Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

AppGameKit Classic Chat / Best Practices

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 10th Sep 2011 01:12
I thought it would be great if some of the more experienced programmers could maybe share some best practices when it comes to programming games. If it directly relates to AppGameKit . . . even better!

I am new to AppGameKit and game programming. I have some background in other languages, but certainly not game related. I'm hoping the more experienced guys might be willing to share.

I have a couple questions could get things started.

1. When is it better to use a function over a subroutine or vice versa?

I prefer functions over subroutines, but maybe I am missing something.

2. When should you delete sprites?

I've just been making them invisible, if I no longer need it displayed on the screen. However, my first game is just cards so there is no real reason for me to delete a sprite.

Any contributions would be greatly appreciated. Thanks
Bursar
Years of Service
User Offline
I can't give you a technical answer about routines vs functions, but I always use functions. They just seem neater to me

With regards to deleting sprites, I guess it depends on what you're doing. If you were writing a bullet hell shooter, then there is likely to be quite an overhead in creating and deleting tens of bullet sprites every frame. In this instance I'd create a bunch of sprites at the beginning, and recycle them by making them invisible when they expire and then repositioning and making them visible as I need them again.

But between levels I'd delete all the sprites I'd used to free up memory and create a fresh batch for the next level.
Hodgey
Years of Service
User Offline