Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

3 Dimensional Chat / where to find an experienced 3d maker

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
hi there. i'm a creative game writer with no 3d experience.
i submitted a manuscript detailing a proposed game to Ubisoft and Square Enix, both of which offered to meet with me, and Ubistoft actually offered me a job. however, they want a demo of my game before they let me make any pitch meetings.
could you please give me some advice as to where i could find experienced 3d makers? i hope to begin making this demo before 2012.

)l(
PirateJohn
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 21st Aug 2011 20:20
First off, congrats!

Depending on how much you want to spend, I'm a member of a website called the3dstudio.com where people buy and sell stock 3d models, so if you want to make a demo with fairly generic models, you can buy some from there. Detailed models can go for a few hundred bucks, but there are often much simpler, somewhat blocky models available for as low as about fifteen or twenty.

You can also get some inexpensive 3d software (I use AC3D) and make very simple models on your own. Even without 3d experience, you can make a demo using stand-in models. I'm sure Ubisoft will be very understanding of the fact that you're a programmer and not an artist.
Travis Gatlin
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 21st Aug 2011 20:22
Nice! I can do a good bit of 3D art but not much animation. Could you tell me about the kinds of things you want to be created? I'll help you as best as i can, if within my ability. If not, good luck!