Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

2D All the way! / Help please.

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
So i have this class where we need to use DarkBasic to make a game to go along with a story line.
My teacher insists on me using 3D, but i want to use 2D. I have a great idea too, i just don't know how to start it nor how to code it. I have basic knowledge of this program.

My design would involve a can character catching falling fruit from the sky. There would be a score and time display aswell as a "goal" for the number of fruits needed to win the game. She told us to only do one level so i would need help doing this. I also would like something bonus falling that you can catch, such as stars (randomly but not frequent) I would like to know how i can trigger the lose screen if you don't catch the "goal" amount fruits and how to trigger a win screen with high scores and where you can enter your initials. Thank you.
Grog Grueslayer
Valued Member
Years of Service
User Offline
Playing: Green Hell
Posted: 29th Sep 2010 18:16 Edited at: 29th Sep 2010 18:17
Quote: "I would like to know how i can trigger the lose screen if you don't catch the "goal" amount fruits"

Not to be mean but if you don't know how to do an IF/THEN statement then your "basic knowledge" doesn't sound like very much. Check out TDKs tutorials first:

http://forum.thegamecreators.com/?m=forum_view&t=99497&b=10

Part 1 will teach you about storing values (like score and a goal) in variables and/or arrays and it will teach you about IF/THEN statements.

Part 2 will teach you about loops so you can have multiple objects falling at the same time.