Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

FPS Creator X10 / Flashligth for FPS Creator x10

Author
Message
C1995
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Jan 2011
Location:
Posted: 20th Jul 2011 13:38
Hello, does someone have a flashligth for FPS Creator x10 v1.11?
Le Shorte
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Apr 2009
Location: Wisconsin
Posted: 20th Jul 2011 21:34
Unfortunately, no one's got flashlights yet. Well, actually, can't remember if they were in Mystic Mod's internal beta only, or if there was a public release. Check out the mystic mod thread...

Cheesehead for life.
NIlooc223
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Aug 2010
Location: Heaven
Posted: 20th Jul 2011 22:24
no theres no flashligth

but there is one partly working one that just flickers sometimes for free in thegamecreators store

Your signature has been erased by a mod - no affiliate links thanks
C1995
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Jan 2011
Location:
Posted: 21st Jul 2011 00:28
Thank you all for your help. I'm looking at Mystic Mod
srealist
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Dec 2010
Location: Orlando, Florida, USA
Posted: 21st Jul 2011 23:24
There's also the LED 4-pack that works pretty well to give the illusion of a flashlight. Also in the store.
Desecrated Studios
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Jan 2011
Location: Kirtona
Posted: 21st Jul 2011 23:31
We have flashlights in x9

-Josh
Website is under construction
System Specs: AMD Phenom x3 2.2GHz, 4GB DDR2 RAM, 1TB HD, HD Radeon 5770 1GB, 22in Acer Monitor
srealist
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Dec 2010
Location: Orlando, Florida, USA
Posted: 21st Jul 2011 23:35
^^^Get out of here!!!! And take your outdated graphic engine with you!

NIlooc223
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Aug 2010
Location: Heaven
Posted: 22nd Jul 2011 20:54
LED 4-pack that works pretty well

Those were the ones i was talking about :p

Your signature has been erased by a mod - no affiliate links thanks
s4real
Valued Member
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Jul 2006
Location:
Posted: 23rd Jul 2011 05:56
Yes you can have a flashlight in x10 the same method as x9 I converted to work with x10 a long time ago.

check out this link :- http://forum.thegamecreators.com/?m=forum_view&t=119222&b=33

best s4real



Pack ya games with vishnu packer its free.
C1995
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Jan 2011
Location:
Posted: 23rd Jul 2011 19:21 Edited at: 23rd Jul 2011 19:37
Hello s4real, i have downloaded your flashligth but when i compile the level to try it, the FPS Creator hangs. View the photo.

Attachments

Login to view attachments
pajkoCGR
7
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Jul 2011
Location: Pula, Croatia
Posted: 23rd Jul 2011 20:59
s4real, where is the download link?

-First of the best-
s4real
Valued Member
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Jul 2006
Location:
Posted: 24th Jul 2011 05:03 Edited at: 24th Jul 2011 05:07
Quote: "s4real, where is the download link?"


Just click download on the first post.

Quote: "Hello s4real, i have downloaded your flashligth but when i compile the level to try it, the FPS Creator hangs. View the photo."


Unless when x10 was updated they changed the way lighting was done, sorry I don't support x10 anymore and don't even have it installed.

Did you make sure you used the x10 version as the x9 version is there as well.

Maybe someone who stills use dx10 can help you.

best s4real



Pack ya games with vishnu packer its free.
Desecrated Studios
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Jan 2011
Location: Kirtona
Posted: 24th Jul 2011 06:28
Ahaha i want to start an internet war so bad but i won't. Mainly because i know i wouldn't win, but i would not say that x9 is outdated at all. It has improved a lot! Have you seen the new update for it?

Anyways, yeah that is all i wanted to say...

-Josh
Website is under construction
System Specs: AMD Phenom x3 2.2GHz, 4GB DDR2 RAM, 1TB HD, HD Radeon 5770 1GB, 22in Acer Monitor
C1995
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Jan 2011
Location:
Posted: 24th Jul 2011 14:44
Thanks for all s4real. I think that i don't use flashligth, it's very difficult. I try with other flashligths but all use the environment to run and they don't serve me.
srealist
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Dec 2010
Location: Orlando, Florida, USA
Posted: 25th Jul 2011 19:34
Good news! The script does work and looks great. However, it appears that the readme file is no longer correct.

When I tried to use the script within a light, it promptly crashed x10. However, if you just throw that sucker into a trigger zone, it's good to go.

Thanks S4REAL! This little script is great and gives me some new ideas.
srealist
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Dec 2010
Location: Orlando, Florida, USA
Posted: 25th Jul 2011 19:52 Edited at: 25th Jul 2011 19:55
@C1995, this script is quite easy to use if you just follow the instructions above in my post and it works perfect. If you want a brighter or dimmer light, just change the line in the script that says effectambience=40, to whatever value you like between 1-100.

If you have any problems, email me and I will send you a sample level with it working or help in whatever way I can. Okie doke?

@S4REAL with your permission, I'd like to give a go at embedding the script into an item that can be picked up and then freely distribute this to the community. Of course, with credit to the folks that worked on it. Lemme know if this would be okay.
srealist
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Dec 2010
Location: Orlando, Florida, USA
Posted: 25th Jul 2011 20:10 Edited at: 25th Jul 2011 20:28
This can give everyone a better sense for what S4REAL's script looks like and what the LED 4 pack looks like. It's also worth noting that EAI's LED pack uses a strobing effect and requires the user to keep the mouse button pressed.

Both are cool; depends on what you are looking to do. S4REAL's script is definitely a more natural looking effect.

Edit: Just noticed that S4REAL's light also uses a hud image to produce a very nice directional effect on the lighting. Simple but elegant and creative.

s4real
Valued Member
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Jul 2006
Location:
Posted: 25th Jul 2011 23:27
Quote: "@S4REAL with your permission, I'd like to give a go at embedding the script into an item that can be picked up and then freely distribute this to the community. Of course, with credit to the folks that worked on it. Lemme know if this would be okay."


Yeah go for it, it be nice to have a more updated version of the flashlight for you x10 users.

best s4real



Pack ya games with vishnu packer its free.
C1995
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Jan 2011
Location:
Posted: 26th Jul 2011 01:44
Hello srealist, I need a flashligth that doesn't use the ambience light because I entry at level with 50 of ambience ligth, but in a zone, the ambience decrease to 3 and here i need the flashlight, but to exit to this zone, the ambient ligth increases to 50, so this flashlight doesn't serve me, because, if the ambience ligth in script were at 40, when I switch off the flashligth the ambient increases at 40 when they should be at 3 or 50!! . Other thing, I have bougth the model pack 10 and there are a Barett sniper rifle!!!, but when the level is charging, an error appears and it says that the 'LRSRvweap_N.DDS' texture is corrupted, I try to open this but it no opens. I tryed to reinstall the model pack but it doesn't work. Does anyone know why?
srealist
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Dec 2010
Location: Orlando, Florida, USA
Posted: 26th Jul 2011 05:00 Edited at: 26th Jul 2011 05:00
@s4real, awesome! Thank you. Will let you know what I come with.

@Exu, you know I was joking with you.

Rest assured, us x10 users are all too aware of the features and support that x9 enjoys. We all have our reasons for sticking with x10 whether it is a) we are already committed to a x10 project(s) or b) stubbornly want to hang on to this engine in the hopes that we can rekindle some community interest and thus support, updates, etc., or c) some combination of a and b.

Believe me, that ability to make custom shaders, particle effects, pick from a host of MODs, have model packs that just work, use scripts with states and conditions that we don't have....we are all aware of these things.

So, no need to start an "internet war" with us. We are managing to get by but there's no doubt that x9 has the most flexibility, community support, and company support. Enjoy it!
Desecrated Studios
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Jan 2011
Location: Kirtona
Posted: 27th Jul 2011 04:50
I know, and i wish i could use x10. Just my computer is not fast enough i guess? Like 60fps on x9 is a lot different than 60fps on x10. When i look around in x10 it has little lag or something and it's really annoying, that's why i use x9. And the fact that x9 pretty much looks like x10 now. But we all have our reasons, and i just stated mine

Oh and you know an internet war would be fun XD

-Josh
Website is under construction
System Specs: AMD Phenom x3 2.2GHz, 4GB DDR2 RAM, 1TB HD, HD Radeon 5770 1GB, 22in Acer Monitor
Norion
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Jun 2010
Location: The Netherlands.
Posted: 27th Jul 2011 19:39
Quote: "Oh and you know an internet war would be fun XD"


until you get banned or slapped

Cheers


N.

Sorry for my english, i'm an alien
Desecrated Studios
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Jan 2011
Location: Kirtona
Posted: 28th Jul 2011 03:24
Meh, i think it would be a short ban

-Josh
Website is under construction
System Specs: AMD Phenom x3 2.2GHz, 4GB DDR2 RAM, 1TB HD, HD Radeon 5770 1GB, 22in Acer Monitor
BlackFox
FPSC Master
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th May 2008
Location: Knight to Queens Bishop 3
Posted: 28th Jul 2011 08:23
Please quit trying to provoke the x10 users. They do not come over to the x9 side and cause issues. Too many times posts get derailed on the x9 vs x10 issue. Both are good products- some people like it, some don't. I drive a Ford, he drives a Chevy. Let it be.

If you are looking for a ban, I can forward your request on your behalf and help speed up the process.

- BlackFox
s4real
Valued Member
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Jul 2006
Location:
Posted: 28th Jul 2011 09:17
Starting an internet war because it was fun would def get ya ban and prob a longer one than you would like, so do as blackfox has said don't do it.

best s4real



Pack ya games with vishnu packer its free.
KeithC
Senior Moderator
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Oct 2005
Location: Michigan
Posted: 28th Jul 2011 17:26
@ Exu Corporations: I can tell you right now, that if you decide that starting some unneeded conflict here is a good idea; you'll be looking for a new home permanently. Only warning.

-Keith

science boy
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Oct 2008
Location:
Posted: 28th Jul 2011 22:51
s4real good work my friend, black fox you da man, srealist good work my friend better than the efforts i have my light is a strobe effect using the gun muzzleflash as the source.


and exu be good, and be happy you are here doing what you love. x10ers are sombre and peaceful folk and like to smoke pipeweed and drink lovely ales like the riverfolk do and we love all things that grow like game development, joint ventures and enjoying new ideas, be constructive not destructive.



an unquenchable thirst for knowledge of game creation!!!

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2019-06-16 13:33:26
Your offset time is: 2019-06-16 13:33:26