Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Dark GDK / Making 2/3D Graphics and Displaying [Question]

Author
Message
vitinho444
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 12th Oct 2010
Location:
Posted: 11th Jul 2011 14:04
Hey guys!

Im thinking making a RPG but i want to make it 2/3D..

I mean.. its a 2D World but his behavior is 3D.

How's that possible in DGDK?

Learning C++
VB6 Advanced: 4/5
VB.NET Advanced: 4/5
Mr Bigglesworth
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Mar 2008
Location:
Posted: 11th Jul 2011 18:30
You could texture 3D planes with your images and use them as "sprites"
vitinho444
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 12th Oct 2010
Location:
Posted: 11th Jul 2011 21:22
hum...are u saying using the sprites as textures of a 3d object?

Learning C++
VB6 Advanced: 4/5
VB.NET Advanced: 4/5
WLGfx
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Nov 2007
Location: NW United Kingdom
Posted: 12th Jul 2011 04:58
You could either use isometric tiles (sprites that look 3d) or use 3d. Using 3d would be visually better by far. Using 2d isometric tiles would be about how you position your tiles.

Using 3d you can use an image as a texture on a square plane 3d object yes. The only thing to start with id the position of the 3d camera and where it pointing to so you see what's shown on the screen.

Warning! May contain Nuts!
vitinho444
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 12th Oct 2010
Location:
Posted: 12th Jul 2011 13:44
well, i think the 3D was the best option but im not very good with it...

the game that im thinking is a thing like this:

you may think : "this guy is insane, he wont do this in a thousand years.." well i know but im very dedicated in what i do and i think i will be able to make it.

So the question now.. Whats the best way to learn 3D=?

Learning C++
VB6 Advanced: 4/5
VB.NET Advanced: 4/5
Mr Bigglesworth
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Mar 2008
Location:
Posted: 13th Jul 2011 06:22
Doing 3D isn't as hard as you think, I seem to have a harder time with 2D
vitinho444
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 12th Oct 2010
Location:
Posted: 13th Jul 2011 13:17
LOL, 2D is way easier than 3d, you dont need to position object in space, you dont need to rotate it, you dont need to position the camera etc etc xD


But my problem in 3D is where i made my .X Models.. i dont find any good 3D Modeler for my characters
TGC ones are too expensive

Learning C++
VB6 Advanced: 4/5
VB.NET Advanced: 4/5
WLGfx
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Nov 2007
Location: NW United Kingdom
Posted: 13th Jul 2011 14:15
After a while of working with DBP and GDK was that objects can point in a direction too like sprites in 2d. And you can move objects up, down, left, right, forward, backward, turn then, roll them, etc.

As you move on you will find that it's really just an extension on 2D but much better when it comes to the visual effects you get which are also easier to program.

Most visual effects use COS and SIN so have a look into some code that uses those functions. ie. Having something spinning around your player.

Warning! May contain Nuts!
Hassan
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th May 2009
Location: <script> alert(1); </script>
Posted: 13th Jul 2011 14:17
Quote: "Doing 3D isn't as hard as you think, I seem to have a harder time with 2D"

exactly

WLGfx
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Nov 2007
Location: NW United Kingdom
Posted: 14th Jul 2011 04:38
Modelling programs:

Blender is a popular used by many here.
Deled CE is one I like using for building some levels to test out stuff.
Truespace 7.6 is also a good one too.

There's many more free programs like the ones above.

Warning! May contain Nuts!
vitinho444
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 12th Oct 2010
Location:
Posted: 14th Jul 2011 11:10
i used AC3D from TGC and i made a model but when i import it to DGDK it is very little...

Learning C++
VB6 Advanced: 4/5
VB.NET Advanced: 4/5
JTK
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Feb 2010
Location:
Posted: 14th Jul 2011 14:55
Use dbScaleObject() to make it bigger / smaller. That should do it!

Regards,
JTK
vitinho444
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 12th Oct 2010
Location:
Posted: 14th Jul 2011 15:36
Yes but how can i make it bigger without, i dont know how to explai, aaa.. make it bigger in one side and another still little.?

thats my problem i dont know how to scale it to be right size to the camera and the player and stuff, and then rotation its another thing that i dont know

Learning C++
VB6 Advanced: 4/5
VB.NET Advanced: 4/5
WLGfx
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Nov 2007
Location: NW United Kingdom
Posted: 15th Jul 2011 00:00
I don't know about AC3D but inside the actual modeller you should have something that gives you the unit scale for the grid you're modelling on. Those units should be the same as the units within DBP and GDK. Sometimes you have to check the preferences to find the unit scale or type.

Warning! May contain Nuts!
vitinho444
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 12th Oct 2010
Location:
Posted: 15th Jul 2011 12:06
ah ok i will check thanks a lot

Learning C++
VB6 Advanced: 4/5
VB.NET Advanced: 4/5

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-05-18 07:16:15
Your offset time is: 2024-05-18 07:16:15