Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Program Announcements / Map Scape

Author
Message
EVOLVED
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Feb 2003
Location: unknown
Posted: 7th Jan 2010 11:12 Edited at: 1st Nov 2012 06:39
Hello,

I dont usually post on this forum but I just finished adding some features to my editor map scape.

you can download it form here (Last update 20/2/2010):
http://www.evolved-software.com/mapscape/mapscape
KISTech
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Feb 2008
Location: Aloha, Oregon
Posted: 7th Jan 2010 17:43
Great looking stuff, as always.

Red Eye
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Oct 2008
Location:
Posted: 7th Jan 2010 19:24 Edited at: 7th Jan 2010 19:30
Using it for my game! Awesome it is!

EDIT: What about adding a dynamic object onoff option while creating level, and while exporting level it would export static as normal dbo and dynamic as a txt file with coords and actions what they do if it is enemy or if it is a player.


EVOLVED
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Feb 2003
Location: unknown
Posted: 11th Jan 2010 19:47
Just made an update that fixes most bugs
Red Eye
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Oct 2008
Location:
Posted: 11th Jan 2010 20:42
Awesome!


Cliff Mellangard 3DEGS
Developer
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Feb 2006
Location: Sweden
Posted: 11th Jan 2010 21:05
Quote: "my editor map scape."

Really nice piece of software
JLMoondog
Moderator
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Jan 2009
Location: Paradox
Posted: 12th Jan 2010 01:23 Edited at: 12th Jan 2010 01:25
Ah kul, I've actually been using this for a while, glad to see you are still updating it. Downloading now. I actually use your water shader for many projects as they give a really nice result. I hope to see more.

Edit: Ah, and I like the new look of the website.


Alfa x
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Jul 2006
Location: Colombia
Posted: 12th Jan 2010 15:55
Thanks for this.

Cheers.
Lemonade
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Dec 2008
Location:
Posted: 13th Jan 2010 21:09 Edited at: 13th Jan 2010 21:10
Sweet, thanks! BTW, I would love to know how to import both the model, textures, and light maps into DBP!

EDIT:

Oh NVM, I see you already uploaded samples!
PAGAN_old
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Jan 2006
Location: Capital of the Evil Empire
Posted: 16th Jan 2010 16:07
can anyone tell me what format can this program export,i cant seem to find that info anywhere

dont hate people who rip you off,cheat and get away with it, learn from them
Olby
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Aug 2003
Location:
Posted: 17th Jan 2010 20:10
DBO and DirectX model as well as ENT file with all the entities in the map.

ACER Aspire 5920G: Core2Duo 2.2GHZ, 2GB, GeForce 8600M GT 1280MB, Windows Vista Ultimate SP1, DBPro 7.4 + PureGDK
PAGAN_old
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Jan 2006
Location: Capital of the Evil Empire
Posted: 18th Jan 2010 10:48
well i dwnloaded it to check it out and its true that it exports in .dbo but when i want to make a map out of already textured models it textures over them with its own textures, how do i make it not do that?

dont hate people who rip you off,cheat and get away with it, learn from them
thenerd
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Mar 2009
Location: Boston, USA
Posted: 22nd Jan 2010 02:27
yes! I didn't think you were even around here anymore, I really have been wanting to use mapscape for my game, but there are a few features that you left out.

like Red Eye said, would it be possible to add a dynamic object tag that then exported it to a text file? that's like the only thing missing that I would need for my game.

you rule!

gbark
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Oct 2005
Location: US - Virginia
Posted: 22nd Jan 2010 04:38
Awesome work, I've played around with this and it's amazingly useful. Thanks.

As others have suggested, I would also like to see an "Export Entities to Text File" option for each map. Unless that option is already included, but I didn't see it anywhere.
EVOLVED
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Feb 2003
Location: unknown
Posted: 27th Jan 2010 01:50
Thanks for your comments so far! just to let you know I made another update so go get off the site. So im now looking at adding in zoning and should be quite easy to add.

Also about adding a dynamic object flag, how will this work? I mean what would you use it for. Iv been asked this a few time now and just dont see what it can be used for, if its for thing like opening doors/physics etc you can use the entity system.

@gbark
if you go to file>export>.ent then you can just rename the file to .txt.
thenerd
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Mar 2009
Location: Boston, USA
Posted: 27th Jan 2010 02:15 Edited at: 27th Jan 2010 02:18
would zoning mean basically hiding parts of the level that arent visible? if so, that would be cool!

I dont really get the entity system. could you explain how it works? I know the entity types are in text files, but that's basically all...

[edit] oh, i get it now from what you posted in your forums.

also, you should make it so you can place entities in the 3d view, sort of like in Hammer (valve's editor).

gbark
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Oct 2005
Location: US - Virginia
Posted: 27th Jan 2010 03:17
Cheers Evolved, didn't notice that before. As I said, this is great work and it's awesome that you're willing to release it for free.
thenerd
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Mar 2009
Location: Boston, USA
Posted: 27th Jan 2010 20:41
ok, now a few questions:
first, when I make an entity, and put the texture in the entities folder, the texture doesn't work and it just has the default.
second, could you make it so that when dbo is exported, it automatically exports the ent file too, maybe have that as an option in the settings? it's really a hassle to export the entities seperate.
also, like I said before, having it be possible to place entities in the 3d view would really help.
also, what I mean by "dynamic enitities" is that although the entity system you have for point entities works, it can't rotate/scale, and isnt designed for 3d entities. what the dynamic flag would do would let people use mapscape to rotate, scale and move the object to it's proper place in the level, but with the flag on it would:
-not be lightmapped
-not be exported into dbo
-exported into the .ent file with the rotation, scale, and location data, as well as texture and model.
that way, we have the benefit of the editor for positioning (example would be a door), but in real-time we could have it seperate from the rest of the level and able to be used for physics, animation, all that stuff.

marlou
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Jan 2009
Location:
Posted: 4th Feb 2010 07:52
I added the tree object to my map in mapscape but it doesnt show any transparency.

How to add transparency to the tree?
The planes for the leaves have no transparency.

When a person has nothing but a dream, can he dare to dream.
thenerd
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Mar 2009
Location: Boston, USA
Posted: 4th Feb 2010 21:13
in one of the 2d views, right-click and then check off "Transparency". then just hit ok.

enderleit
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th May 2007
Location: Denmark
Posted: 7th Feb 2010 16:58
"Zone" entities is the one thing that is always missing in both this and 3DWS...

Basically you should be able to place a invisible Box and scale it to any size you want... and then ingame when the player enters this invisible box a trigger is activated that opens a door or spawns something...

Without functionality like this I'm afraid all you can make is static maps...

Hope you understand what I mean...

Other than that... great work so far

- enderleit
[href]www.eleit.dk[/href]
thenerd
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Mar 2009
Location: Boston, USA
Posted: 7th Feb 2010 18:48 Edited at: 7th Feb 2010 18:49
actually, that type of thing would sort of take care of itself if there were a dynamic object flag. make a box, export it as dynamic (seperate object), and then hide it and detect if the camera is in it. There is such a thing as too much functionality, we still want to do some programming...
the only thing that really we would want for something like that would be the ease of the editor for positioning it. besides that, its easy to code it yourself.

defiler
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Apr 2009
Location: Canada
Posted: 9th Feb 2010 07:36
wow, this will surely come in handy for my commercial game, im guessing im able to use it for commercial games?


thank you for making a such handy tool, adding your name to credits.

Limitless Box studios current project:
NIGHTSTORM
darkvee
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Nov 2005
Location:
Posted: 9th Feb 2010 17:46 Edited at: 16th Feb 2010 06:39
Hi EVOLVED looks great man
What's cool about this is he can run shaders in real-time while
he edits stuff in the editor.

darkvee
Aubergine
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Jan 2010
Location:
Posted: 12th Feb 2010 14:02
Is there any possibility in Mapscape to apply 2-3 or more diferent textures on 1 face? In order to use your shaders straight on the dbo object and setting it to use model textures?

This must be very easy as dbo already supports this.
thenerd
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Mar 2009
Location: Boston, USA
Posted: 15th Feb 2010 01:36
.

I was reading evolved forums, he posted that he wouldn't be able to work on updates for this for about a month, but then he will keep working on it. oh well, I really wanted to be able to have dynamic entities for my game, but I can wait a month or two.

Zaibatsu
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st May 2006
Location: Lost in Thought
Posted: 16th Feb 2010 05:00
Quote: "Is there any possibility in Mapscape to apply 2-3 or more diferent textures on 1 face? In order to use your shaders straight on the dbo object and setting it to use model textures?
"


I think that would be a very useful feature.

jeffhuys
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th May 2006
Location: No cheesy line here.
Posted: 20th Feb 2010 18:15
Thank you, Evolved!

You're the 'th to view this signature!
Red Eye
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Oct 2008
Location:
Posted: 20th Feb 2010 21:51
Map Scape has stopped working!

Windows 7

... any ideas?


TheComet
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Oct 2007
Location: I`m under ur bridge eating ur goatz.
Posted: 21st Feb 2010 17:03
Can this program create lightmaps, or is it real-time lighting?

Awesome job BTW, downloading now!

TheComet

Red Eye
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Oct 2008
Location:
Posted: 22nd Feb 2010 11:50
It makes lightmaps.

Problem solved btw.


RaverGames
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Feb 2010
Location:
Posted: 24th Feb 2010 21:47
I Love this its realy usefull

RaverGames
programing dude
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Jul 2008
Location:
Posted: 27th Feb 2010 02:52
GREAT tool. Its better than Cartography Shop and is a lot more flexible!!! (it can import into other modelers without any problem).

Im definitly using this for my game
Hockeykid
DBPro Tool Maker
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Sep 2007
Location:
Posted: 1st Mar 2010 03:59
Very nice job

Maybe add an option to apply shaders (if its not already in) and when saving to the .ent you can include the shader data. Just a thought/ idea.

Once again nice job !

Thanks

Red Eye
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Oct 2008
Location:
Posted: 21st May 2010 11:40 Edited at: 21st May 2010 11:40
Hey, I am making engine in DarkGDK C++ for my game, and i would like to know if the part when it loads up the ent file, if there is any way to write it different? Any settings?

Like...

Instead of:

PointLight
{
bla
}

PointLight=1 as ID
bla
bla
and then next ID.

That's is the way I made the engine to read. I thought maybe there is a way too write it like that.

Thanks,

Red Eye

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2019-08-20 03:45:06
Your offset time is: 2019-08-20 03:45:06