Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Program Announcements / Indigo - A DBPro IDE Alternative

Author
Message
Burning Feet Man
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Jan 2008
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posted: 13th Jan 2015 04:31
Balid's worked hard on Indigo, so investing in Indigo is well worth it! No doubt he'll chime in shortly to assess this bug.

Help build an online DarkBASIC Professional help archive.
DarkBasic Help Wikia
Balid
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Nov 2003
Location: MI, USA
Posted: 6th Feb 2015 23:56
BFM,

Please try downloading the latest (v1.4.0.1) version. Special for you. So I am really hoping that it fixes that latest issue. Took a bit to duplicate but I was finally able to find one of my projects that did the same thing.

Tyrone M,

You are pretty close on your history lesson for the origins of Indigo. BlueIDE and BlueIDE 2 (where I come in) are open source projects. And while it is true that without BlueIDE 2, Indigo would most likely not exist. Less than 1% of Indigo came from BlueIDE 2 with everything else a complete re-write or 100% new. And Indigo started as my own personal editor which I shared with a few that I know heavily used BlueIDE 2 and they convinced me to share it with the larger community.
Quote: "I doubt that Indigo is Craig's life work "

For over nine years it was the #1 free time filler. While Indigo is not #1 anymore, I am still putting sometime into it. Last year I believe that there were 7 updates to Indigo. And thats counting both v1.3.4 and v1.4.0 as one, so not double counting. Which basically averages to an update every other month. I would still call that fairly active development.

Guido Italy (and all who have donated),

Quote: "I think it's fair to donate Who has allowed us to work better."
Thank you for your support.

All the best,

Guido Italy
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Dec 2005
Location:
Posted: 7th Feb 2015 10:06
Thanks to you, Balid, for your work.

This editor is perfect!
Chris Tate
DBPro Master
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 29th Aug 2008
Location: London, England
Posted: 8th Feb 2015 19:17
@Balid: What else are you working on these days?

Balid
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Nov 2003
Location: MI, USA
Posted: 11th Feb 2015 23:04 Edited at: 11th Feb 2015 23:07
Guido Italy,

Thank you.


Chris Tate,

I've been doing volunteer work for a couple of non-profit organizations in my area. The main one, I've been doing some design, drafting, and 3D modeling work on a new product that they started about a year ago. Then there is new start up non-profit that I'm helping with designing, documenting and eventually help implement some internal software applications. Once they are up and running I will be volunteering there to help with things like basic project management / planning, design (both software and mechanical), drafting, and concept visualization (2D and possibly 3D).

And when I need a break from those (which is about every 2 months), I pick up Indigo again.

All the best,

Chris Tate
DBPro Master
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 29th Aug 2008
Location: London, England
Posted: 12th Feb 2015 15:21
That sounds like a good experience. I did not know you were into 3D modelling aswell; cool!

Burning Feet Man
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Jan 2008
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posted: 14th Feb 2015 05:41
What kind of stuff do you model Balid?

Help build an online DarkBASIC Professional help archive.
DarkBasic Help Wikia
Balid
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Nov 2003
Location: MI, USA
Posted: 14th Feb 2015 23:58
Chris Tate and BFM,

In regards to 3D modeling I am still very basic. I initially started about 10 years ago but only started to get serious about 2 years ago. I started with MilkShape and I'm now using 3D Max. I did most of the models in my latest game for my kids and I do mock ups spaces (rooms) and other basic objects. My current project is of a seeder component for a new style ripper for a non-profit organization.


For any one that's interested,

It looks like i won't be putting as much time at the second non-profit that I mentioned as I thought. They are rethinking their approach and with the time not spent on their project, I will be putting it into Indigo. I just downloaded Visual Studio 2013 and will be porting Indigo over. While I have a wish list (somewhere), are there any ideas for the next release?

All the best,

Scraggle
VIP Member
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Jul 2003
Location: Yorkshire
Posted: 15th Feb 2015 00:04 Edited at: 15th Feb 2015 00:07
Since you ask...
I\'d really like you to sort out the highlighting on parenthesis or at least put in the option for users to do it.
Right now it\'s almost impossible to tell if the cursor is to the left or right of a bracket or even if it is highlighted.

And since I've recently moved my focus over to agk2. I'd really love it if indigo was an option for AppGameKit coding. Have you spoken with the guys at TGC?

AGK V2 user - Tier 1 & 2
Burning Feet Man
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Jan 2008
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posted: 15th Feb 2015 10:57
I was looking for a keyboard shortcut the other day to highlight/select the entire current/active line, for either copy/paste or deletion.

Help build an online DarkBASIC Professional help archive.
DarkBasic Help Wikia
Balid
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Nov 2003
Location: MI, USA
Posted: 5th Mar 2015 22:12 Edited at: 6th Mar 2015 05:32
Scraggle,

Have you tried changing the font coloring and sizing for brace matching? As it works reliably for me could you provide an example where the highlighting is not working for you?

I had looked a bit into Indigo for AppGameKit tier 1, and it seems possible, but got side tracked . Since AGK2 development can already be done in MS Visual Studio I really didn't think of an Indigo variant for AGK2. And no, I have not contacted TGC with that option. But I may need to seriously consider it. As I really haven't visited the AppGameKit part of forums, do you know if Indigo has come up in discussions there?


BFM,

Quote: "I was looking for a keyboard shortcut the other day to highlight/select the entire current/active line"
Added to the next release [Crtl+E].

[edit]The issue with "Find Next" is corrected in the next release as well .[/edit]

All the best,

Balid
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Nov 2003
Location: MI, USA
Posted: 22nd Mar 2015 00:50
V1.4.1 Beta 1 has been uploaded.

I got a new computer a little while back and I'm still working out getting all of my development stuff loaded and configured. Otherwise this release would have been out earlier.

Change log:
:+: [Crtl+E] will select the current line that your caret is on
:+: Added an option to use short tabs on the side docking. Similar to what Blue IDE 2 was able to do. {activated versions}
:/: Fixed issue with 'Find Next' not playing nice with Auto-Indent and Folding.

And I changed the splash screen as well.

Indigo site
All the best,

Guido Italy
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Dec 2005
Location:
Posted: 22nd Mar 2015 13:11
4.1 beta download <<File not found >> ...
Balid
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Nov 2003
Location: MI, USA
Posted: 22nd Mar 2015 15:54
Guido Italy,

Thank you, it's fixed now.

All the best,

Guido Italy
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Dec 2005
Location:
Posted: 22nd Mar 2015 18:38
Thanks !!
Guido Italy
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Dec 2005
Location:
Posted: 22nd Mar 2015 18:39
hops ! .... is not fixed <<file not found ...>>
Balid
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Nov 2003
Location: MI, USA
Posted: 23rd Mar 2015 01:54
Guido Italy,

Did you try using the link on the Indigo site? It works for me.

All the best,

Guido Italy
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Dec 2005
Location:
Posted: 23rd Mar 2015 12:58
Ok Now i have downloaded !

Thanks ! ( this is fantastic ide ! )
Burning Feet Man
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Jan 2008
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posted: 19th Apr 2015 03:41
Morning Balid,

I found this thread rather interesting.
http://forum.thegamecreators.com/?m=forum_view&t=214185&b=1&p=0

I was curious of your thoughts regarding gearing up Indigo as an IDE for FreeBASIC.

Download link here;
http://www.freebasic.net/get

Help build an online DarkBASIC Professional help archive.
DarkBasic Help Wikia
Balid
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Nov 2003
Location: MI, USA
Posted: 20th Apr 2015 02:36
BFM,

Yes, quite interesting. If this proves to be viable then I will most likely port my latest DBPro project. And at that point I would want to do the coding in Indigo as well. But would need to do some work to get a GUI editor in place.

All the best,

Manson_NS
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th May 2004
Location: Denmark
Posted: 23rd May 2015 01:10
Hi there,
I just got the "DBPro compiler stopped but the Error Report nor the Executable could be found" error - which was reported back in 2011 - did you find a prober fix for that?
Burning Feet Man
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Jan 2008
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posted: 26th Jun 2015 06:18
What version of Indigo are you running Manson_NS?

Help build an online DarkBASIC Professional help archive.
DarkBasic Help Wikia
Balid
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Nov 2003
Location: MI, USA
Posted: 27th Jun 2015 17:52
Manson_NS,

The problem has more to do with the compiler then Indigo. I added the message to Indigo to let people know that the situation has occurred. Sorry, but I am not in a position to be able to fix the compiler so it always produces an error report.

On a side, are you getting this message frequently?


BFM,

Do you still use your gmail account?


All the best,

Chris Tate
DBPro Master
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 29th Aug 2008
Location: London, England
Posted: 28th Jun 2015 16:02
Quote: "DBPro compiler stopped but the Error Report nor the Executable could be found"


That is an error which can easily be caused by an excess of functions or sub routines. How many functions and sub routines do you have in your project? If in excess of 2000 of them, the solution is to reduce this count; in either case Indigo is not the source of your error.

KISTech
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Feb 2008
Location: Aloha, Oregon
Posted: 9th Jul 2015 22:36 Edited at: 9th Jul 2015 23:06
I've always loved Indigo from the beginning. Does the activation code only unlock those bonus features until the expiration date? I've had a code for years but the IDE still expires on me.

Edit: Nevermind, I was trying to load an old copy.
Balid
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Nov 2003
Location: MI, USA
Posted: 11th Jul 2015 00:45
KISTech,

The activation code also removes the expiration of Indigo as well. You need to go to the About dialog to enter the Activation name and code.

I checked by records but I'm not able to find the email address used to send you the first activation code. Could it have been different then the one in your profile?

All the best,

KISTech
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Feb 2008
Location: Aloha, Oregon
Posted: 11th Jul 2015 01:36
It's all good. The old code was a LOOONG time ago.

I sent another donation and received my new code this morning.

Happy to help keep the development of this great editor going.
amanalone
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Feb 2010
Location:
Posted: 15th Jul 2015 20:12
My hard disk crashed, my emails have disappeared, I have managed to restore a backup that is two years old. I am certain that I have made a couple of contributions towards keeping Indigo going (you must have records). My current (two year old) version is 1.3.1. Do I have to donate again to make the latest version work?
BandP College Man
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Jul 2008
Location: Dorset (U.K.)
Posted: 15th Jul 2015 20:22
My hard disk crashed. I have restored a backup that is two years old. I have made a couple of contributions to this project but I no longer have any email records of them. My current version is 1.3.1. Do I have to 'contribute' again to get a code for the latest version. Note that I have posted a message under my new email address ( so you may see this info twice).
Balid
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Nov 2003
Location: MI, USA
Posted: 15th Jul 2015 23:47
BandP College Man (aka amanalone),

I've got pretty good records . Though it took me longer than it really should have for me to find our original conversation back in March of 2012.

Shall I send the key to the same email address or a new one? Or email me directly.

All the best,

Chris Tate
DBPro Master
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 29th Aug 2008
Location: London, England
Posted: 6th Aug 2015 23:00 Edited at: 6th Aug 2015 23:05
Greetings; how are things?

Just a minor bug I should point out; if a project file has its file extension (.dbpro) in uppercase, Indigo 1.3.4 will not open it.

It is the old version (the IDE without the ribbon); so perhaps this is not the case with the new one.

Another thing; when you try to pass a project as the commandline, it will not open the project you expect it to open. Only a blank project is generated. Just so you know.

Balid
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Nov 2003
Location: MI, USA
Posted: 7th Aug 2015 05:20
Chris,

Thanks for the update. I'm leaving to go on holiday but will take a look and will hopefully have a fix uploaded when I get back. In just over a week.

All the best,

Chris Tate
DBPro Master
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 29th Aug 2008
Location: London, England
Posted: 7th Aug 2015 11:29
Have a great time!

Balid
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Nov 2003
Location: MI, USA
Posted: 17th Aug 2015 00:10
Chris,

I think I've got it sorted out. For now I am going to upload the updated version here for you. The is more work to be added for the 1.3.5 release but no need to for you to have to wait.

This is just the exe file. Make a copy of your current Indigo exe and replacing with this one.

All the best,

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Chris Tate
DBPro Master
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 29th Aug 2008
Location: London, England
Posted: 19th Aug 2015 10:45
Thanks; how was your holiday?

KISTech
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Feb 2008
Location: Aloha, Oregon
Posted: 19th Aug 2015 21:01
Just noticed a bug.

I'm working on a client and server scenario. I have them open in 2 instances of Indigo.

The client and server share a couple of common files, so I close one project to make the changes in the other and then reopen it.

I just did this and went to reopen the server. It loaded the server code in both windows.
KISTech
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Feb 2008
Location: Aloha, Oregon
Posted: 19th Aug 2015 23:21
Colorizing the names of constants, labels, and functions doesn't always show.
Balid
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Nov 2003
Location: MI, USA
Posted: 21st Aug 2015 01:32
Chris Tate,

It was great, thank you.


KISTech,

What options do you have set when opening projects?

Could you provide screenshots for the colorizing.

All the best,

KISTech
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Feb 2008
Location: Aloha, Oregon
Posted: 21st Aug 2015 18:57 Edited at: 21st Aug 2015 19:02
Which settings would you like to know?

Colorization:



If I go to the end of the DAT_PLANET line and hit enter it updates the color on all the ones below it.

For functions and labels, they don't get their color when I copy and paste them in. If I go to the top one in that batch and hit enter after that line, it updates all the ones below it.

Hope that helps.

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Balid
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Nov 2003
Location: MI, USA
Posted: 5th Sep 2015 01:35
KISTech,

Which version are you using and did you enter your activation code? Because I haven't been able to duplicate either of your issues. :-(

All the best,

luskos
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Jun 2007
Location:
Posted: 19th Sep 2015 10:20
Indigo ate half of my labels.It's quite huge code and i need them back.H to w to rebuild them?

Coding is My Kung Fu!
And My Kung Fu is better than Yours!
Balid
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Nov 2003
Location: MI, USA
Posted: 22nd Sep 2015 19:27
luskos,

Were all of those labels in one file? And I take it the you did not have automatic back up turned on. If you did, then there should be a folder labeled Backup in the same folder as the DBPro file.

All the best,

BatVink
Moderator
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Apr 2003
Location: Gods own County, UK
Posted: 1st Dec 2016 11:02
unlocked
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
Quidquid latine dictum sit, altum sonatur
TutCity is being rebuilt
Balid
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Nov 2003
Location: MI, USA
Posted: 1st Dec 2016 13:47
BatVink, Thank you.

All,

It's been far too long since I last posted. But in that time Indigo was and is still alive. With this next release (v1.4.2) no more expiring, an Error Output window showing all identified syntax errors from all project include files, and more minor bug fixes and misc improvements. I have one last small adjustment to make and am hoping to get this posted within the next two weeks (before Christmas).

All the best,
Balid
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Nov 2003
Location: MI, USA
Posted: 6th Dec 2016 03:29
There seem to have more than a hundred views since my last post, so yes double posting.

Beta 1 of version 1.4.2 has been uploaded. Head on over to the web site to download.

All the best,
James H
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Apr 2007
Location: St Helens
Posted: 6th Dec 2016 17:35
Hi Balid, thanks very much for this. However your signature link comes up with a"something went wrong" message and the download on your site comes up with "404 - not found" message.

Regards
Balid
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Nov 2003
Location: MI, USA
Posted: 6th Dec 2016 23:50
James H,

Thank you for letting me know. The link for Indigo v1.4.2 b1 has been fixed.

The link in my signature should be pointing to this thread and has probably been broke for awhile now. Should be fixed now.

All the best,
James H
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Apr 2007
Location: St Helens
Posted: 7th Dec 2016 13:59
Thanks very much all good.
Chris Tate
DBPro Master
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 29th Aug 2008
Location: London, England
Posted: 17th Dec 2016 22:37
Keep up all the great work; very much appreciated
Chris Tate
DBPro Master
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 29th Aug 2008
Location: London, England
Posted: 27th Dec 2016 17:13
The latest update is really cool. I really like the consistency of the tooltips and syntax highlighting.

Just to let you know that in the latest version, when you try to edit any of the code prior to the function declaration; you will either get a mismatched parenthesis or quote mark error

Quote: "`%Project Title%
`%Source File Name%
`======================

Print "http://www.google.co.uk/mail = ";
Print GetDomainName("http://www.google.co.uk/mail")

Print "url=https://www.google.co.uk/mail = ";
Print GetDomainName("https://www.google.co.uk/mail")

Print "http://www.google.co.uk/mail = ";
Print GetDomainName("http://www.google.co.uk/mail")

Print "http://www.google.co.uk/mail = ";
Print GetDomainName("http://www.google.co.uk/mail")

Print "http://www.google.co.uk/mail = ";
Print GetDomainName("http://www.google.co.uk/mail")


FUNCTION GetDomainName(webPage$)
//GET DOMAIN NAME. Put in clean URL in webPage$
currentDomain$ = ""
webPage$ = webPage$
Start = instr(webPage$, "http")
IF Start > 0
INC Start,8
Finish = FIND ASCII( webPage$, 47, Start)
IF Finish > 0 THEN domainResult$ = mid$( webPage$, 1, Finish-1 )
IF Finish = 0 THEN domainResult$ = webPage$
ENDIF
IF Start = 0
domainResult$ = "No Valid Domain Found"
ENDIF
ENDFUNCTION domainResult$"


I am sure there is something in the code which is confusing the error handler.

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2019-02-17 08:12:32
Your offset time is: 2019-02-17 08:12:32