Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Author
Message
Impetus73
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Aug 2011
Location: Volda, Norway
Posted: 30th Sep 2011 22:38 Edited at: 30th Sep 2011 22:39
I'm working on a game in tier1, and want to get feedback on the concept.

It's a well known puzzle type game, where you place directional arrows, and press GO to send the turtle away to it's goal.



I'm only in the 3'rd day of programming, and all graphics are placeholders...

Game .EXE attached.

----------------
AGK user - novice
Did Amiga / AMOS programming in the 90's, just started programming again with AGK.

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Impetus73
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Aug 2011
Location: Volda, Norway
Posted: 1st Oct 2011 12:35 Edited at: 1st Oct 2011 14:06
Argh.. it seems like the #include command is broken, I reported this issue on the google boards just now.

When i tried to clean up the code, by moving the command: Global Dim spr[32,18] to a "globals.agc" file, and used: #include "globals.agc" in the MAIN file, the dim did not get declared...

Same with Loadimage commands...

Should not the #include just link together source files? how can it be broken? it's completly confusing...

EDIT: Thanks to Hubdule I found that the #include command appends the files to the end of main, not inserting them where the #include command is, so the Dim got declared where the program never vent, below the main loop.

----------------
AGK user - novice
Did Amiga / AMOS programming in the 90's, just started programming again with AGK.
Hubdule
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Sep 2002
Location: Gundelsheim
Posted: 1st Oct 2011 12:55
Impetus73
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Aug 2011
Location: Volda, Norway
Posted: 2nd Oct 2011 01:51
I have updated the game, now it's 64x64 sprites on the grid, instead of 32x32 since I want it to run on mobile devices.



It's a sandbox and toolbox logic game. You can drag and drop the arrows to guide the Turtle to it's goal, the cake in lack of a more logical idea... :-P

I really need someone to make the graphics for this game



----------------
AGK user - novice
Did Amiga / AMOS programming in the 90's, just started programming again with AGK.

Attachments

Login to view attachments
JLMoondog
Moderator
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Jan 2009
Location: Paradox
Posted: 2nd Oct 2011 03:13
Send me an email Impetus, I can see about hooking you up with some graphics.

Impetus73
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Aug 2011
Location: Volda, Norway
Posted: 8th Oct 2011 12:00
I have updated the game, I totally rewrote it from scratch to remove spaghetti code, and used types and more functions to clean up the logic.

Seems like you have to define types in the main file, or they will not get defined.. hmm...

Press Alt+F4 to end the game.

It's still very unfinished, but now have a working name; IQ Turtle

The graphics are placeholder sprites, and standard fonts used.



----------------
AGK user - novice
Did Amiga / AMOS programming in the 90's, just started programming again with AGK.

Attachments

Login to view attachments
LeeBamber
TGC Lead Developer
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Jan 2000
Location: England
Posted: 9th Oct 2011 05:45
Welcome fellow AMOS programmer, nice to have you here and welcome to the AppGameKit community. I like the look of your game and well done for choosing larger tiles, a very important consideration when thinking about small form factor devices! Don't worry too much about graphics at this stage, an artist will fall from heaven when you need one If you get the gameplay pace just right and create some lastability through interesting level challenges, you'll be well on your way. I am guessing you are old school, so I won't be lecturing on the importance of gameplay

I drink tea, and in my spare time I write software.
chromatic3d
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Oct 2011
Location: rnd
Posted: 16th Oct 2011 08:52
Great game! Really teaches you to think ahead much like programming.
Impetus73
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Aug 2011
Location: Volda, Norway
Posted: 16th Oct 2011 18:31
Thanks Lee and chromatic3D !

I am still working on this game, and here is a demo of the latest build. Still a million things to add, and still placeholder graphics.



Game.exe attached.

----------------
AGK user - novice
Did Amiga / AMOS programming in the 90's, just started programming again with AGK.

Attachments

Login to view attachments
chromatic3d
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Oct 2011
Location: rnd
Posted: 19th Oct 2011 07:10
I like the double carrots and the ghosts add extra dimension. I think I placed a carrot under a barrel. Does the barrels print over the carrot sprites?
Impetus73
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Aug 2011
Location: Volda, Norway
Posted: 19th Oct 2011 17:58
chromatic3d, yes you can place carrots under the barrels in this build, not in the later ones

The barrels are free sprites floating over the "static" grid sprites, because they are pushable objects.

In this WIP build you can move most objects around, but in the final game, you only move the tools (carrots) around.

There is a bug that makes the ghosts suck all the life from the turtle when you hit the goal, fixed in later builds.

I think I will remove the life system, and have a more open sandbox game, where you will unlock levels, and you will only have a score system for the current level, like "You scored 343 of 430 possible points" You can allways take a shortcut to the goal, but then you loose points.

From the menu, you should see a list of all levels, and the score you scored, and you can replay them to increase the score. Maybe have a medal system?

----------------
AGK user - novice
Did Amiga / AMOS programming in the 90's, just started programming again with AGK.
chromatic3d
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Oct 2011
Location: rnd
Posted: 21st Oct 2011 09:35
Impetus73

Life system is ok but I prefer sandbox. You won't get stuck on a level.
I like points so you know how close you were. A medal for completion, one for doing more than minimum, and one for perfect score on each level.

This would be a great teaching game for kids as it makes them think ahead to what will happen when they "launch" the turtle.

Great work.
LeeBamber
TGC Lead Developer
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Jan 2000
Location: England
Posted: 23rd Oct 2011 04:03
I found this game play great fun and being a tablet experience (touch) is the perfect interface. Can't wait to see it on multiple tablet platforms as a finished game!

I drink tea, and in my spare time I write software.
Impetus73
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Aug 2011
Location: Volda, Norway
Posted: 23rd Oct 2011 12:06
Well thank you Lee, it's still under developement, and there will be alot of changes. It runs slow on Galaxy Tab 10.1 due to the fact that AppGameKit can not handle large sprites on that platform without loosing some serious framerate, so I gues I'll make a tiled background, and slice up the HUD, or just make it more lowres.

----------------
AGK user - novice
Did Amiga / AMOS programming in the 90's, just started programming again with AGK.
Impetus73
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Aug 2011
Location: Volda, Norway
Posted: 25th Oct 2011 21:39
Here is the latest build of my game.

Feel free to try to enhance some of the graphics, and send me the enhancments



----------------
AGK user - novice
Did Amiga / AMOS programming in the 90's, just started programming again with AGK.

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Impetus73
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Aug 2011
Location: Volda, Norway
Posted: 22nd Nov 2011 21:07
I finally got the game compiled into an .APK file!

I have attached the file here, it's only for Android users...

It's a demo version, where only the first 10 levels are playable.

It's 90% finished now, just need to make the rest of the levels (Missing 22 of them now), and some work with the help system and so on... targetting release for xmas.

I think i'll go for my own homemade graphics, and if it's a hit, i'll might upgrade it to better graphics later. It's my first game.

----------------
AGK user - novice
Did Amiga / AMOS programming in the 90's, just started programming again with AGK.

Attachments

Login to view attachments
chromatic3d
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Oct 2011
Location: rnd
Posted: 23rd Nov 2011 16:00
Good Luck!
Impetus73
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Aug 2011
Location: Volda, Norway
Posted: 4th Dec 2011 21:48 Edited at: 4th Dec 2011 23:07
I finaly finished the level design, 50 levels, some almost impossible to solve I guess, but hard to judge, since I made the logic...

I just published it on Android Market.

It's named "Turtle Fun", and is a pay-app (£1.1), since there is no ad features in Tier 1 yet, I have no ad-based free app yet.

It's just posted, so it will take some time to show in the android market I guess.



Edit:

Quote: "Yes, the Google account associated with your market seller account cannot purchase it's own apps. "


Can someone please try to purchase the app, to see if it is working? I can't buy my own app due to google restrictions...

----------------
AGK user - novice
Did Amiga / AMOS programming in the 90's, just started programming again with AGK.
DArt_LV
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Oct 2011
Location:
Posted: 5th Dec 2011 17:16
I can't even find your app in market.android.com
Can you post a link?
Impetus73
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Aug 2011
Location: Volda, Norway
Posted: 5th Dec 2011 19:36
try "turtlefun" some devices can't find it if there is a space between turtle and fun.

https://market.android.com/details?id=com.minportal.TurtleFun&feature=search_result#?t=W251bGwsMSwyLDEsImNvbS5taW5wb3J0YWwuVHVydGxlRnVuIl0.

You also need to have android 2.3 or newer for it to appear I think.

Anyone having tip for how to set up the manifest file or .APK project, for correct listings in android market?

----------------
AGK user - novice
Did Amiga / AMOS programming in the 90's, just started programming again with AGK.
nz0
AGK Developer
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Jun 2007
Location: Cheshire,UK
Posted: 7th Dec 2011 02:29
£1.10 to buy!!! Has anyone bought it?

Seriously, for such a game isn't $1 the maximum price you should set (if any)

I am doing some research at the moment for pricing/marketing of mobile applications and would be interested in your download count..

Rickynzx
7
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Dec 2011
Location: Troon, Scotland
Posted: 19th Dec 2011 15:47 Edited at: 20th Dec 2011 00:30
Hi, Did you use eclipse to write your game in tier 2?
Impetus73
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Aug 2011
Location: Volda, Norway
Posted: 25th Dec 2011 14:19
I wrote it in Tier1 BASIC, then I used Eclipse to compile the player, with the media and bytecode.

----------------
AGK user - novice
Did Amiga / AMOS programming in the 90's, just started programming again with AGK.
MrValentine
AGK Backer
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Dec 2010
Playing: FFVII
Posted: 25th Dec 2011 15:25
Oo the memories!!!

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2019-10-15 09:38:06
Your offset time is: 2019-10-15 09:38:06