Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

DarkBASIC Discussion / New To Game Programming

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Hi everyone,

I have recently been looking at getting into game programming and decided to go with DarkBasic Classic Lite. I have chose this due to the fact I have never programmed a game before and didn't wanted to spend too much as I am just starting out.

Can anyone give me any advice for someone new to DarkBasic?

Thanks.
BN2 Productions
Years of Service
User Offline
Welcome to the forums!

I'd suggest reading through TDK's tutorials, they are stickied at the top and do an awesome job covering the basics.

Start small and don't get discouraged. I've been doing this for years and haven't completed anything major (some arcade game clones, which were fun to make).

Start with 2D. 3D will SEEM easier, and has a nicer initial learning curve (you can easily make something that works) but it has a MUCH steeper learning curve to do anything useful. 2D is a little tricky to pick up at first, but it forces you to learn how to program and you become much better much faster than if you stick with 3D (Trust me, I did 3D first, but it wasn't till 2D that I actually started to spread my wings as a programmer, now I'm going back to 3D and there's so much more I can do).

Start small. You can't make an mmo yet, don't try, you will just get discouraged.