Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / newbie 2d question

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
ok so im fairly new to the world of programming and i was working on a game that is a top down view of my character (i know it sounds ridiculous but the pokemon red/blue games are a good idea of what im talking about) but i need my sprite to turn/rotate when i move left and right i was wondering what the best way to do that would be.

also if you know of any programs that would make level creation (in 2d top-down) easier please let me know of it. thanks and any help is gladly appreciated.
Hodgey
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 30th Oct 2011 06:55
There are a couple of ways to do this. You can use the ROTATE SPRITE command to rotate your sprite upon a keypress such as:

or you could draw the different angles into the sprite's animation and change frames according to the input.

As for drawing programs I like Tile Studio for drawing these kinds of things.

fllwthewolves
Years of Service
User Offline
Quote: "
There are a couple of ways to do this. You can use the ROTATE SPRITE command to rotate your sprite upon a keypress such as:

"

sorry i diddnt mention this before but i tried the rotate sprite command and the problem i ran into was that it was rotating the sprite around its 0,0 coordinate instead of the center of the sprite like i need it to. any suggestions?

also thanks for the link to tile studio it looks like exactly what iv been looking for.
Hodgey
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 30th Oct 2011 13:20