oct 2008
Location:
Posted: 11th Dec 2009 15:56
Here we go: (the gun looks MUCH better with AF!)

With: http://img189.imageshack.us/img189/1097/with.png

Without: http://img707.imageshack.us/img707/1708/without.png

Tbh, there were better maps to show AF on but they aren't finished

kaedroho
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Aug 2007
Location: Oxford,UK
Posted: 11th Dec 2009 19:39 Edited at: 11th Dec 2009 19:40
They're some great screen shots! Could I actually put those in the first post?

Keep them coming!

prasoc
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Oct 2008
Location:
Posted: 11th Dec 2009 20:06 Edited at: 11th Dec 2009 20:07
Sure, go ahead the dll really does make my game look better

Green Gandalf
VIP Member
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Jan 2005
Playing: Malevolence:Sword of Ahkranox, Skyrim, Civ6.
Posted: 3rd Jan 2010 15:07
Haven't tried the DLL yet but did try Jeff032's suggestion for shader sampler states in one of my advanced terrain shader demos. Very nice. Thanks for pointing me in the right direction.

Only tested that idea on my laptop so far (still huddled in front of the fire because of flu ) and the fps dropped from 3 to 2.

But the scene looked good.
kaedroho
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Aug 2007
Location: Oxford,UK
Posted: 7th Jan 2010 15:19 Edited at: 7th Jan 2010 15:19
Heres a link to the DLL collection forum.

http://devstorm.co.uk/viewforum.php?f=36

The topics which are not announced mean the plugin is in WIP.

Feel free to post any ideas to that forum.

KISTech
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Feb 2008
Location: Aloha, Oregon
Posted: 17th Mar 2010 01:50 Edited at: 17th Mar 2010 01:51
How does this affect the antialiasing from the SET DISPLAY MODE command?

Will they work together, does one override the other?

kaedroho
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Aug 2007
Location: Oxford,UK
Posted: 17th Mar 2010 14:38
Quote: "How does this affect the anti-aliasing from the SET DISPLAY MODE command?

Will they work together, does one override the other?"


Yeah, they will work together. They both are enabled completely differently so none of them should interfere.

gwheycs62egydws
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Aug 2009
Location: The World
Posted: 19th May 2010 06:26
I download and installed the nessary files
but 2 lines in the code did not work

Compilation Failed. Parameter for 'BT BUILDTERRAIN' do not match 'int TerrainID, int ObjectID' at line 30.

line 30 --> BT BuildTerrain TerrainID#

this was not active --> BT SetTerrainTextureMode TerrainID#,1

I changed TerrainID to TerrainID#

can some one please uploaded a newer file

Resourceful@shaw.ca

If a thought is Just a thought whats the main thought ?
gwheycs62egydws
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Aug 2009
Location: The World
Posted: 19th May 2010 06:32
sorry I see the dll and ini are fine
it's Blitz Terrain that is not working like it should

Resourceful@shaw.ca

If a thought is Just a thought whats the main thought ?
Uncle Sam
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Jul 2005
Location: West Coast, USA
Posted: 22nd May 2010 10:01
All I can say, kaedroho, is that you are AWESOME.

Demon000
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Aug 2007
Location:
Posted: 22nd May 2010 18:53
This is a great dll and I really like the result but I have a little problem (check the image) when the camera is close that line isn't there, but once you are at the right distance it shows up. Any ideas?

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Thebeely
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th May 2005
Location: Croatia
Posted: 23rd May 2010 17:56 Edited at: 23rd May 2010 17:56
@Demon000
It's obviously your tiled texture which has that grass thingy in bottom-right corner.
Demon000
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Aug 2007
Location:
Posted: 23rd May 2010 18:29
Quote: "It's obviously your tiled texture which has that grass thingy in bottom-right corner. "


I know that, but why does it show on the other side of the texture when I use the dll? (when you look at it up close with or without the dll it isn't there)
Sixty Squares
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Jun 2006
Location: Somewhere in the world
Posted: 20th Jun 2010 20:51
Wow, thanks for this kaedroho. I'm using it in my game now and it's giving it a nice crisp feel

Diggsey
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Apr 2006
Location: On this web page.
Posted: 21st Jun 2010 01:42
@Demon000
Textures are set to wrap around after the UV goes past 1.0 (so 1.0 is equivalent to 0.0, unless the texture mode is set to clamp). I don't know if it's possible to change the texture clamp mode from inside DBPro, so I suggest you change the UV coordinates to be 0.99 at the furthest point instead of 1.0. That will make sure that it doesn't wrap around.

The reason it is only visible with this plugin is that normally it would be too thin to show up, but anisotropic filtering enhances texture rendering quality so that patterns don't get blurry at an angle.

Thebeely
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th May 2005
Location: Croatia
Posted: 10th Aug 2010 21:10
Download is broken?
kaedroho
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Aug 2007
Location: Oxford,UK
Posted: 10th Aug 2010 23:32
Yeah, I just noticed that. The forum I used to post things on has gone down. I havent got it on this PC.

If anyone has a copy, could you upload it to this thread?

Hockeykid
DBPro Tool Maker
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Sep 2007
Location:
Posted: 11th Aug 2010 02:19
Attached is the "AnisotropicFiltering.rar".

Attachments

Login to view attachments
kaedroho
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Aug 2007
Location: Oxford,UK
Posted: 11th Aug 2010 02:32
Thebeely
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th May 2005
Location: Croatia
Posted: 11th Aug 2010 10:52
Thanks!
Clonkex
Forum Vice President
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th May 2010
Location: Northern Tablelands, NSW, Australia
Posted: 18th Oct 2010 04:12
When I looked at the first post I could not for the life of me see the difference between with and without. After looking at roka's 4 with/withouts I discovered it makes it so you don't get pixel swimming when looking along a plane but you also don't have to have it all blurred. It's really good, I might use this!

Clonkex

Making games is easy.....finishing them is a different matter.

Intel Core 2 Duo 2.8Ghz, Nvidia GeForce 9400 GT 512mb, 1gb ram.
vortech
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Mar 2010
Location: Finland
Posted: 23rd Oct 2010 20:07
This would be perfect for fpsc since it messes textures from far away.


Check for pure horror.
And Now with real demo.
Clonkex
Forum Vice President
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th May 2010
Location: Northern Tablelands, NSW, Australia
Posted: 25th Oct 2010 04:58
Yeah, exactly!

Clonkex

Making games is easy.....finishing them is a different matter.

Intel Core 2 Duo 2.8Ghz, Nvidia GeForce 9400 GT 512mb, 1gb ram.
kaedroho
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Aug 2007
Location: Oxford,UK
Posted: 26th Oct 2010 15:56
I think anisotropic filtering will really improve FPSC. I used it before and the texture filtering was one of the worst things about FPSC. It would be nice to see a mod with Anisotropic Filtering support.

Clonkex
Forum Vice President
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th May 2010
Location: Northern Tablelands, NSW, Australia
Posted: 27th Oct 2010 06:23
Yeah.....hey, did you read my post a while ago somewhere? You know, the one with the text and all that?

Lol, I mean I posted somewhere with some BT bugs. Well, really only one, but I don't know if you read it or not. Anyway the bug is this:

SPRITES BREAK BLITZ TERRAIN! Or at least, they do in my version. When you make a sprite it makes BT have all sorts of culling problems. Do you know why and can you fix this?

Clonkex

Making games is easy.....finishing them is a different matter.

Intel Core 2 Duo 2.8Ghz, Nvidia GeForce 9400 GT 512mb, 1gb ram.
kaedroho
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Aug 2007
Location: Oxford,UK
Posted: 28th Oct 2010 23:56
I think AdvancedSPRITES fixes the problem. And its a DBPro issue but I have added a lot of the DBPro rendering engine into the latest version so it may work now. If you can, please upload a demo and I will tell you if it works with the new version (I don't have any experience with the sprites plugin).

Ermes
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th May 2003
Location: ITALIA
Posted: 25th Dec 2010 02:36
very nice dll. i will use it from now in all my games, ESF will be the first.



[img][/img]
kaedroho
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Aug 2007
Location: Oxford,UK
Posted: 26th Dec 2010 00:28
Ermes
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th May 2003
Location: ITALIA
Posted: 29th Dec 2010 19:54 Edited at: 29th Dec 2010 21:30
ehm, can't switch your filter from on to off and vice-versa during the game, how i'm supposed to do that???

Thanks!!!!

edit: sorry, i wasn't watching at your demo. forget this post.



[img][/img]
kaedroho
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Aug 2007
Location: Oxford,UK
Posted: 5th Feb 2011 18:36
New update released!

- Fixed crash when object doesnt exist
- Added KD GetObjectFilter
- Added KD EnableObjectAnisotropic and KD DisableObjectAnisotropic
- Updated terrain demo to use BlitzTerrain 2

Download:

ZIP
RAR


Source code:

ZIP
RAR

Bago
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Jan 2008
Location:
Posted: 24th May 2011 17:05
Since this plugin is required for the demos of Blitzwerks Terrain how do I install this plugin as I can't seem to find anywhere that explains where the files go.

I did try placing the files in areas inside Darkbasic Pro where it looked like it belonged but with no sucess in getting it to work.
Brendy boy
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Jul 2005
Location: Croatia
Posted: 24th May 2011 20:41
put it inside plugins-user folder which is inside compiler folder

gwheycs62egydws
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Aug 2009
Location: The World
Posted: 24th May 2011 23:22
the dll go's into the following

C:\Program Files\The Game Creators\Dark Basic Professional\Compiler\plugins-user

the ini file go's into

C:\Program Files\The Game Creators\Dark Basic Professional\Editor\Keywords

If a thought is Just a thought ~ so whats the main thought ?
Bago
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Jan 2008
Location:
Posted: 25th May 2011 04:14
Thanks you, It's working now.
Qqite
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Feb 2010
Location: Florida, U.S.
Posted: 7th Jun 2011 06:12
This works like a charm! I really like how I can choose which object to render.

This also is a very cheap plugin if kept at 8scale. Im trying to get the best quality I can on these low spec computers (adding low and high quality) and this barely affects frame rate, if any at all!

Once again, thanks!

Ventures of the worlds around us are limited only by our imagination.
gwheycs62egydws
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Aug 2009
Location: The World
Posted: 7th Jun 2011 06:50
Yes it is a good addition to the DBP Family ;o)

it seams the "BlitzTerrain" web site is no more

I just hope the "BlitzTerrain" keeps working with
any new up dates of DBP Program

If a thought is Just a thought ~ so whats the main thought ?

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2020-09-18 09:38:34
Your offset time is: 2020-09-18 09:38:34