Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Bug Reports / [STICKY] DBP HELP FILES

Author
Message
richardneail
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Aug 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 3rd Oct 2003 14:49
Hi,

The docs are currently in the process of being changed to bring them upto date, easier to read and to correct a number of errors.

Please be patient while this is done.

How do I know this well because I am doing the changes

Rich I am sure you wont mind me putting this up here it might get rid of a few unnecessary bug reports

Any chance of making the post sticky too so it stays at the top ?

Rich

You might never win but if you give in will you ever know ??????
OSX Using Happy Dude
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Aug 2003
Location: At home
Posted: 4th Oct 2003 01:59
Make sure the copy bitmap command parameters aren't so confusing


Avatar & Logo by Indi. Come to the UK DBPro Convention in Chichester
STE
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Oct 2003
Location:
Posted: 14th Oct 2003 00:30
Also please sort out the help for these 2 commands:
SET PARTICLE SPEED
"This command will set the number of seconds that are to pass each frame within the particles object. This
controls whether the particles move very quickly, or very slowly. The default seconds per frame value is 0.005."

SET PARTICLE VELOCITY
"This command will set the velocity of particles within the particles object. This controls the velocity at
which the particles will move once emitted, and reflect the amount of energy expelled from the particles object."

The help implies these commands do the same thing, which surely isn't correct??
It really needs some examples in the help text, and not crammed away with 20 other commands in a Usage/Showcase example so you can't tell what's happening.

STE ;¬!
richardneail
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Aug 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 14th Oct 2003 15:41
Hi,

All things will be addressed as I work through the help files.

If anyone else has any changes or ideas then let me know.

Rich

You might never win but if you give in will you ever know ??????
EddieRay
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Feb 2003
Location: USA
Posted: 6th Nov 2003 23:59
Are you still working on the docs updates?

Desktop: AMD900/256MB/Radeon 8500 64MB/Win98SE/DX9.0b/Catalyst 3.7
Laptop: P3-850/384MB/GeForce2 Go 16MB/WinXP Pro/DX9.0b/Detonator 45.23
richardneail
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Aug 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 11th Nov 2003 13:26
Yes I am working on them still, I have to do this in my spare time as I also have a full time job and other commitments but I will get it done

Rich

You might never win but if you give in will you ever know ??????
EddieRay
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Feb 2003
Location: USA
Posted: 19th Nov 2003 00:24
DISABLE OBJECT ZREAD appears to be undocumented (probably the ENABLE flavor of the same command too) in the online help, but DISABLE/ENABLE OBJECT ZDEPTH appear to be there.

Desktop: AMD900/256MB/Radeon 8500 64MB/Win98SE/DX9.0b/Catalyst 3.9
Laptop: P3-850/384MB/GeForce2 Go 16MB/WinXP Pro/DX9.0b/Detonator 45.23
DBPro with patch 5.1b
Rob K
Moderator
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Sep 2002
Location: Surrey, United Kingdom
Posted: 20th Nov 2003 00:00
Both DISABLE OBJECT ZREAD and ENABLE OBJECT ZREAD show up here - do you have the latest version of the IDE?


BLUE GUI Plugin: http://blue.robert-knight.net / BLUE IDE [href]http://blueide.sf.net/ - Replacement editor for DBPro[/href]
richardneail
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Aug 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 1st Dec 2003 11:00
Just to keep everyone informed I emailed Lee at the weekend with the first stage changes to the help files.

You might never win but if you give in will you ever know ??????
Neophyte
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Feb 2003
Location: United States
Posted: 5th Dec 2003 10:10
Not sure if this applies but the last bitmap loaded is the current bitmap. Having this in the help files would have saved me a lot of frustration with debugging.
Dostej
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Jan 2003
Location: Switzerland
Posted: 22nd Dec 2003 15:09
the help for `light type ` has wrong parameter
correct is:
1: directional
2: point
3: spot light

GALACTIC X - A very early demo is now available - comments very welcome - http://www.angelfire.com/droid/galacticx/
also my IDE - jaPROe and some snippets
Dreamora
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Sep 2002
Location: Switzerland
Posted: 22nd Dec 2003 19:00 Edited at: 22nd Dec 2003 19:01
make memblock from mesh is wrong

DBP isn't using FVF 338 now for a very long time. Vertex Color isn't in.


ghost object on

There are a lot of 2nd parameters missing as the DBO specs show up (DBO specs give 5 different parameters for ghost object on, while DBP help only has 2 ...)

Dell Inspiron 8200,P4-M 1,7ghz, GF4 440go (45.23 - DX9b), 1GB RAM
D Man
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Oct 2002
Location: Germany
Posted: 24th Dec 2003 14:21
DBP actually uses FVF 338 with Vertex Colors enabled.
I don't know which version you are using.

God is real, unless declared integer.
IanM
Moderator
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Sep 2002
Location: In my moon base
Posted: 24th Dec 2003 15:15
It's been 274 for internal object since Update 4

+ Code Snippet

Putting the line 'convert object fvf 1,338' after creating the object switches it to 338 format.

For free Plug-ins, source and the DBPro Interface library for Visual C++ 6 and .NET
http://www.matrix1.demon.co.uk
simonuk74
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Nov 2002
Location:
Posted: 29th Dec 2003 15:38
is it just me or is the overall help system in DBP not as good as the help in DBC ?

its not so musch the description of the commands ( although some definatley need re-describing )
but its the examples of how they are used, showcase & usage ?
to me , they are utterly pointless, and if you can get any helpful info about the cammand in quiery then you are lucky!

I know it would be a BIG job, but wouldnt it be good to have a lil snippet of code for each command, an example of what that command does, not mixed up with others in a larger uneeded bit of code ?

I know that some commands you cannot do a snippet for, ie core commands - but they are straight forward anyway, but commands like the MP commands, you need several of the commands to get a result.

anyway, I hope you see what I`m trying to get at there

Simon
Wik
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st May 2003
Location: CT, United States
Posted: 2nd Jan 2004 04:05
Shouldn't the make memblock from file command be under memblocks?


DrakeX
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Aug 2002
Location:
Posted: 3rd Jan 2004 03:31 Edited at: 3rd Jan 2004 03:32
"its the examples of how they are used, showcase & usage ? to me , they are utterly pointless"

lol i know, how is running a bunch of commands at random supposed to demonstrate anything besides a coder's inability to code?

athlon xp 2000+ | radeon 9500 pro 128mb | 512MB crucial DDR | winXP pro | DBP P5.1b | B3D 1.85 | VC++ 6
Axel Ribenkopf
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Jan 2004
Location: Paris
Posted: 22nd Jan 2004 23:46
Quote: "Not sure if this applies but the last bitmap loaded is the current bitmap. Having this in the help files would have saved me a lot of frustration with debugging. "


It should be carved in the box cover !

2) set object texture 1,3,0

The help says second parameter can be 0,1 or 2. The example program uses 3.

pls refer my post in "bug reports"

A_R
Philip
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Jun 2003
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 25th Jan 2004 06:34
In the book Clone Object is correctly stated to be Object Number, Source Number. In the online help it is wrongly stated to be vice versa.

Philip

What do you mean, bears aren't supposed to wear hats and a tie? P1.3ghz / 384 megs / GeForce MX 5200 128meg / WinXP home
Overdroid
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Sep 2002
Location:
Posted: 13th Feb 2004 08:52
I don't know if this was mentioned, but it might be a good idea to have the index be in alphabetical order.

"If you want an audience, start a fight."
- Gaelic Proverb
=C=
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th May 2003
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 16th Jul 2004 21:37
My personal favourite candidate is

Set Object

And all those commands with a march band of arguments following... The help file has each argument described but as a sentence one next to the other. It would be best in a bullet list. IMHO.

Also what's the score with the examples? it seems there is always the same example going around many commands.

All we need is in the same page a section with the simplest form of a call.

e.g. for the add to stack array(0) which i find it a bit tricky to figure out:

Quote: "
dim myarray(0) as int
...
add to stack myarray()
myarray = 10
...
"


Also, I've done this before with other projects and I might as well do it now. If you wish me to do any writting of sections and parts of the help file I'm happy to do so. Just let me know.

It would be an Idea to have an online form with the current help text and the new suggestion of registered users, those of us with knowledge of HTML should be able to make something better out of it but the form could also force the html standards you keep.

-------------------------------
Pointy birds, Oh pointy pointy
Anoint my head, Anointy 'nointy
=C=
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th May 2003
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 16th Jul 2004 21:38
! Correction !

Quote: "
dim myarray(0) as int
...
add to stack myarray()
myarray() = 10
...
"


-------------------------------
Pointy birds, Oh pointy pointy
Anoint my head, Anointy 'nointy
Keaz
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Sep 2003
Location: Somewhere in south Texas
Posted: 19th Jul 2004 10:00
Were the current changes included in Update 5.4? If not what is the current status?
Nio
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Aug 2004
Location:
Posted: 15th Aug 2004 12:46 Edited at: 15th Aug 2004 12:48
Is this still in progress? I think the biggest benefit to the DarkBasic Pro Community would be a much improved Help system. What good is an all-powerful development application if people can't figure out how to use it? Especially noobs. It seems DB Classic has more support, tutorials and help then the Pro version. On top of that these supposed upcoming help files and the knowledge base haven't been updated in almost a year. That doesn't bring much in consumer confidence if you ask me.
Emperor Baal
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Dec 2003
Location: The Netherlands - Oudenbosch
Posted: 15th Aug 2004 20:33
Add some more help for the shader commands.
For example, cartoon shading expects an edge and shade image. I still don't have a clue how those images should look like.
Maybe if you add a few small "example" images, people would understand it.



las6
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Sep 2002
Location: Finland
Posted: 17th Aug 2004 19:08
just look at the date of the original post. Even back then the help files were badly outdated.


| Keyboard not detected. Press F1 to continue. |
Doom weaver
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Jul 2004
Location:
Posted: 24th Aug 2004 15:52
And can an example show how to texture a matrix with multiple tiles...? It sounds so easy and yet I can't work it out for the life of me.
re faze
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Sep 2004
Location: The shores of hell.
Posted: 4th Mar 2005 04:59
the parameters for glue object to limb are wrong. and sevral commands do not explicitly state that they need light 0 to operate correctly
VRMan3D
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Apr 2005
Location: New England
Posted: 10th Apr 2005 10:09

Here's my suggestion:
For the usage/showcase examples you should ask the entire DB community to submit examples for every command. The best ones would be selected and included in the next version, perhaps with the programmer's name for credit (some motivation to write good examples). Because lets face it, the examples are pathetic, the worst for any compiler I've seen yet.

Let me know what you think.
Thanks,
-=VRMan=-

World Famous 3D Screensavers
-- http://www.vrman3d.com --
Cryptoman
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Nov 2003
Location: Utah Mountains
Posted: 10th Apr 2005 10:58
I've seen no progress on this in 2 years. Where are these updated docs supposed to be?


fasdfsdaf
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Jan 2005
Location:
Posted: 14th Apr 2005 11:14
Ya, what's up with these files? Are they being forgotten?!

www.war3forums.net

A.K.A Death Stalker
Green Gandalf
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Jan 2005
Location: Cornwall UK
Posted: 11th May 2005 07:49 Edited at: 11th May 2005 18:15
Not by us it seems.

Why not have a monthly competition for the best set of help texts and examples for a nominated set of commands?

Judging by the complaints and numerous helps and examples on this and other sites there ought to be no shortage of applicants.

I really don't see why we have to wait for a complete revision of all the helps (a seemingly impossible task, judging by the evidence). After all, we manage with regular piecemeal updates of the compiler and commands.

[Edit 11 May 9:12am Please ignore this post. Something that meets the need is already up and running - see Jessticular's on-line Help system on the main DBP list. Looks like more could be added to it though ...]
Jess T
Moderator
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Sep 2003
Location: Over There... Kablam!
Posted: 16th May 2005 00:06
Thanks for the mention there

For anyone else that's interested, the link is;
http://jessticular.dbspot.com/?nav=dbhelp

If anyone wants to make some suggestions, tell me to go to hell, or just wants to be part of my "cool person" club, then post it up in;
http://forum.thegamecreators.com/?m=forum_view&t=53011&b=1

There's still alot to do, but my busy Uni schedule's takeing up all my time atm, so updates are sparce.

Jess.


Team EOD :: All-Round Nice Guy
dbHelp
Jess T
Moderator
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Sep 2003
Location: Over There... Kablam!
Posted: 26th Jun 2005 14:20
As an update,
You can check the site again, as I have completely uploaded all commands in DBP ( with exception to those in Expansion packs )!

More info can be found at the link posted above, as well as the News sections of the website

Jess.

Team EOD :: All-Round Nice Guy
Want Better dbHelp Files?
Keaz
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Sep 2003
Location: Somewhere in south Texas
Posted: 28th Jun 2005 02:21 Edited at: 28th Jun 2005 02:21
As this thread is over 1 and half years old. I have a question.
Quote: "The docs are currently in the process of being changed to bring them upto date, easier to read and to correct a number of errors.

Please be patient while this is done."

Been patient.... Any updates as to when?

Breaking Stuff=Fun!,Bug Testing<>Fun!, Bug Testing=Breaking Stuff, so...
Bug Testing=Fun! Hmmmm....
DOES NOT COMPUTE! SYSTEM MALFUNTION!
qwe
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Sep 2003
Location: place
Posted: 30th Jun 2005 16:45
the help files dont explain that there are flags 2-5 as well as 1 and 0, for SET OBJECT TRANSPARENCY

If you want images/media/software hosted, log in (with ws ftp or something) http://lysergium.net/public with the username public, password public
Gamefreak
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Jun 2004
Location: Cyberspace
Posted: 20th Jul 2005 04:58
The context help doesn't work for #Constant
Keaz
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Sep 2003
Location: Somewhere in south Texas
Posted: 4th Aug 2005 03:36
I've personally officially given up on this topic. I'm acttually the point Jess reached a while back. Now when I need more info I ask in the forum and If I get an answer I post it to the DBHelp site if Jess or someone else doesn't put it there first. The context help issue isn't a problem context issues can be fixed by updating your ini your self by adding the missing data in notepad or making your own ini. The help files will be one of my concerns with my editor. I decided to do it, becuase I want TGC to able to have more time for compiler bugs rather than documentation updates.

P.S. Look at any of Jessticular's post for a link to the new community help site.

Breaking Stuff=Fun!,Bug Testing<>Fun!, Bug Testing=Breaking Stuff, so...
Bug Testing=Fun! Hmmmm....
DOES NOT COMPUTE! SYSTEM MALFUNTION!
IanG
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Sep 2004
Location: Cyberspace
Posted: 12th Jan 2006 23:26
it's getting a bit beyond a joke now doc wise, as it has been going on what seems like centuries, i'm sure everyone would appreciate it coming with patch 6 *hint* *hint*


amd athlon xp 2600+,1280mb,FX 5200 128mb,200gb,xp pro sp2
Lost in Thought
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Feb 2004
Location: U.S.A. : Douglas, Georgia
Posted: 13th Jan 2006 00:40
I would say after patch 6. I don't want to wait 6 months before getting it while waiting on them to do docs.

BULLSHOCK 2
Moderator
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Jun 2005
Location: Shocking Bulls
Posted: 14th Feb 2006 22:23
are you going to do an updated keywords file as well?

Wolf Dreamer
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Sep 2005
Location: the land of chaotic dreams
Posted: 4th Mar 2006 21:48
Clicking on the following two things gives an error in the help file. They aren't found.
Quote: "
APPEND OBJECT ANIMATION
ATTACH OBJECT TO STATIC
"


Anyway, why not have the entire file out there somewhere, and everyone just add on to it, like a wikipedia, and once everything is working right, include that in an update.

Anyone feel like creating a wikipedia and hosting it somewhere? It'd be the most efficient way to do things, and the software is free.

the last sane human being in a world gone mad
Jess T
Moderator
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Sep 2003
Location: Over There... Kablam!
Posted: 5th Mar 2006 10:03
There's already 3...

Mine: dbp.tgchelp.com (Being revamped at the mo' )
Then another person's who actually uses a Wiki rather than a custom built system like mine.
And, finally, there's the German community's help file thingo

Team EOD :: All-Round Nice Guy
Want Better dbHelp Files?
Duffer
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Feb 2003
Location: chair
Posted: 20th Mar 2006 00:42
@ Rich,


rem CSG Commands
PERFORM CSG UNION TargetObject, BrushObject
PERFORM CSG DIFFERENCE TargetObject, BrushObject
PERFORM CSG INTERSECTION TargetObject, BrushObject
PERFORM CSG UNION ON VERTEXDATA BrushMesh
PERFORM CSG DIFFERENCE ON VERTEXDATA BrushMesh
PERFORM CSG INTERSECTION ON VERTEXDATA BrushMesh

rem New Object Commands
SET GLOBAL OBJECT CREATION SharedVBMode

can these be included in the DBPro normal help files pls...

a long time dabbler with DBC and DBPro with no actual talent but lots of enthusiasm...
LeeBamber
TGC Lead Developer
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Jan 2000
Location: England
Posted: 21st Mar 2006 13:53
At the moment these commands are unsupported, and added to aid the compiling of the FPSC engine which uses CSG in this way. We have yet to decide whether to maintain these commands as they are something of a one trick pony at the moment. To build them up to fully dynamic, multi-purpose commands would take a good deal of extra coding, ergo, there current state. Hopefully simply having access to some CSG tricks is better than having to write your own, and they are free

"Small, smart, and running around the legs of dinosaurs to find enough food to survive, bedroom programmers aren't extinct after all "
vibe runner
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Aug 2006
Location: The Future
Posted: 29th Jun 2007 17:00
What are CSG commands for, what do they do? Just a quick replay, plz.
pcRaider
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th May 2007
Location:
Posted: 9th Jul 2007 05:10
CSG commands
Constructive solid geometry
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Constructive_solid_geometry
pcRaider
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th May 2007
Location:
Posted: 10th Jul 2007 15:09
MOVE OBJECT

This command will move the specified 3D object in 3D space. The command uses the current direction of the object and moves it using the specified step value. In order to see your 3D object, you must ensure the camera is pointing in the right direction and that both camera and 3D object are within 5000 units from each other. The object number should be specified using an integer value. The step value should be specified using a real number.

Syntax
MOVE OBJECT Object Number, Speed


Related Information
BASIC3D Commands Menu
Index


Example Code
View Showcase Example
View Usage Example
-------------------------------------------------

it's Speed is Speed or Step ???
Xolatron
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 12th Mar 2006
Location: The Star Forge Language: DBpro
Posted: 23rd Jul 2007 01:17 Edited at: 23rd Jul 2007 01:18
pcRaider: Good example of troubled help files. It should be step. It moves the object by that distance *each call*, not *each second* (speed is units/second)

The latest community discussion of how to improve the help files seems to be at http://forum.thegamecreators.com/?m=forum_view&t=110744&b=1

And thanks for continuing to include the undocumented commands, Lee. I agree with Duffer; even if they aren't perfect, most undocumented commands are good enough to keep and have help files for. Having half a command is still infinitely better than having no command.

-Xol

pcRaider
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th May 2007
Location:
Posted: 23rd Jul 2007 11:36 Edited at: 23rd Jul 2007 11:40
Thank you for a reply.
I corrected helpfile.

Attachments

Login to view attachments

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2017-07-21 21:32:57
Your offset time is: 2017-07-21 21:32:57