Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

FPS Creator X10 / Mystic-Mod: Official Thread

Author
Message
firelord
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th May 2007
Location:
Posted: 25th Dec 2011 01:26
how do i know mystic mod has been installed properly...i cant tell the diference?...
Le Shorte
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Apr 2009
Location: Wisconsin
Posted: 25th Dec 2011 03:12
Quote: "how do i know mystic mod has been installed properly...i cant tell the diference?... "

There should be a line of text in the bottom-right corner, I think it is, that says "Mystic Mod v1.1x"

Cheesehead for life.
budokaiman
FPSC Tool Maker
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Jun 2009
Playing: Hard to get
Posted: 25th Dec 2011 13:08
Quote: "Hey i am a noob and i installed mystic mod i get this strange errornull can some one please help me?"


Did you make sure to update to 1.11 and run the cleaner before installing the mod? If not, you may need to re-install X10, then update to 1.11 before installing the mod.


reauirentem
adriaan
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Oct 2010
Location:
Posted: 25th Dec 2011 18:02
oke I will reinstall it does online works with mystic mod?
firelord
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th May 2007
Location:
Posted: 27th Dec 2011 23:17
ok reinstalled fps x10 then updated then used the mystic mod installer....the icon for fpsc x10 has changed but cant see any mystic mod on the map editor anywhere..would it be good if you could change the icon to a mystic mod icon to let people know its installed....could you show what im looking for with maybe a picture of what im looking for to see if its been installed...thanks
budokaiman
FPSC Tool Maker
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Jun 2009
Playing: Hard to get
Posted: 27th Dec 2011 23:22
Quote: "ok reinstalled fps x10 then updated then used the mystic mod installer....the icon for fpsc x10 has changed but cant see any mystic mod on the map editor anywhere..would it be good if you could change the icon to a mystic mod icon to let people know its installed....could you show what im looking for with maybe a picture of what im looking for to see if its been installed...thanks"

The text won't be in the map editor, it will show when you're in test game.


reauirentem
firelord
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th May 2007
Location:
Posted: 27th Dec 2011 23:40 Edited at: 28th Dec 2011 17:02
ok thanks will try it tommorrow...tried it got it working..nice one...so on wit the project swapping from x9 to x10...wish me luck
unfamillia
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Jul 2010
Location: Preston, Lancashire
Posted: 1st Jan 2012 12:40 Edited at: 1st Jan 2012 12:42
@Budokaiman

Just a thought, is there anyway of implementing trigger based sound effects?

eg. Your level is based in a building that is situated inside a huge quarry. After walking around inside, you walk outside, obviously the ambient sound would change and every sound would have an increased amount of reverb. When you shoot, it will echo, when things blow up, it would echo etc.

Unfamillia

EDIT: Just re read what i put, the first line
Quote: "trigger based sound effects? "
I don't mean, when you go through a trigger point, a sound is played. I mean, when you walk through a trigger point, an effect is applied to all sounds that occur thereafter.


[url=www.touchoffear.webs.com][/url]
budokaiman
FPSC Tool Maker
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Jun 2009
Playing: Hard to get
Posted: 3rd Jan 2012 01:08
@all:
There was a bug in the X10 doc recently that made it necessary to sign in to view the document, I've fixed the problem so you shouldn't need to take any extra steps to view the document any more.


reauirentem
srealist
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Dec 2010
Location: Orlando, Florida, USA
Posted: 4th Jan 2012 10:47
@ unfamillia, this is possible in most modern audio engines like fmod, xact, etc. but would be nearly impossible in the existing x10 audio structure as there is no reverb effect. Best bet would be to bake the reverb into a sound and trigger it like any other sound effect when a player moves outside.

If the sound scale was more...uh dynamic...in x10 this could be applied in a way that would sound pretty smooth. As it currently stands, I set my sound scale to "2" at most. Anything greater than that causes an unacceptable amount of bleeding of sound into places it does not belong.
unfamillia
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Jul 2010
Location: Preston, Lancashire
Posted: 5th Jan 2012 21:07
@srealist

I was hoping you wouldn't say that!

I guess i will just have to amend the sound files myself.

Thanks for the response

Unfamillia

[url=www.touchoffear.webs.com][/url]
IceQueen11
7
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Jan 2012
Location:
Posted: 10th Jan 2012 03:06
I have a question: What is Mystic-Mod?
budokaiman
FPSC Tool Maker
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Jun 2009
Playing: Hard to get
Posted: 10th Jan 2012 13:51
Quote: "I have a question: What is Mystic-Mod?"

Since official support for FPSC X10 has been dropped, Mystic-Mod continues to add new features and updates for X10.


reauirentem
Le Shorte
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Apr 2009
Location: Wisconsin
Posted: 10th Jan 2012 23:27
And to add to that, the scripting capabilities have, as far as we know, surpassed that of FPSC x9's.

Cheesehead for life.
budokaiman
FPSC Tool Maker
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Jun 2009
Playing: Hard to get
Posted: 12th Feb 2012 00:54
Update:

V1.0.5 is ready.

Change log:


Arays:
To use array elements as values for other fpi commands just do "arrayName#element" an example would be:
:state=0:makearray=tempArray 10 int,setarrayelements=tempArray 3,state=3
:state=tempArray#0:sound=$0
Arrays start with element 0, and go up to 200 elements ( I can increase this size if anyone needs it, but 200 should really be fine).

Weapon animations:
Weapons can also store their own custom animation sequences for use with playweaponanimation command.
To do this, add the custom animation to the weapon's .fpe file. The animation will look like
anim1 = 5 80
This will set animation one's start frame to 5 and end frame to 80. Then you can animate it with "playweaponanimation=anim1"
*Note the animation must be specified as anim# (e.g. anim1, anim2, anim3 etc...)
*Note weapons can have up to 20 custom animations, I think that this should be sufficient, if anyone wants this increased, let me know.


I've also gone through all the X10 commands and documented all of them (contains all X10 specific commands, no X9 specific commands).
You can view the document online, here.
Or download the PDF, here.

If you use Notepad++, you can download the updated custom FPI language, here.

The 1.0.5 installer is available, here.
Or, the .7Z is available, here.

(I hope I mentioned everything, may have forgotten some stuff though).


There's no kill switch on awesome.
srealist
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Dec 2010
Location: Orlando, Florida, USA
Posted: 12th Feb 2012 02:39
Thank you so much for all your hard work. This has greatly expanded the range of gameplay/interaction capabilities.

I will release a new decal pack within the next week that takes advantage of the flexible architecture.

One thought for down the road is an arraylist, which in java refers to a dynamically allocated array of undetermined size. This is particularly useful when writing generic classes (for instance, in the 2d engine I have been developing, I use this for my animated sprite class).

Question: can we use arrays to load images into the alttexture command, thereby creating animated textures on entities?
budokaiman
FPSC Tool Maker
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Jun 2009
Playing: Hard to get
Posted: 13th Feb 2012 23:01
Quote: "One thought for down the road is an arraylist, which in java refers to a dynamically allocated array of undetermined size. This is particularly useful when writing generic classes (for instance, in the 2d engine I have been developing, I use this for my animated sprite class)."

You can kind of already do this. Just increment the array size when you need to.

Quote: "Question: can we use arrays to load images into the alttexture command, thereby creating animated textures on entities?"

No, this would be incredibly inefficient. I am going to get back to you on the "animated textures on entities" thing though, that's something I'm working on.


There's no kill switch on awesome.
srealist
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Dec 2010
Location: Orlando, Florida, USA
Posted: 19th Feb 2012 01:20
Almost done with the decal pack.

The animated textures on entities is very exciting.
unfamillia
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Jul 2010
Location: Preston, Lancashire
Posted: 20th Feb 2012 13:50
@srealist

Quote: "The animated textures on entities is very exciting"


I think i know what you are saying...

is it now possible to create animated textures? I would very much like this!

Unfamillia

[url=www.touchoffear.webs.com][/url]
The Zombie Killer
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Mar 2011
Location: Gold Coast, Australia
Posted: 11th Mar 2012 02:10
@budokaiman
I had a request to make my script pack compatible with mystic mod. But I don't think mystic has the right commands for it. I am not asking you to do this, and I am not requesting it. Mainly just letting you know and seeing if you want to do it. The commands required to be ported from X9 would be:
camrotationon=x
setcamoffsetx=x
setcamoffsety=x
setcamoffsetz=x
setcamrotx=x
setcamroty=x
setcamrotz=x
scalelimb=x y
hidelimb=x
showlimb=x
lockemplacement
freeemplacement
plrcamoffseton
plrcamoffsetx=x
plrcamoffsety=x
plrcamoffsetz=x
linktoplr
freefromplr

A LOT of commands, I know. Which is exactly why I'm not asking you to, or attempting to force you to. Another reason is that you would have to convert the polygon collision too for the limb scaling, hiding and showing to work.

-TZK

Red Eye
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Oct 2008
Location:
Posted: 18th Mar 2012 13:25
@budokaiman: I emailed you about something .

Keep up the good work.

Cheers,

budokaiman
FPSC Tool Maker
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Jun 2009
Playing: Hard to get
Posted: 20th Mar 2012 20:56
Quote: "A LOT of commands, I know. Which is exactly why I'm not asking you to, or attempting to force you to. Another reason is that you would have to convert the polygon collision too for the limb scaling, hiding and showing to work"

It certainly won't be in the next release, that will focus on the secret feature, but possibly the release after.


Quote: "@budokaiman: I emailed you about something"

Responded.


Being a scientist is never having to say you're sorry.
nathan 24
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Jun 2009
Location:
Posted: 26th Mar 2012 23:33
Will the secret feature be in the next update?
budokaiman
FPSC Tool Maker
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Jun 2009
Playing: Hard to get
Posted: 26th Mar 2012 23:35
Yes.


Being a scientist is never having to say you're sorry.
pdidy
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 31st Dec 2006
Location:
Posted: 27th Mar 2012 08:18 Edited at: 27th Mar 2012 08:18
secret feature wow cant wait,
no hints as to what it is,
or when new update due,
budokaiman
FPSC Tool Maker
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Jun 2009
Playing: Hard to get
Posted: 27th Mar 2012 14:47
Quote: "or when new update due,"

It will definitely be out before the day after I release it.


Being a scientist is never having to say you're sorry.
srealist
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Dec 2010
Location: Orlando, Florida, USA
Posted: 16th Apr 2012 15:49
Hi! Sure is getting hot here in Florida.
NIlooc223
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Aug 2010
Location: Heaven
Posted: 19th Apr 2012 02:20
That was kind of random.......

Your signature has been erased by a mod - no affiliate links thanks
srealist
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Dec 2010
Location: Orlando, Florida, USA
Posted: 19th Apr 2012 17:04
Just keeping the thread up at the top. Also I am a fan of randomness.
firelord
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th May 2007
Location:
Posted: 6th May 2012 20:18
hope you will continue to improve and help bug fixes for x10 for a long time to come there still is an active community for x10 and mystic is the best mod...hope new version comes out soon and looking forward to the mystery feature......
NIlooc223
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Aug 2010
Location: Heaven
Posted: 6th May 2012 22:54
Quote: "mystic is the best mod"


Its the only mod....

Your signature has been erased by a mod - no affiliate links thanks
srealist
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Dec 2010
Location: Orlando, Florida, USA
Posted: 16th May 2012 06:06
I'd like to ask a question but I realize that when people ask about the release date it is understandably frustrating and usually elicits a sarcastic yet witty response. Though I imagine that I might be one of the top donors to the project so could we please know if there are still plans to release the secret feature. You can email me if you don't want to chat about it on the forum.

Admittedly I have not worked in FPSC in many months and have shifted to 2D games (Construct2) and HTML5 but I still have a lot left to do in x10 this Summer.
budokaiman
FPSC Tool Maker
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Jun 2009
Playing: Hard to get
Posted: 16th May 2012 18:15
Quote: "I'd like to ask a question but I realize that when people ask about the release date it is understandably frustrating and usually elicits a sarcastic yet witty response. Though I imagine that I might be one of the top donors to the project so could we please know if there are still plans to release the secret feature. You can email me if you don't want to chat about it on the forum."


Yes, we are still working on it. The reason that I've never given a straight answer on a release date, is because it's pretty tough to gauge when it will be done. The Next and I are usually very busy, so we work on it when we can, since this is just something we do on the side, it doesn't take top precedence of work order. That said, I would like to have it out sometime during summer, but we'll have to wait and see what happens.


3DS friend code: 0044-2895-5474
Daniel wright 2311
User Banned
Posted: 23rd May 2012 01:59
So,how is mystic mod doing? Sorry I had to stop modding it,as soon as I started it I well,bailed on you guys.I had to,there was many reasons why,so I am so happy budokaiman keep it up,thank God for him.

my signature keeps being erased by a mod So this is my new signature.
JD2
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Feb 2010
Location:
Posted: 24th May 2012 01:15
Where is the source code to Mystic-Mod? You have a webpage on Sourceforge, but I can't find your code repository or a downloadable archive with the source code on there.
firelord
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th May 2007
Location:
Posted: 17th Sep 2012 00:00
what has happened to mystic mod..is x10 truly dead?....its so quiet the community game looks like it failed..its a shame back to x9 it is then...
budokaiman
FPSC Tool Maker
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Jun 2009
Playing: Hard to get
Posted: 17th Sep 2012 00:42
I'm not going to say that Mystic-Mod is dead, however, until X10 becomes available for sale again (if it ever does) I'd say that Mysti-Mod is on an indefinite hiatus.


3DS friend code: 0044-2895-5474
pdidy
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 31st Dec 2006
Location:
Posted: 17th Sep 2012 09:07
i would say a lot of x10 users was probaly awaiting Mystic-Mod
to be released to se what the new features was avalable.
but if Mystic-Mod is dead then i supose there is no need to keep
up hope for x10, and move over to a diferent engine. even though
i love x10, guess it is over without some sort of suport or hope of
new features or fixes, thanks budo for the work you already done on the mod, as tgc have given up on x9 and x10 then i think it is time to move on from fps creator but it goes without saying both x9 and x10 are a great learning tool for kids and adult alike.
srealist
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Dec 2010
Location: Orlando, Florida, USA
Posted: 21st Sep 2012 02:11
Is it inappropriate at this time to ask what the secret feature was?

I assume you all have received the FPSC V2 kickstarter email. It's humorous, or ironic, or something, that I just finally decided to install x9 on my new computer and set up a pipeline for development. Mostly for my own fun but I do have some 3D projects and I'm loathe to invest the time or money in Unity. I have a license for Torque3D but all signs point to that engine being phased out.

Hmmm...I have an idea for a thread. Hope it doesn't get me in trouble.
michael x
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Jan 2009
Location: Cybertron
Posted: 21st Sep 2012 07:52
I agree what is the secret feature?

more than what meets the eye

Welcome to SciFi Summer
budokaiman
FPSC Tool Maker
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Jun 2009
Playing: Hard to get
Posted: 21st Sep 2012 17:33
Quote: "Is it inappropriate at this time to ask what the secret feature was?"

No. I've been meaning to post it here now, but I just kind of... forgot... to......

Anyway, the secret feature that we were working on, was a brand new logo for X10. Here's what we have done so far:




I think I mentioned all the important things there, I know that I must have forgotten some stuff though, but that's the general idea of what we were doing.

Quote: "I assume you all have received the FPSC V2 kickstarter email."

I have not. I'm going to assume that an FPSC V2 would be done if TGC decided to go forth with DarkBASIC Elite though.


3DS friend code: 0044-2895-5474
science boy
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Oct 2008
Location:
Posted: 21st Sep 2012 22:35
@ budokaiman

hey there, i am having trouble with shaders on and at a certain point the textures disappear, but even with small area if i add a generic decal it messes up the textures even slaps a texture part as a hud will show pictures, but if there is a way to sort out to make all shader ready segments and decals to work without any disappearing walls be nice. will post a few shortly

an unquenchable thirst for knowledge of game creation!!!
science boy
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Oct 2008
Location:
Posted: 21st Sep 2012 22:50 Edited at: 21st Sep 2012 22:52
http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/842/floatingbook.jpg/

this isa photo sadly it did not pick up the 1 quarter screen hud of a floor texture blocking the view. any suggestions? besides giving up.if this problem gets solved i can actually put a game out soon

an unquenchable thirst for knowledge of game creation!!!
srealist
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Dec 2010
Location: Orlando, Florida, USA
Posted: 21st Sep 2012 23:22
ahahahaha! That logo is badass. If I might add some critique, you should add some bull dogs and barbed wire. Think like an affliction or tapout shirt.

About the secret feature...man...it was a gift to TGC as much as anyone. It is a shame that TGC didn't take notice of what was going on here with the x10 community. That would've been fantastic.
budokaiman
FPSC Tool Maker
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Jun 2009
Playing: Hard to get
Posted: 21st Sep 2012 23:47 Edited at: 21st Sep 2012 23:48
Quote: "About the secret feature...man...it was a gift to TGC as much as anyone. It is a shame that TGC didn't take notice of what was going on here with the x10 community. That would've been fantastic."

Well, hopefully DarkBasic Elite does happen. If it does, I'll probably pick up the project again.

Quote: "and barbed wire."

I think this would make a good new font.

Quote: "this isa photo sadly it did not pick up the 1 quarter screen hud of a floor texture blocking the view. any suggestions? besides giving up.if this problem gets solved i can actually put a game out soon"

Where in the screenshot should I look for the problem? If it didn't pick up on the hud try the other screenshot button (I know there's two separate screenshot buttons, one ignores the hud, the other doesn't. I can't remember which key it is though. Try pressing every key on your keyboard, until one works.)


3DS friend code: 0044-2895-5474
science boy
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Oct 2008
Location:
Posted: 22nd Sep 2012 00:36
http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/13/errorvcy.jpg/

here is one

an unquenchable thirst for knowledge of game creation!!!
budokaiman
FPSC Tool Maker
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Jun 2009
Playing: Hard to get
Posted: 22nd Sep 2012 01:19
I see that you're using an old beta of Mystic-Mod. Try updating to the current stable version, see if that fixes it.
http://sourceforge.net/projects/mystic-mod/files/1.0.5/


3DS friend code: 0044-2895-5474
Le Shorte
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Apr 2009
Location: Wisconsin
Posted: 22nd Sep 2012 08:14
I can verify that the secret feature was what Budo said. It really was cool, and it was more or less working at the time. It was also incredibly fun taunting you all.

If only, if only...

Cheesehead for life.
science boy
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Oct 2008
Location:
Posted: 22nd Sep 2012 15:00 Edited at: 22nd Sep 2012 15:00
cheers budo. will give it a shot


it may it may! anyway this fpscv2 will that be x11 i hope

an unquenchable thirst for knowledge of game creation!!!
budokaiman
FPSC Tool Maker
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Jun 2009
Playing: Hard to get
Posted: 22nd Sep 2012 15:28
Quote: "anyway this fpscv2 will that be x11 i hope"

If you check out the DBE thread, you'll see that Lee plans on using DX11. Assuming that V2 will be done with DBE, then yes it will use DX11.


3DS friend code: 0044-2895-5474

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2019-12-13 20:47:15
Your offset time is: 2019-12-13 20:47:15