Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Geek Culture / Brightness Lost By Fast Switching of LED

Author
Message
Dark Java Dude 64
Community Leader
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Sep 2010
Location: Neither here nor there nor anywhere
Posted: 17th Jun 2011 23:59 Edited at: 18th Jun 2011 00:00
So for the Programmable LED Light Show Thingy i mentioned i would be making earlier, i realized that to control 16 LED's i would need to switch each LED on and off as the LED's take turns being lit up (there would be a 16 byte buffer, each byte being the brightness of the corresponding LED, and i would need to toggle which address is being read as only one address can be read at a time), and i thought that this might decrease the brightness by quite a bit. Say each LED was switched on and off 60 times per second, how much would that lower the brightness?? Originally i thought i could use a capacitor in parallel with the LED to give the LED a somewhat constant current, but if i need an LED to suddenly become darker, a capacitor is no longer an option as it would make the LED fade to that lower brightness. As i think about it more, being that i live in the USA our lights switch on and off 60 times per second and they maintain a nice brightness.

So yah, would you think it would lower the brightness by much?

Neuro Fuzzy
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Jun 2007
Location:
Posted: 18th Jun 2011 02:58
nope, it doesn't effect the brightness much - pulse width modulation is the standard way to go with that sort of stuff.


Why does blue text appear every time you are near?
Dark Java Dude 64
Community Leader
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Sep 2010
Location: Neither here nor there nor anywhere
Posted: 18th Jun 2011 05:01
So adjusting pulse widths is what i shall do to control brightness? That seems like it would work rather well but each LED will have a brightness from 0 (off) to 255 (full on) and at lower brightness's, it would have to switch rather slowly, probably noticeably
Quote: "nope, it doesn't effect the brightness much"
That does answer my question so im happy.

The Wilderbeast
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Nov 2005
Location: UK
Posted: 18th Jun 2011 11:57
PWM actually means that you can make it slightly brighter. The reason for this is that if you drive an LED slightly harder than it should go for a very short amount of time, then it increases in brightness (obviously) but also doesn't damage the LED.

Source? A friend of mine researched and used that technique for an A2 project - works brilliantly!

Dark Java Dude 64
Community Leader
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Sep 2010
Location: Neither here nor there nor anywhere
Posted: 18th Jun 2011 12:25 Edited at: 18th Jun 2011 12:28
IMO i dont think i would want to chance it...

Speaking of pushing an LED over its limits, last night i put a perfectly good blue LED through torture by passing 4.5 V through it; never seen an LED so bright! I dont know its rating as it came from a crappy thing i got at the Dollar Store that broke but the leads were getting rather hot. But the LED lives on today!!

Interplanetary Funk
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Apr 2010
Location: Ipswich, United Kingdom
Posted: 18th Jun 2011 12:31
are you controlling the LED through 1 pin? cos if you had a 2 ports you could use transistors to determine which one was on and a basic resistor based ADC to determine the current going to the LED.

But if you're only using 1 pin then yeah, PWM.


Visit my blog for any and all info on what I do coding wise.
Code eater
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Feb 2008
Location: Behind You!
Posted: 18th Jun 2011 12:32
What a trooper of an LED

If pots and pans were "if"s and "and"s there would be no work for programmer's hands...
Dark Java Dude 64
Community Leader
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Sep 2010
Location: Neither here nor there nor anywhere
Posted: 18th Jun 2011 22:01 Edited at: 18th Jun 2011 22:18
Hmmm... You made a good point, i shall be using two ports to control it! That's a more attractive method of controlling an LED to me

Edit:
So i have been looking at the place i usually look to find electronic components (even though i have never gotten any) because they allow you to get things without ordering two trillion of them; they are futurlec.com. But i found a nice DAC with a current settling speed of only 100 nanoseconds so i will likely connect all of the LED's grounds to its output and the LED's inputs each to its own transistor.

Quote: "What a trooper of an LED"
I feel bad for the little piece of epoxy coated semiconductor! I probably ate some of its efficiency by doing that But i have no use for it!

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2025-05-21 09:37:49
Your offset time is: 2025-05-21 09:37:49