Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Program Announcements / [DBPro] Installer for your game!

Author
Message
baxslash
Valued Member
Bronze Codemaster
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Dec 2006
Location: Duffield
Posted: 26th Jan 2010 18:14 Edited at: 27th Jan 2010 14:50
This is an installer I've made for my latest WIP but I have made it so it can work for any project.

Just edit the License file and stick it and the Setup.exe into the game folder before you compress it all.

Limitations:
You have to include the License.txt file (and edit it using your own game/company info). This is how the installer knows what your game is called!! You just need to edit the parts where it says "<AppName>" and "<CompanyName>". The AppName on the second line is crucial. Other than that you may need to adjust the spaces between paragraphs manually to get it looking right in the installer too!

You cannot store files in more than one level of folders in the directory it runs from
(IE. GameFolder
->Images
->Sounds is OK

GameFolder
->Media
-->Images
-->Sounds will not work!)

Anyway, I made it for me but if there are any simple suggestions/additions I'll be happy to make some changes to help out if you think it might be useful!



EDIT: I've just made a slight improvement. Now it runs windowless so you can't resize it...

Attachments

Login to view attachments
baxslash
Valued Member
Bronze Codemaster
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Dec 2006
Location: Duffield
Posted: 26th Jan 2010 18:24 Edited at: 27th Jan 2010 14:51
Image 1

Attachments

Login to view attachments
baxslash
Valued Member
Bronze Codemaster
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Dec 2006
Location: Duffield
Posted: 26th Jan 2010 18:25 Edited at: 27th Jan 2010 14:52
Image 2

Edited: Windowless!

Attachments

Login to view attachments
baxslash
Valued Member
Bronze Codemaster
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Dec 2006
Location: Duffield
Posted: 26th Jan 2010 18:25 Edited at: 27th Jan 2010 14:52
Image 3

Edited: Windowless!

Attachments

Login to view attachments
baxslash
Valued Member
Bronze Codemaster
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Dec 2006
Location: Duffield
Posted: 26th Jan 2010 18:25 Edited at: 27th Jan 2010 14:52
Image 4

Edited: Windowless!

Attachments

Login to view attachments
baxslash
Valued Member
Bronze Codemaster
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Dec 2006
Location: Duffield
Posted: 26th Jan 2010 18:25 Edited at: 27th Jan 2010 14:52
Image 5

Edited: Windowless!

Attachments

Login to view attachments
baxslash
Valued Member
Bronze Codemaster
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Dec 2006
Location: Duffield
Posted: 26th Jan 2010 18:26 Edited at: 27th Jan 2010 14:53
Image 6

Edited: Windowless!

Attachments

Login to view attachments
The Slayer
Forum Vice President
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Nov 2009
Playing: (Hide and) Seek and Destroy on my guitar!
Posted: 26th Jan 2010 18:50
Nice work, baxslash!

Which language did you use to make it?

Also, is it free for commercial use?

Cheers

Slayer rules!!! Yeaaah, man!
Zeus
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Jul 2006
Location: Atop Mount Olympus
Posted: 26th Jan 2010 19:08
Great work!

baxslash
Valued Member
Bronze Codemaster
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Dec 2006
Location: Duffield
Posted: 26th Jan 2010 21:58
Quote: "Which language did you use to make it?"

Dark Basic Professional and BlueGUI. It's not very complicated and only took 2 days to make.

Quote: "Also, is it free for commercial use?"

Yes, enjoy!

Quote: "Great work!"

Thanks!

baxslash
Valued Member
Bronze Codemaster
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Dec 2006
Location: Duffield
Posted: 27th Jan 2010 16:57
I've just made this windowless so that it can't be resized (main download at top).

Here is a screeny of the version I'll be using for Odd Blox!


I might make more features editable for this general release if anyone has any ideas (eg. Background images)?

charger bandit
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Nov 2009
Location: Slovenia
Posted: 27th Jan 2010 18:23 Edited at: 27th Jan 2010 18:23
Does it compress anything? It would be cool to select features you want to install and installer language.

A.K.A djmaster
baxslash
Valued Member
Bronze Codemaster
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Dec 2006
Location: Duffield
Posted: 27th Jan 2010 21:04
Quote: "Does it compress anything?"

No, but if you mean does it de-compress anything I'm still working on it...

Quote: "It would be cool to select features you want to install and installer language."

At the moment all you can select is the install location and whether or not you want a desktop shortcut. Language support would make things a LOT more complicated (trust me I program for a multi-national company!), but I'm willing to share source code with anyone willing to help to improve this!

Azunaki
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Feb 2009
Location:
Posted: 2nd Feb 2010 16:19
is there any specific problems you ran into with the level of folders that would make you limit it?

[url]http://myportfolio.x10hosting.com/[url]
visit my site.(still in progress)
baxslash
Valued Member
Bronze Codemaster
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Dec 2006
Location: Duffield
Posted: 2nd Feb 2010 16:33
I just tend to use one level and I have a lot of other stuff to finish...

Here is the code if you want to add to it:



You also need to include the Blue GUI constants file...

Zeus
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Jul 2006
Location: Atop Mount Olympus
Posted: 2nd Feb 2010 17:15
Beautiful code, I wish I could get in the habit of indenting.

baxslash
Valued Member
Bronze Codemaster
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Dec 2006
Location: Duffield
Posted: 2nd Feb 2010 17:23
[blush]
Nobody ever said my code was beautiful before...
[/blush]



Zeus
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Jul 2006
Location: Atop Mount Olympus
Posted: 3rd Feb 2010 23:56
I just did.

Well anyway, I may consider using this for Blox 2.0 when I release it. With your okay of course, but since you said it was for commercial use, I guess I don't have to have your permission so...

baxslash
Valued Member
Bronze Codemaster
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Dec 2006
Location: Duffield
Posted: 4th Feb 2010 00:03
Use it however you want! Glad to be of use...



Zeus
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Jul 2006
Location: Atop Mount Olympus
Posted: 4th Feb 2010 03:17
Ah man, I am sorry I can't due to the sounds thing and the fact I can't use other subfolders. Dang it, maybe next project...

I will continue to support this though.

SoftMotion3D
AGK Developer
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Aug 2005
Location: Calgary,Alberta
Posted: 4th Feb 2010 05:11
windowless? why not use this command "set window 4,1,1"

if i got that correct it makes it so there is no maximize button...however it doesnt stop people from grabbing an edge and stretching it out....lol!

Development & Editting
baxslash
Valued Member
Bronze Codemaster
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Dec 2006
Location: Duffield
Posted: 4th Feb 2010 09:42
Quote: "Ah man, I am sorry I can't due to the sounds thing "

...what sounds thing?

Quote: "I can't use other subfolders"

...if you want to improve my code but don't have BlueGUI then post it here and I'll compile you a personalised version. If you give me images too you can customise the look of it...

Quote: "however it doesnt stop people from grabbing an edge and stretching it out"

...exactly, it looks REALLY bad when you stretch it out.

The way I see it you can add buttons in for minimise and close anyway, but minimise is hardly important and you can use the cancel button at any time...

It's a shame there aren't more options for "set window" like maybe an additional flag just for window stretching.

Zeus
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Jul 2006
Location: Atop Mount Olympus
Posted: 4th Feb 2010 21:48
Nevermind about the sound folder, I misinterpreted something. I will try to customize it for me, I have BlueGUI.

Thanks for the offer.

Caleb1994
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Oct 2008
Location: The Internet you idiot!
Posted: 5th Feb 2010 16:33
Wow! Amazing! I thought it was the windows installer when i saw it!

New Site! Check it out \/
baxslash
Valued Member
Bronze Codemaster
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Dec 2006
Location: Duffield
Posted: 5th Feb 2010 16:55
Well it's a bit of a cheat really but it could be useful to give projects more of a genuine 'feel'. With a little more work I don't see why it couldn't do everything else too including compression.

Unfortunately compression doesn't really excite me enough at this point in time to look too deeply into it...

Mew151
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Jun 2008
Location: Glitch city
Posted: 22nd Feb 2010 03:01
You can use SET WINDOW LAYOUT 3, 1, 1 to make it non-resizeable.

baxslash
Valued Member
Bronze Codemaster
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Dec 2006
Location: Duffield
Posted: 22nd Feb 2010 11:29
Yes but you loose the minimise button I think...

TheComet
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Oct 2007
Location: I`m under ur bridge eating ur goatz.
Posted: 22nd Feb 2010 15:41 Edited at: 22nd Feb 2010 15:43


Enjoy

All credits for the above code go to Latch

TheComet

baxslash
Valued Member
Bronze Codemaster
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Dec 2006
Location: Duffield
Posted: 22nd Feb 2010 21:10
That's lovely! Thanks!

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2019-08-19 15:45:46
Your offset time is: 2019-08-19 15:45:46