Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Work in Progress / Dark Basic Console - WIP

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 12th Sep 2003 07:30
Well as discussed in the DBClassic forum in the Playstation, Xbox, games thread, I started playing around with making a DBConsole.

So here is what I have done.

I have taken an old server with a

P3-700
512mb ram
SCZI everything
2 - 40gb Hard Drives
Windows 2000 ( I will do a 98/xp when I order MSDN again)
40x CD ROM
8 4 24 CD-RW
Matrox G400 Dual Head with TV Out (this will change to a 128mb Gforce4 card eventually)
NIC Card
Sound Blaster 64 (I think, its an older card)

I am atm modifying the Win 2k front end. When done it will load the following screen if no CD is in.

Its a mock up, because the actual screen is just windows buttons, I want to animate the swirls.

If a CD with auto run is placed in the drive it will auto run the game. Now, if the CD is taken out while the game is being played, the console will reset to the screen above.

Im setting up a few dev rules, basically all games have to save to drive D and like this

d:\(companyname)\(gamename)\savefile

The save files will have a 128x128 graphic file with the logo of the game. (like Xbox, PS2)

Im hoping to beable to release a couple of cut and paste DBPro commands so the saves, rule base are basically all done via cut and paste, no extra coding really needed.

The games will not install onto the Hard Drive, but run from the CD. The reason for the CD-RW is you can DL the image file or compressed file, and use the interface to burn the CD rom.

There is an OS Updater, and Hardware updater built in to the front end. And they are exactly like they sound, they DL windows updates, hardware updates and install.