Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

DarkBASIC Discussion / Help with bitmaps

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
So, I'm new to all this, and I've only made two programs, first a crappy paint program that used arrow keys and was very slow, second, is what I'm still working on now. It works just fine, but I want to add a background image to the game, so it's there behind everything drawn on the screen.

Video

In the main part where I'm shooting the circles, how would I go about adding a background image there? I tried already, but it flashes nonstop and goes very slow.

Thanks in Advance.

-Teh Nub-
Caleb1994
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 18th Feb 2010 06:54
first load your background image. then before drawing all the other things on the screen just past your image to the screen. then when everything else is drawn it will be above that.

New Site! Check it out \/
Kronos 001
Years of Service
User Offline
ah sorry, I'm a nub. Can you show me the code to do that? right know I'm just doing:

load bitmap "background.bmp"

which works fine for something with no movement involved. What kind of code would I use for what you're saying? I can't find anything about loading images or pasting images, but I DO remember seeing the command somewhere. Just can't find it again to help me.

-Teh Nub-
TDK
Retired Moderator
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 18th Feb 2010 23:08
You aren't really supplying us with enough information to help you. What we tell you to do to fix it depends a lot on what your program is actually doing at the moment.

What is your program layout?

Do you have a single main Do...Loop with lots of Gosubs inside it?

What type of Syncing are you doing?

Are you using CLS?

That's for starters...