Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / Easy to make games?

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 15th Oct 2011 13:21
Hello everyone,

I just bought DBPro and ofcourse I have an idea for a game (RTS), but I've never programmed in BASIC before.
My only programming experience is in HTML, CSS and PHP, which is completely different.

I tried to come up with a simple game to make to learn how to program in DBPro, but I couldn't really think of anything.

Could anyone suggest a game which is very simple to program, just to learn the language?
And maybe one a bit harder to program after that one.

Thanks
zenassem
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 15th Oct 2011 17:31 Edited at: 15th Oct 2011 17:39
I wouldn't start with a game first. I would start here, with TDK'S tutorials

It will be worth more than I can even express if you stick to them. You will build a true foundation of the language, and with that; everything you do afterwards will be easier and make more sense.

Your signature has been erased by a mod please reduce it to 600 x 120.
dbrekelmans
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 15th Oct 2011 17:58
Thank you, but I've already read those things
I forgot to mention that.

However, having read those things I still don't feel like I know nearly enough to start working on an RTS right away.
Darkzombies
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 15th Oct 2011 19:13 Edited at: 15th Oct 2011 19:13
Well first do a text adventure, learn about variables and types and functions and labels and not to ever use goto's unless you have a good reason, use gosubs, goto's make a mess.

Then take it up a step, try placing sprites, and moving them with