Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Dark Physics & Dark A.I. & Dark Dynamix / phy ray cast all shapes not working

Author
Message
Clonkex
Forum Vice President
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th May 2010
Location: Northern Tablelands, NSW, Australia
Posted: 22nd May 2010 02:56
Hi Guys,

For my FPS game I am making with DBPro I need to use the DarkPhysics command, phy ray cast all shapes. I have typed phy start at the start of my code, and the phy ray cast all shapes command turns blue, but when compiling it says something like "compiler does not understand command" or similar, can anyone help me with this? (Note: it also does it with the cloth ray casting does the same thing)

Thanks,
Clonkex

Making games is easy.....finishing them is a different matter.
HowDo
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Nov 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 22nd May 2010 17:24
ok check list time, you may have seen it other post.

ok, lets check a few things and see which you say yes I done that.

This is for installing Dark PhysX for use in Dark Basic Pro, Not GDK.

1. if using vista or windows 7 have you given it the right to run.
2. installed directX 9.0c link here.
3. install Dark Physx update 1.05.
4. activated Dark physx with Dark physX key not the DBPro one.
5. downloaded the latest Nvidia physX drivers, link here

if you say yes to everthing above then it should be working.

Dark Physics makes any hot drink go cold.
Clonkex
Forum Vice President
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th May 2010
Location: Northern Tablelands, NSW, Australia
Posted: 26th May 2010 03:12
You're right, I have seen this in a another post, and I can tick yes to everything there. The problem is not Dark Physics itself (I can use everything else in it), the problem is that single command not working. But how do I download the update for Dark Physics (don't just say in the Order History, cause it ain't there)?

Clonkex

Making games is easy.....finishing them is a different matter.

Intel Core 2 Duo 2.8Ghz, Nvidia GeForce 9400 GT 512mb, 1gb ram.
RobertM
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 12th May 2007
Location:
Posted: 27th May 2010 09:05
Same issue here. Get "could not understand command at line #" Casting against a large mesh, would that be an issue? I'm just trying to get the normal to angle my character to the terrain....
Clonkex
Forum Vice President
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th May 2010
Location: Northern Tablelands, NSW, Australia
Posted: 31st May 2010 04:14
It's not the mesh, though, cause it gets an error while compiling, not at run-time. Hangon.....anyone tried doing this:


Just thought...maybe I will try it...

Clonkex

Making games is easy.....finishing them is a different matter.

Intel Core 2 Duo 2.8Ghz, Nvidia GeForce 9400 GT 512mb, 1gb ram.
NickH
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th May 2008
Location: Nova Prospekt, North Yorks, UK
Posted: 1st Jun 2010 16:35 Edited at: 1st Jun 2010 16:36
Use Sparkys and DarkPhysics at the same time. Sparkys for raycasting and DP for...erm...physics . Sparkys works perfect and uses very little resources.
HowDo
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Nov 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 3rd Jun 2010 16:47
Quote: "
You're right, I have seen this in a another post, and I can tick yes to everything there. The problem is not Dark Physics itself (I can use everything else in it), the problem is that single command not working. But how do I download the update for Dark Physics (don't just say in the Order History, cause it ain't there)?

Clonkex"


You'er were right when you posted this that the physx update 1.05 was not in the order history section, however I emailed Mike about it,now it should be there.

if you done this already then continue..

Dark Physics makes any hot drink go cold.
Clonkex
Forum Vice President
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th May 2010
Location: Northern Tablelands, NSW, Australia
Posted: 28th Jul 2010 06:35
Hey guys don't worry Sparkies is great and works perfect. I can now create my next brilliant game!

Clonkex

Making games is easy.....finishing them is a different matter.

Intel Core 2 Duo 2.8Ghz, Nvidia GeForce 9400 GT 512mb, 1gb ram.

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2019-08-22 06:45:50
Your offset time is: 2019-08-22 06:45:50