Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Dark GDK / Object Packaging

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Before I begin any project, I always experiment with some areas I want to achieve before launching into it, just in case I get half way through (again) and become disillusioned (yes I've been programming for about 30 years, leaving a trail of half finished apps and games behind me).

I am looking for a way to package Objects and their textures so that the contents could not easily be *ahem* borrowed.

I have though about storing the textures for the multi-mesh .x file in a single file using memblocks which seems simple enough, but if I convert the .x object into a mesh for storing in a memblock, it loses all it's textures, and I can see no way of reattaching the textures to it (I'm talking about 100 meshes in these .x files to make up a starship interior, with about 10-15 different textures to apply).

I don't want to fork out the £50 that TGC are asking for their new funky packager so am looking for a way to store all of the related resource files in such a way that they can't be browsed and *ahem* borrowed.

I realise I might have to write a routine to create the package in the first place in order to reload it (I've done it before for DirectX), but don't know how to get around the fact that the only way to use .x files (or 3ds etc) is to have them in plain site somewhere along with the images for thyre textures when you distribute the game.

And the Geek shall inherit the earth
Hawkblood
Years of Service
User Offline