Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Dark GDK / Game Loop help

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Hello again all i am in need of some help here. I know the code i have is rough, and most likely not the most efficient way to write this but I am still learning and making all kinds of mistakes using switches.

I am using a lot of "if's" anyways the program works fine as i have it with 2 missing things i'd like to add.

the first being I would like for the game to reset and ask for another round of input instead of just closing.

secondly i want this to be a best of 3 or 5 RPS game and when

here is the long (probably messy to a seasoned programmer) code to what I have.

once I get this working with some veteran help I will add in the mouse clicks and change the atoi to image clicks.

thank you in advance for your time, and Thank you for helping a newbie.

Thank you for helping!
Mireben
Years of Service
User Offline
I have looked through the program and have several suggestions for you. I will post them in a few hours from now.
Mireben
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 29th Jul 2011 00:12 Edited at: 29th Jul 2011 00:15
As promised, here are my suggestions about the program. The way you tried to implement the exit condition is almost good, but you put this block inside the main loop (LoopGDK):

It's not in a very good place there. What you need is to increment a counter only at the moment when somebody wins. The proper place to handle the counters will be in the winLose() function. Delete this block from the main loop.

The counter variables are not initialized. Always initialize your variables because in C++ they are not guaranteed to be zero!