Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Dark GDK / Color help

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Hey all I am new to C++ and the GDK.

I am needing to write a small program Displays an image which i have down pat. after a key press the program steps through each pixel and then swaps the red component with the blue component. here is what i have so far, As far as i can tell it does not work, but some of the previous components of the GDK did not show up when i start to debug. I am not looking for a complete answer but some help in the right direction. thank you a head of time.

Thank you for helping!
Hawkblood
Years of Service
User Offline
pixelColor=dbPoint(x,0);

did you mean to not use the y component?

dbDot(blue, green, red);

I'm not at my home pc right now, but isn't that supposed to be dbDot(x,y,color)?
(the color is an DWORD representation of the pixil color)

The fastest code is the code never written.
Mireben
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 7th Jul 2011 22:55 Edited at: 7th Jul 2011 23:28
Believe it or not, there are at least five different problems with that seemingly simple program.

- If you construct a color with Blue = dbRGB(0,0,255) and then try to compare it with the color returned by dbPoint, there is a good chance that they will never be equal. That's because dbRGB adds an alpha component to the created colour, but dbPoint does not add the alpha, so even if the colour is matching, the value will not match. (I remember reading on the forum that it may or may not add alpha depending on the operating system and bitmap version, but I'm not sure.) To solve this, I suggest comparing the individual colour parts:

2. pixelColor=dbPoint(x,0); should be pixelColor=dbPoint(x,y);