Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

3 Dimensional Chat / Object is made of limb?

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 3rd Jul 2011 21:01
I am new at 3d modeling. Today I made my 1st "3d model" by blender, exported into .3ds, but when I load it in my game, it has 1 limb. If I delete that limb it disappears. What was made wrong? How to make loaded object to be Object itself but not a Limb?

My game object movement depends on one (the first one) limb added at (0,0,1) local coordinates of object and hidden to get some vector later. I have all the limbs that will be used in separate object files, so the object would be constructed inside program.
I would use totally 2 limbs for a tank so 1 helps to rotate whole tank and another to rotate turret.

added models -->

Join The dark Side! We have cookies

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Travis Gatlin
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 5th Jul 2011 03:00
That limb is the whole object, when you delete that limb, your deleting the whole object.

Your signature has been erased by a mod please reduce it to no larger that 600 x 120.
Kiaurutis
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 5th Jul 2011 23:12
When i load a box object (make object box object number, x,y,z), i can add an limb number 1 to box. In this case box object is not a limb. Can i make my model be not a limb but object itself? I don't know how to express that... too few understanding about objects. I want to be able to add a limb number 1 to my object inside of my game.

I was hoping someone will answer this, but I found some kind a solution:

I load object, then extract its mesh and later rebuild object from mesh

Travis Gatlin
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 6th Jul 2011 19:25 Edited at: 6th Jul 2011 19:31