Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

AppGameKit Classic Chat / Edging around sprite when using setviewzoom()

Author
Message
DVader
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Jan 2004
Location:
Posted: 16th Oct 2011 15:00 Edited at: 16th Oct 2011 15:02
Hello, I am not sure if this is a bug or not, it seems so, but there could be a way round it I have not thought of. I am getting an edge around my sprites when using the setviewzoom command. Has anyone else had this problem? I include a screenshot and a quick video demonstrating the issue. I am using a 64x32 tile for the floor, as it is a test to do an isometric style game.




Attachments

Login to view attachments
LeeBamber
TGC Lead Developer
24
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Jan 2000
Location: England
Posted: 18th Oct 2011 02:16
I am not familiar with the code you are using, but that looks fine to me. The view zoom has the power to zoom in and out of your sprites, and when the sprites are not enough to fill the screen you will see the background. Maybe provide some simple code and media in a zip so we can run it and see if the reproducible is a bug or not.

I drink tea, and in my spare time I write software.
Paul Johnston
TGC Developer
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Nov 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 18th Oct 2011 02:45
If you have smooth alpha on the edges of the tiles the last row of pixels on every tile may not extend enough at full color to meet up with the next sprite? Not sure what else could be causing it.
DVader
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Jan 2004
Location:
Posted: 18th Oct 2011 05:54
Here is a small demo of the problem in action.

Attachments

Login to view attachments
pedrolbs
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Aug 2011
Location: PT
Posted: 18th Oct 2011 10:39
Hi DVader,

Try adding the following two lines after your setscreenresolution :

SetDefaultMagFilter( 0 )
SetDefaultMinFilter( 0 )

Cheers
DVader
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Jan 2004
Location:
Posted: 18th Oct 2011 21:25
Ah that's much better! There is the odd pixel or 2 still popping up as it scales, but I can live with that. Thanks pedrolbs! If I could change the backdrop colour, it would be even less noticeable. Besides putting a large orange sprite behind all the tiles, I'm not sure theres a way to change the backdrops colour as of yet?

Hubdule
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Sep 2002
Location: Gundelsheim
Posted: 20th Oct 2011 13:34
Quote: "I'm not sure theres a way to change the backdrops colour as of yet?"


EnableClearColor and SetClearColor are your friends

3d point in space
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Jun 2009
Location: Idaho
Posted: 21st Oct 2011 03:46
Nice 3d environment

Go through yourself at a wall.

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-03-29 11:32:03
Your offset time is: 2024-03-29 11:32:03