Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Dark GDK .NET / .net Tutroials not working

Author
Message
Steven Davies
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th May 2010
Location:
Posted: 28th May 2010 14:55
Hi Guys, for those who have been around the .net version.

I just loaded the 3d tutorial and went to try it out.

Imports DarkGDK

''' <summary>
''' Our main application class
''' </summary>
''' <remarks></remarks>
Public Class Application
''' <summary>
''' This is our main Game Loop. This subroutine is used for processing our
''' game events and processes during the lifetime of the application. The
''' subroutine will loop until LoopGDK returns false.
''' </summary>
''' <remarks></remarks>
'''
Public Shared Sub GameLoop()
Dim colonel As DarkGDK.Basic3D.Object3D
Try

'DarkGDK.Core.Print("Please wait, Loading model...")
'DarkGDK.Core.Sync() -------------------------------- I am getting a null object here

DarkGDK.IO.File.SetCurrentDirectory("c:\")

colonel = New DarkGDK.Basic3D.Object3D("Colonel-X.X") ------------------Null Object here as well

DarkGDK.Camera.DefaultCamera.PositionCurrent(0, 50, -80)

colonel.LoopAnimation()
colonel.AnimationSpeed = 40

While DarkGDK.Engine.LoopGDK
DarkGDK.Core.Sync()
End While

Catch ex As Exception
MsgBox(ex.Message)
End Try


End Sub


This is straight load in vs2008, I am using win7 64bit

any help would be great.

Thx

Steven
APEXnow
Retired Moderator
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Apr 2003
Location: On a park bench
Posted: 28th May 2010 22:12
Steven,

Can you check that the project references are setup for the following files:

DGDKLib
DGDKPlugins
DarkGDK

Use the Project Properties option to bring up the References screen. All you need to do, is to delete the Three references that may be wrong, and add them again using the Add Reference button.

If you still have problems with this, let me know.

Paul.

darxus
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Aug 2009
Location: Greece
Posted: 29th May 2010 07:08
I have the same specs (Win7 64 with SharpDevelop), but it works perfect on me.

Here's the path of the assembly of the project (as seen from the solution explorer).

C:\Windows\assembly\GAC_32\DarkGDK\1.2.0.0__e5d518e3875aacb1\DarkGDK.dll

This should be the same on every machine that DarkGDK.NET installer run, correct?

Also there should be these files (thanks to command prompt for copying the filenames )
DarkGDK.dll
DarkGDK.XML
DGDKLib.dll
DGDKLib.xml
DGDKPlugins.dll
DGDKPlugins.xml

Located in:
C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio 9.0\Common7\IDE\PublicAssemblies

If I learn something I will respond.
Steven Davies
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th May 2010
Location:
Posted: 31st May 2010 02:59
Hi, I deleted the 3 Refeneces to the the DLL's and re-added them.

Still not working, the only thing I can add is that during install of the gdk I had an error about registering the dgk .dll. But I registered it again. And it still shows in .net.

Anyway, I will try an install again and see if I get the error.

Thx

Steven
Steven Davies
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th May 2010
Location:
Posted: 31st May 2010 03:05
Hi, I deleted the 3 Refeneces to the the DLL's and re-added them.

Still not working, the only thing I can add is that during install of the gdk I had an error about registering the dgk .dll. But I registered it again. And it still shows in .net.

Anyway, I will try an install again and see if I get the error.

Thx

Steven
Frank C
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Jul 2010
Location: Houston TX
Posted: 3rd Jul 2010 21:57
I'm having similar issues, running W7 Ultimate x64, with VS2008. I also tried starting my own project based on the VB template. I get an acception that it can't find the DarkGDK file even though it is in the GAC, has been added to references properly and even shows without error in the code after an Imports statement. Here's a portion of the exception error:



Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-04-19 20:19:46
Your offset time is: 2024-04-19 20:19:46