Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

3 Dimensional Chat / TiTaniUm's 3D DevThread

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 28th Feb 2011 10:57
Hey guys,
Im kind of new to modelling, I have done tids and tads here and there, but nothing that has ever been finished.
Recently, I have done a Masada Magpul, and I am really pleased with it.
I intended to get it into FPSC, but UV mapping it is going to be an absolute nightmare. It has all been done with boxes, and polygon extrusions in 3d Studio Max. Its somewhere between 1.5 and 2k pollies. It is actually a massive, massive improvement for me. Trust me, I am a messy modeller. And when I say messy... I mean really messy. But this on the other hand would be my best work yet. Still a few things here and there that shouldnt be there, or can get tweaked a little, but, this is still a work in progress, and I am very much still a learner at this.

So, if you guys have any crits, or advice, or just some friendly words to share, I really would appreciate it.
As you probably all would know, starting modelling, without any prior (proper) learning isn't the easiest thing in the world to do. Also, if anyone can give me advice on UV mapping the darn thing, that would help, ALOT. more than you would know

I am also currently working on a few small items for a pack myself and a friend have going (for FPSC again) and the other odd weapon or entity I need. One of these being a luger. But that will come later.

Again, I really would appreciate support and crits, it helps a lot.

TiTaniUm

EDIT:
If anyone wants to give any tips on working out the UV map, i've attached it to this post so you can look in awe of how hard this is going to be

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Quik
Years of Service