Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Program Announcements / Online Scoreboard

Author
Message
mr_d
DBPro Tool Maker
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Mar 2007
Location: Somewhere In Australia
Posted: 15th Jan 2011 11:31 Edited at: 15th Jan 2011 11:32
Hi Scraggle. It sort of fails silently and give a message in the log file to indicate that there has been a problem.
It is then up to the game developer to take note of this and to perform actions to handle this situation.
I.e. They may code their game so that all offline scores are stored locally anyway, and will update when there is a connection available again, or they may decide to just lose this and only worry about updating scores when there is a network connection available. Even though the second scenario is not very pretty, it is the simplest alternative and still a valid option - maybe not for a professional game, but good enough for a hobby game.

(\___/)
(='.'=) Copy bunny into your signature to
("_(" help him gain world domination.
fallen one
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Aug 2006
Location: My imagination!
Posted: 15th Jan 2011 18:49
Does this only work with dark basic games? I am looking for an option for an online score board for html/javascript games, i also need to control how big the scoreboard is as the screen space may be limited to small sizes.


mr_d
DBPro Tool Maker
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Mar 2007
Location: Somewhere In Australia
Posted: 15th Jan 2011 19:36 Edited at: 15th Jan 2011 19:43
hi fallen one,
I have to answer this with "I'm not sure"
if you are using MS's implementation of javascript, jscript, you can use the run command of the windows script host as follows (found in another forum via Google):

This will prompt user to enable ActiveX.
Then you can run any of the command using:

replacing notepad.exe with my app. with parameters should work; I haven't tried this myself though as I'm not really a javascript person
[plug]It's only $5 so I wouldn't think it'll break the bank if you tried it to find out; if it doesn't work, you can shelve it in case you need it for later[/plug]
This is assuming that your html/javascript is for windows os machines as my app only works on these systems and not linux, or mac os, etc.
I would suggest you try the above code snippets to see if this is indeed possible and then decide if this method is able to be worked into your games.
The scoreboard size can be customised to have has a reasonably small minimum size that takes up just over the size of the scoreboard table if you use dummy banners that are very small.
these items are centered on the displayed page/screen so can be quite small. check the example game scoreboard table (MyGame) to see if it meets your size requirements.
btw, as mentioned in a previous post, you can disable the display of the flags column, which will further reduce the footprint of the scoreboard.

p.s. another version (using a different method) I found on the net via Google:


(\___/)
(='.'=) Copy bunny into your signature to
("_(" help him gain world domination.
fallen one
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Aug 2006
Location: My imagination!
Posted: 16th Jan 2011 21:28
Its for mac and iPhone using Safari, so if its PC then it looks like it wont work, shame as I have been looking for a scoreboard solution.


mr_d
DBPro Tool Maker
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Mar 2007
Location: Somewhere In Australia
Posted: 16th Jan 2011 23:30
that's too bad I have zilch experience programming for Mac or iPhone platforms, so don't think I can help you with this.
good luck with finding a solution that fits your requirements.

(\___/)
(='.'=) Copy bunny into your signature to
("_(" help him gain world domination.
zapakitul
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Mar 2007
Location: In my world
Posted: 19th Jan 2011 00:32
@mr_d The same issue occurs with dbExecuteFile. A window pops-up and minimizes my app.
mr_d
DBPro Tool Maker
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Mar 2007
Location: Somewhere In Australia
Posted: 19th Jan 2011 00:44
i was hoping that that wouldn't be the case as it doesn't with the corresponding DBP command...
anyway; please try the last method (provided above) on the native C++ ShellExecute commands (with the correct flags indicated).
I'm crossing my fingers and toes this time

(\___/)
(='.'=) Copy bunny into your signature to
("_(" help him gain world domination.
zapakitul
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Mar 2007
Location: In my world
Posted: 19th Jan 2011 00:57
And boyaa! That did the job! Your product now works perfectly with my app!
mr_d
DBPro Tool Maker
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Mar 2007
Location: Somewhere In Australia
Posted: 19th Jan 2011 01:01 Edited at: 19th Jan 2011 01:03
Yay! It must be the toes!
That's great to hear - you were making me get more worried that I may have to start looking at converting this to be a DLL (shudder).
good to know that I don't have to do that (at this time anyway...)

btw, I believe your game maybe the CrazySoccer I saw created...
Did you see my update on fixing it so that it now allows the space in the game name? Let me know if you run into any problems with that.

(\___/)
(='.'=) Copy bunny into your signature to
("_(" help him gain world domination.
zapakitul
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Mar 2007
Location: In my world
Posted: 19th Jan 2011 01:08
Yes I saw your update post! I'm using Crazy Soccer just for tests, I'll de-register everything later, and registered the good copy. Anyway, thank your for your help and time mr_d, and for a great product!
mr_d
DBPro Tool Maker
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Mar 2007
Location: Somewhere In Australia
Posted: 19th Jan 2011 01:12
Cool!

(\___/)
(='.'=) Copy bunny into your signature to
("_(" help him gain world domination.
mr_d
DBPro Tool Maker
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Mar 2007
Location: Somewhere In Australia
Posted: 22nd Feb 2011 14:49 Edited at: 22nd Feb 2011 14:50
Sorry for the double post, but I have read on another TGC forum topic that SplatterSpawn is no longer operational and has been shut down Good thing I worked on a backup purchasing option please refer to the first post for updated links.

(\___/)
(='.'=) Copy bunny into your signature to
("_(" help him gain world domination.

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2020-09-18 08:57:35
Your offset time is: 2020-09-18 08:57:35